Comparing Chinese Enrichment (Primary/Preschool)
smurf:
What method/material did you used? Share leh...hee...
I thot no secret. Winktolearn.com DVD Flashcards. Mostly Glen Dolman methodology ... from words, progress to phrases, then progress to sentences, then progress to reading lots of lots of books. -
Very hardworking.. :salute: u...not easy...
smurf:
Very hardworking.. :salute: u...not easy...
Quite easy, wat. -
It's not...
Even when I dun work, I still find it very difficult. I'm ok with Chinese, better than English, but I can't find the time to do it...have to prepare breakfast, and then lunch and then dinner...where to find the time to teach? And no, I dun have help at all, by the time I have the time, I have no energy left.
smurf:
I guess you missed the point.It's not...
Even when I dun work, I still find it very difficult. I'm ok with Chinese, better than English, but I can't find the time to do it...have to prepare breakfast, and then lunch and then dinner...where to find the time to teach? And no, I dun have help at all, by the time I have the time, I have no energy left.
It's really easy for me, since we started from a few mths old only. How difficult is it when I just made a point to show him the flashcard video lesson for 2 mins a day everyday? Once for English, once for Chinese. So that makes 4mins a day. Show the same video for 7 days, then switch to the next 2-min lesson. Until, the whole set of DVDs are all shown in the same manner. Then let him watch randomly everyday with increased speed(for right-brain training). By 10mths, he could show us that he could recognise words already.
Not difficult, right? But when I tell parents with very young babies that, they think I'm crazy. They say \"why would I bother to even show my baby? I don't think it's necessary for him/her to read so early? Baby, leh!\". Oh well, whatever, lor. For me, I've gone thru' trying to teach 4 to 7 year old kids how to read, and I do know how much effort has to be put in. No matter how I tried, 2 of my older kids went to pri school not knowing how to read, so isn't what we did with baby so very easy? Of course back then, 10years before, there were no flashcard DVDs. And I would have been too lazy to do manual flashing. -
does anyone have experience to share with regards to Chinese programmes offered by \"The Theatre Practice\" (实践剧场)?
http://www.practice.org.sg/education/littlewindmills/ -
hi phankao. impressive. you should show parents your baby, (31 mths old is still a baby to me! :)) and maybe they will believe you and be inspired.
smurf - i think it is a matter of priority. i started being a SAHM from aug last year to stay home with my 3 boys. i was quite swamped in the beginning and i ask myself why i had stayed home - to cook and wash socks?? we chose not to continue to have a maid and me, having been pampered all my life, have now gotta pick up home making and cooking skills. thankfully i have a wonderful mummy who helped me a lot. still, i was miserable on many days.
but i continued to work on my efficiency and constantly think and pray about how i can help my children despite the work i needed to do. i have to decide to \"give up\" certain things like the neatness and cleanliness of parts of the house. i get the children to help, i delegate (i have a robot vacuum cleaner, a pt helper who comes once every 2 weeks and my wonderful mum who cooks dinner (i tingkat back) for me).
your solution will be different from mine. but you will find a solution. do not give up trying. if you find that you have no time for the coaching, and the coaching is important to you, then keep thinking, because i am sure you will find an answer.
i have gotten a good routine now, and i finish all my housework by the morning (on gd days, i even have time to come to this forum!). i find time to teach my youngest chinese and maths (i can only manage two subjects each day for now) and read a book to him each day. i watch over my elder two's school homework and teach them occasionally. now i am even more hard pressed for time cos i have dropped their chinese tuition and i am now their chinese tutor (ahh!!)
it can be done. if you initially only have 15 minutes a day, then start with 15 minutes. persevere and you will see results and then i am sure you will be so motivated that you will be able to find another 15 minutes and so on.
You are right. But I really cannot stand dirty dishes,etc…sigh…
mummy always:
hi phankao. impressive. you should show parents your baby, (31 mths old is still a baby to me! :)) and maybe they will believe you and be inspired.
They still think I'm *siao* lor. But I'm quite glad for being introduced to these when my ds3 was so very young. Because now I'm quite relaxed about his learning. Don't have to be stressed about teaching him later on. Now we just accumulate knowledge and understanding.
Show you, lor - here's a video of him reading english & chinese:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tTCaj82lEEM
And this is another, but this is english only:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-qNcNJj3VoQ
These are all books (or for the Chinese - it's a website), that he's never seen before. He was reading spontaneously. -
phankao
very impressive. he is so cute! it’s too late to do this for my 5 year old right? i gotta go through the long tedious process of teaching word by word…
you know, i sound a bit like you on the video! i find it quite amusing, like hearing myself…
smurf - housework is important and urgent. our children is important, but not always urgent. just see your kids as dirty dishes lor… i cannot stand seeing my children waste their time…
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.