Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Domestic Help
    10.3k Posts 915 Posters 3.6m Views 1 Watching
      catang

agent helped her saying ex-employer let her keep the change from purchasing groceries so maybe dat’s how she got the extras. but my point is how come she confessed with more only till i asked for the red packets and told me no more with her den only when my ma flipped her clothings one by one and $$ dropped out den she said she didnt search her bag properly.

agent is also not helping me to counsel her to work properly but rather tell me no choice lor. so i gave up the free replacement as well.

1st time encountering this

KSmom8

catang:
        agent helped her saying ex-employer let her keep the change from purchasing groceries so maybe dat's how she got the extras. but my point is how come she confessed with more only till i asked for the red packets and told me no more with her den only when my ma flipped her clothings one by one and $$ dropped out den she said she didnt search her bag properly.

agent is also not helping me to counsel her to work properly but rather tell me no choice lor. so i gave up the free replacement as well.

1st time encountering this
        I think that the maids nowadays are pretty bold. My current maid still refuses to admit that she used the underdeclared hongbao moneys to buy phone cards. She insists that another maid gave the phone card to her and that she lost the hongbaos. When questioned on how much was in the hongbaos, she insist that she didn't check and does not know. Of course, I don't believe her but what to do, she's a good maid, can do the work and get along with the kids, and as far as I know, we didn't lose any money. So am keeping her and being extra vigilant.

I don't have any personal experience on this. Almost all my maids completed their 2 year contracts or extended. I only allowed my previous maid (after almost 4 years) to transfer and because I didn't take another maid from the same agency, I refused to cough up any money to be paid to the agent. The agent earns from the maid's transfer and that's it; otherwise, I was prepared to buy an airticket home for her. I also told my ex-maid not to be fussy with her selection of new employer, as I was not willing to pay too much levy and will cancel her work permit if the transfer took too long.

Heard that some agencies do charge $15 a day till the maid is transferred. I also heard of employers that insist on keeping the maid with them until a new replacement maid comes. This is to \"incentivise\" the agent to expediate their replacement maid, and since they have to pay $15 a day, might as well have the maid working at their home. Then the maid transfers out from their home on the same day that the new maid comes. Don't know if this will work for you? To me, it is dangerous to sign the document cos you will be paying the levy and the charge of $15 a day, whilst the maid picks and chooses her new employer.

catang

i have gotten a new maid and so far so gd but she’s unable to get her work permit as the previous one has to be transferred out b4 current can go for thumb printing.

just wondering any of u ever need sign food and lodging form as i have never done it with other agencies. this agency is PLP Management located at Tampines Mart

bzmum22

catang:
            i have gotten a new maid and so far so gd but she's unable to get her work permit as the previous one has to be transferred out b4 current can go for thumb printing.

just wondering any of u ever need sign food and lodging form as i have never done it with other agencies. this agency is PLP Management located at Tampines Mart
            How many kids do you hv?
            If you hv more than 1, then new maid can be tagged to another kid.
            Else, i think it is still possible as long as you've signed the intent to transfer form. MOM will give in-principle approval. You call up MOM to ask. I hv a v strong feeling that your agency is trying to eat you.

I've never signed any food n lodging form when i transfer maids. Usually, this food n lodging fee is waived. You have to check your contract to see how many days you are liable for such expenses (levy n food/lodging). Mine is only 14 days. If it is indeed 1 mth, then maybe it is better to cancel work permit, buy budget air ticket and let maid go home. It will cost less. Unless your maid has outstanding loans. You need to do your sums.

catang

i give post dated cheque for her loan. she’s only with me 1 mth plus. so even if i send her back, i can just cancel the balance chq but signed on the contract to give agency a mth for the maid to be transferred out.

guess i have no choice but to be prepared to pay for $15 x 30days, but i won’t sign another form for dat ;(

shld i still give her the monies back which she under-declare to me?? from $2.80 becomes $95.40 which is a huge diff and it’s new notes. some are from red packets but only few relatives gave so she couldnt have so much and my relatives are very ngiow they wont give more den $4 to maid (ma checked with them the next day). my gals’ red packets tally except for my boy so we concluded she pocketed it and when i asked her for it, she was opening them halfway and den tell me she had "forgotten" to tell me abt her pocket $ from previous employer. i m asking this qn cos thou we knew very well she pocketed the monies, we dun have proof that caught her in the act of exactly how much was stolen.

talk abt the agent, if they believed maid, they would have helped the maid to ask me back for the $$ but they didnt. cos i sent her back immediately when ma found even more $$ after searching her stuff, she still insist it’s hers cos she didnt check her belongings thoroughly. agent just said "oh ok lor send her back to us."

how how how??

• raynregR Offline
                raynreg

Does it work if we throw a question to the helper that whatever that is not declared would be considered as stealing from us

hquek

catang:
                  i have gotten a new maid and so far so gd but she's unable to get her work permit as the previous one has to be transferred out b4 current can go for thumb printing.

hi catang,

Sorry about your situation. Regarding the cannot get workpermit, I have not heard of this. My ex-maid was with me for a week when my current maid came in. Current maid has her wp after she pass her exam - then and only then the agency will release her to my place. Yes, I paid 2 maid levies for the time when both maids were in SG) and both had their wp. There are other employers with 2 or even more maids.

As for food and lodging form, I'm not surprised the agency wants to protect themselves - as long as maid is with them, they will want to charge you for housing her. But during the time she is sitting there, you are still paying for her cpf. I'm not sure if you can get the $170 becos there are 2 maids under your employ. BTW, you are still liable for her - remember the case where the maid was waiting for transfer in agent's care and fell out of the window (didn't die but was hospitalized), the employer was liable for her hospitalization expenses.

hquek

raynreg:
                    Does it work if we throw a question to the helper that whatever that is not declared would be considered as stealing from us

Good in theory but in practice how to enforce? You may regard as stealing, but our mata will probably look you in the eye and say domestic matter. Then how?

• cool_hiC Offline
                      cool_hi

Hi catang,

I remember my agency told me such case, employer only liable for food & lodging ONLY up to 21 days…if by 21days, maid can’t get other employer to employ her, then agency will send her back…as for loan, I remember agency said will refund leh…

I have never heard of 30 days…not sure whether rules haf changed, but I got my current maid last dec…so don’t think such rules will change so fast…I suggest u call up other agency to pretend to be potential employer & check with them on such details??

Just a suggestion…coz some agencies tend to ‘con’ employers who are not familiar with such things & try to get the MAX out of employers…
                      The preious time my indo maid caught with stealing $$, I sent her back,still have to pay for her air tix back…I remember was ard $300…but later, I found out that air tix to indo is NOT SO EX!!! & I was advised by friends, that should ask agency to show me the issue of air tix with the maid’s name, to make sure they really did buy air tix for the maid, coz some agency may still keep them here to change employer…

• raynregR Offline
                        raynreg

In that case, i assume our mata wil oni act based on evidence which is either its recorded on CCTV or by confession (which i dun think will ever happen). So in any event, its a domestic case. But at least you get to "assess" if those extra things are hers or yours and therefore decide if you want to keep or send her home.

Else its like her words against yours if she did not fully declare what she has on her.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 419 / 1032

jackieyeoJ
                        jackieyeo