[Bishan] Primary Schools
...(assuming that cath high didn't move out of that area anytime soon).
Not likely. I live right next to CHS and saw that they recently had a renovation to the school field and other areas. -
smurf:
dun want to keep moving lor...and we saw 1 house that we like but of cos not near Cath high, it's very rare that that area is selling andwe dun want to miss the opportunty to buy...thats why now monitoring the 2b data closely now...if just left 20 seats for 2b, may not even try to buy a house there.

:? Are you buying to get closer to school to reduce travel time or are you buying <1k for priority registration? 2 different things and considerations for either are not entirely the same. To each his own I guess, but I personally would not compromise family finances for the sake of getting a better chance at a ballot, a bit like the dog wagging the tail. -
smurf:
my boy register next yr, very stress now as I've just sold my place and not sure whether to move to within 1 km of cath high. if cannot get in, then move already quite wasted, cos we didn't lke the houses there and also very expensive.

Frankly speaking, I never encourage ppl who want to move house in order to register in CH or St Nick. These are the 2 schools in which balloting is required in 2B for those staying within 1km. Want to move, I'd rather move to somewhere assured of a place. -
we are buying for sake of distance. to reduce travel time. the place that we are staying now are very far. and I dun quite fancy the schs nearby. nearest sch that I like is Chongfu which we qualifed for 2A2, but I dun feel comfortable. I dun like to buy house to buy for a chance to ballot, but since we defnitely have to move, might as well choose a place nearer to the sch that we like or at least feel comfortable.smurf:
dun want to keep moving lor...and we saw 1 house that we like but of cos not near Cath high, it's very rare that that area is selling andwe dun want to miss the opportunty to buy...thats why now monitoring the 2b data closely now...if just left 20 seats for 2b, may not even try to buy a house there.

:? Are you buying to get closer to school to reduce travel time or are you buying <1k for priority registration? 2 different things and considerations for either are not entirely the same. To each his own I guess, but I personally would not compromise family finances for the sake of getting a better chance at a ballot, a bit like the dog wagging the tail.
although Chongfu is better in terms of academic compared to SJIJ, but we are looking for a more all-rounded sch. -
Luanee:
you are right.:)smurf:
my boy register next yr, very stress now as I've just sold my place and not sure whether to move to within 1 km of cath high. if cannot get in, then move already quite wasted, cos we didn't lke the houses there and also very expensive.

Frankly speaking, I never encourage ppl who want to move house in order to register in CH or St Nick. These are the 2 schools in which balloting is required in 2B for those staying within 1km. Want to move, I'd rather move to somewhere assured of a place. -
Does Catholic High School conduct PV every year?
Hi jessica…when’s yr son going to register for P1? Yes CH do accept PV but bare in mind that you have to stay within 1km as past years, balloting is required. In other words no gurantee at all even if u r a PV and stay within 1Km.
Hi smurf…at least yr stress will starts next yr. I’m registering my son this year…it has been very very stressful by looking at the no of places taken up at each phases. Unless you want to take the risk and bet on your chances with CH…being PV and staying withn 1Km does not guarantee you a place at all. And considering that the flat prices in Bishan are so EX, you really have to think twice before making the big decision of moving.
Hi dreammom,
My son going P1 in year 2016. I am giving birth to him in Nov’09.
CHS just called me as I’ve written to them yesterday to check the 1km distance. I was told that the cut-off is within bishan for 1km, none of the block along Ang Mo Kio ave 1 (frontline) will be within this region. So sad. -
yes that’s right…if u r staying in AMK…u will be out of 1Km…no chance at all even if you chose to do PV u won’t even have a chance to call up for balloting.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.