Teach Less, Learn More

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Primary Schools - Academic Support
    721 Posts 46 Posters 199.3k Views 1 Watching

Hi Chenonceau,

$40 for that book on unitary transfer ? :shock:
      I'm following Brenda's advice...print out Section A Maths to get son to practice on accuracy first, closer to exam will time him on speed and accuracy. Really hope :celebrate: he will pass Maths this time.

When son failed his Maths, hubby was very angry. Quietly, I told him he shouldn't scold son bcos it's not his fault. P5 is known to be very different from P4 and poor boy has absolutely no idea what 'speed and accuracy' is. Told him I am not siding him.

Funx3

sleepy:

[quote=\"Chenonceau\"]Seriously, I've never heard of unitary method till now. I was that bo-chap and there really was no need. I left it mostly to my daughter because it really was her business. And I wanted her to take accountability.

Where to learn unitary method?

:faint:
        Never heard of this too. Need to know by P5?

Yeah man Sleepy... better know it. Also, better self-teach the basic P5 topics at home by end P4, so that you can self-teach the P5 complex skills from Jan-March. Else, your kid will BARELY pass the P5 Math CA1 and SA1, if at all.

There is a good resource from MathHeuristics (at united Square) on Unitary Transfer. It's priced at $40/= a book. How many parents can afford this kind of money for a thin A4-sized book? Isn't that the job of the textbook? Why should we have to buy these resources to help our children PASS? Janet's kid worked so hard (so did Janet) and her child FAILED. Janet, I do hope you managed to help your child recover his confidence, and maintain interest in his work.

My son's teacher is still teaching the basics for volume. They haven't touched the complex skills for fractions nor ratio yet. BUT, the past year exams all have a large component of such questions, and exams are in 2 weeks. One quarter of his class was pre-taught. Estimated marks in 90s So they're happy. My son has caught up. So he is okay... estimated marks in 80s.

HALF the class is clueless. The poor kids. They will get a shock and if parents are not understanding, some kids will get heavily punished. It's NOT their fault. The school sets questions that appear nowhere in homework sheets.[/quote]Actually I'm Surprise at the Sch T.
        Don't they Let the Kids try out Past year Papers? Or the Prev year Sch's Exam Papers before the Exam? Unless Current year's paper is of Exceptionally High std than the Prev One or Two year's, the T Would know where the Students' Weak Areas R while going thru the Trial Papers, Right?

Unless this is Camouflaged by the Large Proportion of Self-Taught or Tuition Taught Exam-paper oriented Kids in the Class who score exceptionally well ....
        And those Kids without Tuition or External Help becomes the Sacrificial Lambs ....
        Dismissed as Minor Percentage of Failure in the Sch Cohort? :roll: :roll:

Brenda10

I'm following Brenda's advice...print out Section A Maths to get son to practice on accuracy first, closer to exam will time him on speed and accuracy. Really hope :celebrate: he will pass Maths this time.

When son failed his Maths, hubby was very angry. Quietly, I told him he shouldn't scold son bcos it's not his fault. P5 is known to be very different from P4 and poor boy has absolutely no idea what 'speed and accuracy' is. Told him I am not siding him.
          Hi Janet

Section A and B are the safety base to secure the marks of 36 to 40.

As for Section C, you can also break the question into 8, 6, 4 (5 marks) and move on so as to have sufficient time before SA1.

smurf

They hired more teachers, but they also build more schools!! These teachers go to new sch to teach! Where got reduce ratio? :lol:

The garmen only looked at result lah, you think they care about the welfare meh???

Chenonceau

[quote=\"sleepy\"]
              Where to learn unitary method?

:faint:
              Never heard of this too. Need to know by P5?

Yeah man Sleepy... better know it. Also, better self-teach the basic P5 topics at home by end P4, so that you can self-teach the P5 complex skills from Jan-March. Else, your kid will BARELY pass the P5 Math CA1 and SA1, if at all.

There is a good resource from MathHeuristics (at united Square) on Unitary Transfer. It's priced at $40/= a book. How many parents can afford this kind of money for a thin A4-sized book? Isn't that the job of the textbook? Why should we have to buy these resources to help our children PASS? Janet's kid worked so hard (so did Janet) and her child FAILED. Janet, I do hope you managed to help your child recover his confidence, and maintain interest in his work.

My son's teacher is still teaching the basics for volume. They haven't touched the complex skills for fractions nor ratio yet. BUT, the past year exams all have a large component of such questions, and exams are in 2 weeks. One quarter of his class was pre-taught. Estimated marks in 90s So they're happy. My son has caught up. So he is okay... estimated marks in 80s.

HALF the class is clueless. The poor kids. They will get a shock and if parents are not understanding, some kids will get heavily punished. It's NOT their fault. The school sets questions that appear nowhere in homework sheets.

Actually I'm Surprise at the Sch T.
              Don't they Let the Kids try out Past year Papers? Or the Prev year Sch's Exam Papers before the Exam? Unless Current year's paper is of Exceptionally High std than the Prev One or Two year's, the T Would know where the Students' Weak Areas R while going thru the Trial Papers, Right?

Unless this is Camouflaged by the Large Proportion of Self-Taught or Tuition Taught Exam-paper oriented Kids in the Class who score exceptionally well ....
              And those Kids without Tuition or External Help becomes the Sacrificial Lambs ....
              Dismissed as Minor Percentage of Failure in the Sch Cohort? :roll: :roll:[/quote]Till now... 2 weeks before exams, still no past year papers leh... Last year have. This year, the teacher is rushing to cover basic syllabus... where got time to do complex skills practice?

Teachers are stressed. Kids are demoralized. Parents have to learn to teach. What price success?

Brenda10

This is true, we did it at end of P4 and no worry for P5 CA1 all the way to this year.

This happened after we had learnt a big lesson during dd P4 CA1.

Brenda10:

Hi Janet

Section A and B are the safety base to secure the marks of 36 to 40.
                  As for Section C, you can also break the question into 8, 6, 4 (5 marks) and move on otherwise you may not have time for SA1.

Hi Brenda,
                  Ok thanks. Got it.
                  Will print out a few copies of non-calculator questions to practice.
                  My son comes home with Maths homework everyday but clueless about them. Sure, the school will give past year papers, but 1 week before the exams. Now teaching Ratio.

smurf:
                    They hired more teachers, but they also build more schools!! These teachers go to new sch to teach! Where got reduce ratio? :lol:

The garmen only looked at result lah, you think they care about the welfare meh???
                    MOE only looks at results and publishes those fanciful ones. What is welfare to them ? Don't think this word exists in their brains.
                    On the whole, I'm ok with the govt but it's MOE I feel needs more restructuring...have ministers who are educators.

Brenda10

Don't See the Reduced Class Size -le!

Since P1, (Now My Gal in P6), Class Size Remains ~42 to 39 ....
                      39 Now Becoz Some of My Gal's Fren Emigrated, or Transfer out to International Sch .... :roll: :roll:
                      Yes, dd class is also 42 pupils.

Chenonceau

Hi Chenonceau,

$40 for that book on unitary transfer ? :shock:

Yeah lor... from saying \"If you fail, I will hang you upside down and cane your ears\" in P3 and 4, .... I now have to say \"No matter how badly you do, I will still LOVE you. There is no naughty or bad thing that you do that will make me NOT love you.\"

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 22 / 73

thebottomsupblogT
                        thebottomsupblog

P1 Registration 2027 Changes
                        DSA Discussions and Strategies