How to cook nice meals

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Tuckshop
    631 Posts 41 Posters 202.6k Views 1 Watching
      Augmum

[quote=\"Funz\"]I'll just soak them in water. Change the water at least once thereafter rinse, drip dry and slice.

When not cut won't be slimy what. And I learned from my helper. Keep it dry when you are slicing it then not as slimy.

ya, but i see it like so \"dirty\" if i dun wash it clean, i can't cut. šŸ˜‰

:lol: So are you one of those who will scrub each individual cockles until the shell is white if you were to prepare blanched xi hum?

Haha. My mum is one of those, she will use tooth brush to scrub each cockle. Each shell was pristine white after that.

Me I am more concerned about the unseens, like traces of pesticides, that's why I soak my vege. One of my staff who is quite elderly and used to run a cap chye beng stall told me to add salt to the water used for soaking veges. She say kill bacteria as well as remove pesticides. Dunno how effective though.[/quote]no...i dun eat cockles, so no need to wash cockles.... šŸ˜‰

i also concern abt pesticides,
      yes, ineed to soak.... mentioned by AVA.

i add vinegar, heard from the radio....but not always lah.

Happy Mama

Hehe! One use knife while the other uses cloth to scrub the skin of ladies' finger... Both of you are so cute! :rotflmao: :rotflmao:

funny meh..... almost wanna to use sand paper....hehehe

:!: Sand paper? Augmum, you are really very cute! :rotflmao: :rotflmao: :rotflmao:

Augmum

[quote=\"Happy Mama\"] Hehe! One use knife while the other uses cloth to scrub the skin of ladies' finger... Both of you are so cute! :rotflmao: :rotflmao:

funny meh..... almost wanna to use sand paper....hehehe

:!: Sand paper? Augmum, you are really very cute! :rotflmao: :rotflmao: :rotflmao:[/quote]hahaha....yes, i thot of using sand paper to \"sand\" all the unwanted away shd i get hold of a sand paper. LOL

Augmum

cause its washed the slimmy thing will go away little then wiping with cloth all the sharp will be reduced
            wiping with cloth, so u need a lot of strength to scub it off, right?? šŸ˜‰
            or u need special cloth ?? :roll:

Augmum

no not much strength... just slight so that the water is dried.. i use normal kitchen cloth šŸ˜›
              i still thot u need a rough cloth.
              so macham like \"dry cleaning\" for the lady's fingers ?? :lol:

Augmum

No any nice meals to share ?? this thread has been quiet for sometime. šŸ˜‰

Quick, crabs, run, run for your lives! Oops, too late, too bad ....

http://img585.imageshack.us/img585/629/245122vxlqdn3l.jpg\">

http://img41.imageshack.us/img41/6950/245174gsitbwth.jpg\">

Trim off the 'triangle flap'.
                  http://img543.imageshack.us/img543/4818/2452058dflvduvo.jpg\">

Pierce the space between the shell and body with the back of a spoon.
                  http://img825.imageshack.us/img825/9901/24522511cpxddgz.jpg\">

http://img30.imageshack.us/img30/509/245447n5rseezh.jpg\">

Rip the shell apart using the spoon.
                  http://img27.imageshack.us/img27/1037/2455143mompwpmh.jpg\">

http://img200.imageshack.us/img200/4460/246239bvp1dxkh.jpg\">

Cut the crab into two.
                  http://img7.imageshack.us/img7/5251/246818m9viqd7n.jpg\">

http://img21.imageshack.us/img21/5485/2461457dlkv5dwr.jpg\">

http://img189.imageshack.us/img189/935/2461717p1ypxuom.jpg\">

Trim off the gills.
                  http://img714.imageshack.us/img714/65/24619203zqsa7k4.jpg\">

http://img52.imageshack.us/img52/9436/2462263vpsoozj.jpg\">

http://img822.imageshack.us/img822/3381/2462414aw0pvsqp.jpg\">

Clean each individual piece with a new toothbrush.
                  http://img84.imageshack.us/img84/4492/2462936qlxd0ogq.jpg\">

Notice that the toothbrush has turned brown. That's how dirty the crabs were. :!:
                  http://img638.imageshack.us/img638/8392/2463352akaro9jx.jpg\">

Washed and cleaned. Now ready for next step.
                  http://img15.imageshack.us/img15/6269/2463948454tin0t.jpg\">

Gently crush the pinchers.
                  http://img857.imageshack.us/img857/5779/2464526vqzk3hst.jpg\">

http://img94.imageshack.us/img94/9584/2464840lt1nbw5k.jpg\">

http://img10.imageshack.us/img10/7716/24657239wmetu2t.jpg\">

All ready to cook.
                  http://img153.imageshack.us/img153/952/2465952fjlccxin.jpg\">

Tada .... Enjoy!
                  http://img811.imageshack.us/img811/8978/24722675ezvvij.jpg\">

Pen88n

Wow, maid, \"virtual\" chilli crab for supper :drool: :drool: :drool: Tks for the yummy last pix šŸ’‹

Pen88n:
                      Wow, maid, \"virtual\" chilli crab for supper :drool: :drool: :drool: Tks for the yummy last pix šŸ’‹

šŸ˜‰

Happy Mama

Wow!! Chilli crabs!!!! :love: So yummy!!! :drool: E-supper for me! :celebrate:

What a coincidence, I had crabs for dinner tonight too.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 58 / 64