Healthy breakfast for school kids

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Tuckshop
    109 Posts 27 Posters 33.0k Views 1 Watching
      Augmum

micollh:
      i give my girl hard boil egg, but she eats yolk and don't want the white.. mm.. anyway, did you all buy normal egg or kampung egg ? i heard kampung egg better but it costs more lor.. dunno really true or not it's better as in free of chemical stuff la..

try not to give ur children Ham/sausage tt often as these are not healthy meat and it contains substance tt's not good if take in long run.

try to use steam chicken meat and shred them to make the filling for sandwiches. (if have time, of course)
      becos of nitrite or nitrate used in the curing process of ham, sausage, bacon, etc
      under suitable conditions will react with nitrogen to form nitrosamines which is a potent cargcinogen.

so it's better to eat less such food......

having said that, think most kids would like to eat them ๐Ÿ˜‰

micollh

micollh:

i give my girl hard boil egg, but she eats yolk and don't want the white.. mm.. anyway, did you all buy normal egg or kampung egg ? i heard kampung egg better but it costs more lor.. dunno really true or not it's better as in free of chemical stuff la..

try not to give ur children Ham/sausage tt often as these are not healthy meat and it contains substance tt's not good if take in long run.

try to use steam chicken meat and shred them to make the filling for sandwiches. (if have time, of course)

becos of nitrite or nitrate used in the curing process of ham, sausage, bacon, etc
        under suitable conditions will react with nitrogen to form nitrosamines which is a potent cargcinogen.

so it's better to eat less such food......

having said that, think most kids would like to eat them ๐Ÿ˜‰

yeah it's nitrate. kids will like so, don't introduce it in the first place. if you don't buy it, they wont get to eat it at home.. so reduce the chances of eating it.. i did that la..

my fren's son (6) cannot don't have sausage on his meal daily, she is quite worried and said she regret as she gave him sausages very often when he is younger

Augmum

micollh:

yeah it's nitrate. kids will like so, don't introduce it in the first place. if you don't buy it, they wont get to eat it at home.. so reduce the chances of eating it.. i did that la..
          my fren's son (6) cannot don't have sausage on his meal daily, she is quite worried and said she regret as she gave him sausages very often when he is younger
          ya...agree....is better to eat less, do some \"controlling\" ๐Ÿ˜‰

micollh

i even control ice cream/potatoes chips at homeโ€ฆ they can only eat it when we go to their grandparents home (as their granparents always have ice cream in their fridge)โ€ฆ

in a way, save money for me and i dun feel bad for giving them junkโ€ฆ clever right? haaaaโ€ฆ

daddybear

I feed my 4 year old 2 soft boiled eggs and milk in the morning. Easy to swallow and don't waste much time. Does not vary much as he attends morning classes and we are always in a rush.

For variety, include almonds and prunes. These require no preparation time and is convenient plus nutritious. Either one of these is always in the car. However, it is nutrient/calorie dense and in chinese terms, \"heaty\". You need to have water around if you want to do that.

I would avoid carbohydrates as a rule, especially high glycemic ones. Carbohydrates digest easily, which means your kid gets hungry faster. Sugary stuff like Ribena is a no no. Btw Milo is mostly sugar. Stuff like waffles and kaya causes an insulin spike guaranteed to make your child moody.

Anyway, there is carbohydrates in milk sugars already. The fats and protein within the eggs and milk provides the key building blocks and amino acids needed. I would throw in a tablespoon of pharma grade fish oil but my mum stops me as he gets that in the evening already.

Info on eggs: (They do not cause high cholestrol)
              http://www.wellwire.com/food/superfoods-food/eggs

Fish oilhttp://www.fishoilbenefit.net/%0A%0AInfo%20on%20high%20glycemic%20foods%0A%5Burl%5Dhttp://www.all4naturalhealth.com/high-glycemic-foods.html
              [/url] :x

micollh

daddybear:
                I feed my 4 year old 2 soft boiled eggs and milk in the morning. Easy to swallow and don't waste much time. Does not vary much as he attends morning classes and we are always in a rush.

I would avoid carbohydrates as a rule, especially high glycemic ones (sugary stuff like Ribena is a no no. Btw Milo is mostly sugar). Carbohydrates digest easily, which means your kid gets hungry faster. Anyway, there is carbohydrates in milk sugars already. The fats and protein within the eggs and milk provides the key building blocks and amino acids needed.

Isn't that soft boiled egg is not encouraged ? it has bacteria as it's not completely cooked ? i myself ate a lot when i was younger but now from the articles i read and other mummy's advise, i have avoided soft boiled egg for my kids.

wholemeal food is good too. it keeps them full longer.

• FunzF Offline
                  Funz

My kids donโ€™t quite fancy plain old hard boiled eggs either. Well frankly neither do I.

Try making lu dan. Maybe they will eat that. Prepare them the day before can dump in some beancurd as well. The longer they stay in the sauce the tastier they get. Heat them up the next morning and that makes a hearty breakfast.

Augmum

micollh:
                    i even control ice cream/potatoes chips at home.. they can only eat it when we go to their grandparents home (as their granparents always have ice cream in their fridge)..

in a way, save money for me and i dun feel bad for giving them junk.. clever right? haaaa..
                    haha....kill 2 birds with 1 stone ๐Ÿ˜‰ :lol:

micollh

micollh:

i even control ice cream/potatoes chips at home.. they can only eat it when we go to their grandparents home (as their granparents always have ice cream in their fridge)..

in a way, save money for me and i dun feel bad for giving them junk.. clever right? haaaa..

haha....kill 2 birds with 1 stone ๐Ÿ˜‰ :lol:

exactly lor ๐Ÿ™‚ opps.. are we off topics again.. hee

daddybear

micollh:

Isn't that soft boiled egg is not encouraged ? it has bacteria as it's not completely cooked ? i myself ate a lot when i was younger but now from the articles i read and other mummy's advise, i have avoided soft boiled egg for my kids.
                        On a personal note, I think its ok as I believe salmonella occurs from improper handling of food. However, if you want to be safe, you can do cooked eggs mixed with cheese and a little hot milk to make it smoother to swallow. I do that when I over cook the eggs, so soft boiled eggs become hard boiled eggs. So actually my kid gets variety too! :oops:

The main point is try get nutrient dense foods into the children in the morning.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

With your input, this post could be even better ๐Ÿ’—

• 2 / 11