PM Lee urges more babies in Year of Rabbit
ANobleNerd:
[/quote]Have to disagree with this interpretation of education being free. Once in a while, papers will publish some posterchild PSC scholar whose father sells fishballs, went to PAP kindergarden, neighbourhood school, never had tuition... magically he/she got straight As and is off to Oxbridge on that PSC scholarship. Yah, maybe... that happens... As to the probability, i think that $10 is better put in TOTO.
S$10 isn't for school fees. It's for the miscellaneous fees like partial payment of utilities, maintainance etc. The government pays for the teachers' and other staff salary, etc. Even textbooks are subsidised - otherwise the cost of texts for schools would be open to market forces and be too expensive for many to afford.
Therefore, for all intent and purpose, Education IS FREE in Singapore.
As per our http://statutes.agc.gov.sg/non_version/cgi-bin/cgi_getdata.pl?actno=1999-REVED-CONST&doctitle=CONSTITUTION%20OF%20THE%20REPUBLIC%20OF%20SINGAPORE%0A&date=latest&method=part&segid=931158659-000271:[quote]Rights in respect of education
16. —(1) Without prejudice to the generality of Article 12, there shall be no discrimination against any citizen of Singapore on the grounds only of religion, race, descent or place of birth —
(a) in the administration of any educational institution maintained by a public authority, and, in particular, the admission of pupils or students or the payment of fees; or
(b) in providing out of the funds of a public authority financial aid for the maintenance or education of pupils or students in any educational institution (whether or not maintained by a public authority and whether within or outside Singapore).
My interpretation of education as a male parent is to make sure my child is brought up with 1) correct values and 2) regardless of his ability, I am providing the best I can for him, so that he can function well in the society he lives in. That is certainly not free. I suspect mothers will even have a higher standard. And since the mothers are the ones giving birth, let them decide if they feel comfortable about having more children. -
kiasu2011:
i thought the govt dont care...as long as you are fertile, pls make baby. But use your common sense, make if you can afford.at the moment in singapore is those can afford dun want baby n those cannot afford make a lot of baby
so the gahmen hope is those who can afford make more baby n those cannot afford dun make baby. -
ANobleNerd:
Yeah right!! :roll:
Since it is FREE, we, as parents, should not complain that teachers (thankfully, not all!) are to believe and carry out the 'Teach Less (and expect the students to) Learn More' motto.
With all due respects to school teachers, I really cannot understand how that works. Unless it is expected that most, if not all students have external source of tuitions/parental coaching. To include the price tags for these, education in Singapore cannot be cheap or even...free. -
Huh? The garmen certainly CARES! It only wants you to reproduce IF you can afford it! Simply bc they want the \"smart\" ones to reproduce and not have more of the not so smart ones.
i thought the govt dont care...as long as you are fertile, pls make baby. But use your common sense, make if you can afford. -
Yes, after the big hoo-ha about getting University graduates to give birth to MORE kids, the garmen dare not mention this again. Unfortunately the SMART ones are still not producing.
Huh? The garmen certainly CARES! It only wants you to reproduce IF you can afford it! Simply bc they want the \"smart\" ones to reproduce and not have more of the not so smart ones.janet_lee88:
i thought the govt dont care...as long as you are fertile, pls make baby. But use your common sense, make if you can afford. -
IJJ:
The 'Teach Less Learn More' motto...is bulls!@# to me. Yes, the teachers teach less, then the poor students have to find other sources to learn more to make up.ANobleNerd:
With all due respects to school teachers, I really cannot understand how that works. Unless it is expected that most, if not all students have external source of tuitions/parental coaching. To include the price tags for these, education in Singapore cannot be cheap or even...free.
I have this feeling that it is somehow similar to our free-to-air tv programs...if you do not subscribe to cable tv, then you will have to put up with the same old stuff repeated over and over again. -
Oh…
I have produced, so I am not the smart one
JonC:
We are smart to produce to get that baby bonus. HaHaHa.Oh...
I have produced, so I am not the smart one
Me not smart either. -
agree totally, it would be nothing short of a miracle if this is achieved.... The 'Teach Less Learn More' motto...is bulls!@# to me. ...
but the power of BS is incredible.
The 'Teach Less Learn More' motto...is bulls!@# to me. Yes, the teachers teach less, then the poor students have to find other sources to learn more to make up.IJJ:
[quote=\"ANobleNerd\"]Therefore, for all intent and purpose, Education IS FREE in Singapore.
With all due respects to school teachers, I really cannot understand how that works. Unless it is expected that most, if not all students have external source of tuitions/parental coaching. To include the price tags for these, education in Singapore cannot be cheap or even...free.
I have this feeling that it is somehow similar to our free-to-air tv programs...if you do not subscribe to cable tv, then you will have to put up with the same old stuff repeated over and over again.[/quote]\"Teach Less Learn More\" = School Teach Less, Parents have to pay to send Kids to Tuition to Learn More! My frens have been all telling me that......
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.