Just like her mummy right? :love: :love:[/quote]well again YES agree ! :love: :love: :love:
Your dd is very dear at heart, and cute :love:Mum1113:
[quote=\"Funx3\"]And When I Enquire if She Heard This Mummy Shouting and Rooting For Her, \" No-lah, Can't Hear You. I only Hear the Music and Look At the Judge ONLY ....\"
So Siao Mummy Here is Shouting Herself Hoarse for Nothing .... :roll: :roll: -
JRLam:
Ha Ha ....
Hey, do u all notice that most of the 'good' examples parents given here are MOSTLY referring to their dd? Sadly, most boys are just not the same, they are NOT 'automatic' ... If I don't plan the timetable for him and force him to adhere to it, I am sure he will still be at the stage where he only finished HW by 11pm, let alone revision ...Funx3:
Agreed. IJJ, My Gal, just like your dd, Does ALL her Revision Plan herself, Very Little Interference from Mummy since Young. Only Seek Help when Got Problems.
My Gal Slips in Her P5 CA1. But We already expected it. So No Stress Around.
Life Goes On Pretty Much As Usual for My Gal for the Rest of the Year. In Fact More Hectic in CCA aspects due to More Competitions, Dance Exams and Preparation for Concert Performance ....
Results Picked Up in SA1, and Surprisingly, Improve in SA2.
In Fact, Night B4 her EL Exam, She Stop ALL Revision and Concentrate on ....
Playing Internet Games! :roll: :roll:
I Just Gently Reminded Her Tomorrow Got Paper, and She Assured Me she's Ready.
So, Janet, U Need Not Over-stress yourself.
Just Revise Normally, Don't Expect 100%, Let the Kid And the School Do their Part.
:celebrate: :celebrate:
I did suggest to dh to try to let go in this CA1, but the thought that ds will fail his CA1, yet DOESN'T WAKE UP in SA1 or any other exam is SO REAL, that we decided not to take the chance ...
Fathers here pls comment - were u all like that when young? and how did you guys pull through? Was there really a 'wake-up', 'realization' stage that you went through?
DH mentioned he was also a last min guy during his time, but at least he has a plan .. and the work was definitely much more manageable then. So that conclusion is still - every child is different!
And poor mummy, continues to vomit blood during every exam .. fortunately I do have a DD too, and so far, so good .. will aim for the let-go tactic slowly .. actually, she is the one who volunteers to plan her own timetable ..
I Got TWO Older Boys .... So I understand U completely!
Know How I Cope without having sleepless Nite?
I Lower My Expectations -la!
And ALL of us Got No Stress since then ....
I Have Accepted the Fact that Both My ds Don't have the \"LIAO\" to be Academically Challenged.
So I Made a Pact with Them - No Failing in Exam (No BIG RED Chicken EGG Score for HW), Must Complete ALL HW, Must Pay Attention in Class and ....
No Complaint Call from T ....
Then No Interference from Mummy, Too!
Then It's On Automatic Mode for them ....
They R in the Middle Level to Middle Lower Level in terms of Results ....
And Even Managed to Surprise Me with an A occasionally in the Subjects they Like .... :love: :love:
My Eldest is going to Commence his Animation Course in Spore Poly in coming Apr, and My second ds is taking his O-Level this Year ....
By the Way, Both of them Improve Academically in Sec School ....
And I'm Pretty Happy for Them .... (So Far ....) :love: :love:
So .... May Be the Key is Managing Parents Expectations for Your Child, Right?
:celebrate: :celebrate: -
Your DS is very disciplined, Markfch. :celebrate: :celebrate: ζει!!!
My ds plays computer games daily for an hr or so. Half the time he'll stop automatically when the alloted time is up. The other half I've to nag for 5 min before he stops playing.JRLam:
Hey, do u all notice that most of the 'good' examples parents given here are MOSTLY referring to their dd? Sadly, most boys are just not the same, they are NOT 'automatic' ... If I don't plan the timetable for him and force him to adhere to it, I am sure he will still be at the stage where he only finished HW by 11pm, let alone revision ...
