Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Domestic Help
    10.3k Posts 915 Posters 3.7m Views 1 Watching
      Sian1

My Indonesia maid working for me for 1 mth. Her housework is good but no good in cooking. My previous maid teach her for 3 wks yet she still not sure how to cook when my previous maid went back. I am very angry thought of sending her back.

Littlefly

Read many postings that helpers steal from employers…

Just wonder how did most of you safeguard against maid theft?

currently we left our bags/wallets/ keys in the study room (some spare cash locked in study room cabinets) but our helper usually wakes up before we do. So far nothing is missing but i guess we probably shouldn’t leave it to chance and we don’t have any cameras installed.

If i remember, i would bring my cabinet keys into the master bedroom before i sleep but occasionally i forget too.

jtoh

Sian1:
          My Indonesia maid working for me for 1 mth. Her housework is good but no good in cooking. My previous maid teach her for 3 wks yet she still not sure how to cook when my previous maid went back. I am very angry thought of sending her back.

It's not easy to find a maid who's good at everything. If she's good at housekeeping, laundry and has good attitude, then cut her some slack for cooking. Maybe over time she'll improve?

• lostbunnyL Offline
            lostbunny

Sian1:

Sian1, I think you need to assess what is your priority in having a maid, to cook, to do housework, to look after children etc. If your priority is housework, then she has met it. You probably need to give her more time to learn cooking. Perhaps you can ask maid is it she don't like to cook.

Let me share my agony with you. My indo maid of almost a year, housework no good, no initiative also. If I m busy working at home, she also can't be bothered to ask me if i wanna eat lunch. Complained to DH and DH asked her why and she can tell DH that if I don't take my lunch, then she Lauren to eat. Oh my, but the fact is I didn't had time to cook lunch. Every afternoon, she has time to read story books, when agent called to counsel her after my comPlaints, she told agent she can't cope with the work she has to do. Hai.. Should I send her back to agent? At my place, she mainly do housework only. We take care of the 3 kids ourselves.

moonee

Sian1:

Your previous maid may have withheld some info while teaching, perhaps she needs more time.
              My burmese maid messes up my hse and takes the whole day to complete the housework at her own time, give loads of problems too.
              If u really decide to give up yr maid I would like to hv her, dont need to cook much cos my mum does it all. :lol:

moonee

[quote=\"jtoh\"]Fresh from kampong ones are like that because they're not used to city living. They'll leave the tap water running when they go about doing their chores because back home they wash their clothes in the river. The level of hygiene is also very different from ours.

Some are trainable, some really can't be trained. Better to cut short your agony if they can't be trained otherwise they'll damage your property in ways you can't even imagine.

I thought it was the burmese that are blur. Indons are normally quite ok and trainable. Well, at least those fresh ones that worked for me not so long ago. Really Im surprise to read that they are as bad as the burmese... I taught that their standards are so good and that contributed to their rocket high salary today. HAH! they all want to shoot straight to HK/Taiwan for higher salary with no knowledge at all. 😐

jtoh

moonee:

Fresh from kampong ones are like that because they're not used to city living. They'll leave the tap water running when they go about doing their chores because back home they wash their clothes in the river. The level of hygiene is also very different from ours.

Some are trainable, some really can't be trained. Better to cut short your agony if they can't be trained otherwise they'll damage your property in ways you can't even imagine.

I thought it was the burmese that are blur. Indons are normally quite ok and trainable. Well, at least those fresh ones that worked for me not so long ago. Really Im surprise to read that they are as bad as the burmese... I taught that their standards are so good and that contributed to their rocket high salary today. HAH! they all want to shoot straight to HK/Taiwan for higher salary with no knowledge at all. 😐

There are blur Filipinas too. Depends on whether they come from kampong or city.

jtoh

moonee:
                    Sian1:

Your previous maid may have withheld some info while teaching, perhaps she needs more time.
                    My burmese maid messes up my hse and takes the whole day to complete the housework at her own time, give loads of problems too.
                    If u really decide to give up yr maid I would like to hv her, dont need to cook much cos my mum does it all. :lol:

Some maids withhold info when they train their replacement maids. Some even purposely give wrong recipes.

micollh

Littlefly:
                      Read many postings that helpers steal from employers...

Just wonder how did most of you safeguard against maid theft?

currently we left our bags/wallets/ keys in the study room (some spare cash locked in study room cabinets) but our helper usually wakes up before we do. So far nothing is missing but i guess we probably shouldn't leave it to chance and we don't have any cameras installed.

If i remember, i would bring my cabinet keys into the master bedroom before i sleep but occasionally i forget too.
                      for all my maids, i will tell them before they start on day 1 that no money should be kept in their wardrobe. she has to surrender any money she has for my safekeeping before starting the work. and her salary will be kept by me, unless she needs it, she will ask from me. So, any amount of money found in her belonging will be mine for sure. this is agreement between maid and myself.

yes, i keep all my important documents, money in study and lock it at night after we go to bedroom and day when we go to work. but quite inconvenient, as at times, i forgot to bring my key, left it in the study and lock it. so got to wait till my hubby come back then can open the room. but it's a measure to stop maid from stealing and all lor.

so far for me, no incidence of stealing from maid.

clk

gumiho:
                        darling_sunshine:

So it's all a lie when they say experienced. Some more had to pay higher salary for their experience yet can't perform. To them, eye-power children is same as look after children. Asked her look after my toddler, she really just 'looked' lor. My toddler happily chewing gor gor's crayons, she still 'looking' until i quickly shouted at my kid. Then grab the mouth to dig out all the small chewed crayons. Questioned maid, still can smile at me and say never see. FAINT!! :stupid:

Sometime I'm wondering whether they really cannot see what is happening or they simply turn a blind eyes. All maids are the same.

Yaloh! agreed with what you said....I just get a ex-singapore Myanmar as I had sent the old one back home, since she no heart to work in singapore, she thank me till wanted to knee down on the floor, can you imagine that, so actually she did all these thing in purpose so that I will buy air ticket n sent her back....
                        Now my this new ex-sing maid only worked for 6 days and this morning resign liao, as her biodata written she is single, completed contract, work in chinese family with 2 kids 10, 12 and now all not true....She married w 2 kids, nv complete contract just work 1 yr ganna sent back hm by employer, work w filipino wife married Ang Mo, looked after 1 yrs and 3 yrs baby, can't cook cos no need to cook last time....No hand wash cloth. Too good life there so can't stand my family which need to cook for 6 persons plus herself, need to hand wash due to my 2 boys too dirty after schooling...See lah, you think they came here to play of work!!
                        😢

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 428 / 1032