He does his daily piano practice w/o prompting, and will also pick up mags like Young Scientist and ε₯½ζε to read on his own. But for other things like doing assessment exercises, I will have to probe him on a daily basis. I guess nobody really likes doing assessments, especially if old dad will give daggered looks when careless mistakes are found :lol: . -
Maybe he heard about the feedback about him through KSP (since many teachers and even P reads this thread) and realised he has to pay more attention to the kids, hence decided to change his approach.E3:
[quote=\"Happy Mama\"]She says he corrected her artwork and told her where and how she could improve it.
I did not see the \"corrected\" works by him until the last piece. I guess he decided to exhibit his skills for the last homework. He went thru each child's work individually. We shall see how it goes for the future art lessons.
[/quote]My thought too!
Jennifer's letter probably made a diff too! Dd was quite pleased with the \"improved version\" that she showed it to me the moment she stepped off the schoolbus on Monday.
One mummy ever mentioned it's ok to let the child fail for him/her to wake up, but I don't know if I can afford to do that. But on the other hand, I don't want to get burnt out over CA1 when 1 month later I have to plan revision for SA1.janet_lee88:
If there are mistakes, his teacher will know and correct him.
My views too... Yes, she's ok in terms of homework.. the only thing that irritates me is her inability to be driven to study and do revision.
really contradicting myself.
E3:
My thought too!
Maybe he heard about the feedback about him through KSP (since many teachers and even P reads this thread) and realised he has to pay more attention to the kids, hence decided to change his approach.Happy Mama:
[quote=\"E3\"]
I did not see the \"corrected\" works by him until the last piece. I guess he decided to exhibit his skills for the last homework. He went thru each child's work individually. We shall see how it goes for the future art lessons.
Jennifer's letter probably made a diff too! Dd was quite pleased with the \"improved version\" that she showed it to me the moment she stepped off the schoolbus on Monday.[/quote]In this case, it's good that he takes the feedback positively.
One mummy ever mentioned it's ok to let the child fail for him/her to wake up, but I don't know if I can afford to do that. But on the other hand, I don't want to get burnt out over CA1 when 1 month later I have to plan revision for SA1.Happy Mama:
[quote=\"janet_lee88\"]If there are mistakes, his teacher will know and correct him.
My views too... Yes, she's ok in terms of homework.. the only thing that irritates me is her inability to be driven to study and do revision.
really contradicting myself.[/quote]Too risky to try leh...
Funx3, my ds1 came back with Almost equal Optimistic remarks...\" mum I'm 1 of the highest you know, cos in the 70 range.....\"
Hey Funx3, it's good that your DD is optimistic and positive. This is a very important trait that will help her as she goes along in life...Funx3:
Always Optimistic, She Told Me, \" I Compare My Marks With the Classmate Sitting In Front, Behind, On My Left and On My Right ....
And .... I Got Higher Marks than ALL of Them! So I Should Be Alright ....\"
Ha Ha ....

The only difference is my ds1 did not bother to check his front, back, left and right.....Only hear 'good' stuff from EL teacher....OMG
This mummy was like \"Are u sure EL teacher said tat\"...or expectations of EL teacher should be more like you pple are really super really need to buck up and pull up your socks :slapshead: -
Mum1113:
Funx3, my ds1 came back with Almost equal Optimistic remarks...\" mum I'm 1 of the highest you know, cos in the 70 range.....\"
Hey Funx3, it's good that your DD is optimistic and positive. This is a very important trait that will help her as she goes along in life...Happy Mama:
[quote=\"Funx3\"]Always Optimistic, She Told Me, \" I Compare My Marks With the Classmate Sitting In Front, Behind, On My Left and On My Right ....
And .... I Got Higher Marks than ALL of Them! So I Should Be Alright ....\"
Ha Ha ....

The only difference is my ds1 did not bother to check his front, back, left and right.....Only hear 'good' stuff from EL teacher....OMG
This mummy was like \"Are u sure EL teacher said tat\"...or expectations of EL teacher should be more like you pple are really super really need to buck up and pull up your socks :slapshead:[/quote] :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: -
Ermm...your dd's FT is my dd's last year's FT...so I have misunderstood? All teachers rushing thru syllabus? Could it be the modular CCA taking up too much time per week?
You are not alone and I can totally understand your frustrations...
DD has pages and pages of homework to do, and sometimes she will be doing homework till midnight, and with only 6 hours of sleep, the cycle continues the next day.
I guess teachers these days really do not have much time to complete their syllabus.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.