Teach Less, Learn More

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Primary Schools - Academic Support
    721 Posts 46 Posters 199.3k Views 1 Watching
      Brenda10

Yeah man Sleepy... better know it. Also, better self-teach the basic P5 topics at home by end P4, so that you can self-teach the P5 complex skills from Jan-March. Else, your kid will BARELY pass the P5 Math CA1 and SA1, if at all.
      This is true, we did it at end of P4 and no worry for P5 CA1 all the way to this year.

This happened after we had learnt a big lesson during dd P4 CA1.

Brenda10:

I'm following Brenda's advice...print out Section A Maths to get son to practice on accuracy first, closer to exam will time him on speed and accuracy. Really hope :celebrate: he will pass Maths this time.

When son failed his Maths, hubby was very angry. Quietly, I told him he shouldn't scold son bcos it's not his fault. P5 is known to be very different from P4 and poor boy has absolutely no idea what 'speed and accuracy' is. Told him I am not siding him.

Hi Janet

Section A and B are the safety base to secure the marks of 36 to 40.
        As for Section C, you can also break the question into 8, 6, 4 (5 marks) and move on otherwise you may not have time for SA1.

Hi Brenda,
        Ok thanks. Got it.
        Will print out a few copies of non-calculator questions to practice.
        My son comes home with Maths homework everyday but clueless about them. Sure, the school will give past year papers, but 1 week before the exams. Now teaching Ratio.

smurf:
          They hired more teachers, but they also build more schools!! These teachers go to new sch to teach! Where got reduce ratio? :lol:

The garmen only looked at result lah, you think they care about the welfare meh???
          MOE only looks at results and publishes those fanciful ones. What is welfare to them ? Don't think this word exists in their brains.
          On the whole, I'm ok with the govt but it's MOE I feel needs more restructuring...have ministers who are educators.

Brenda10

Don't See the Reduced Class Size -le!

Since P1, (Now My Gal in P6), Class Size Remains ~42 to 39 ....
            39 Now Becoz Some of My Gal's Fren Emigrated, or Transfer out to International Sch .... :roll: :roll:
            Yes, dd class is also 42 pupils.

Chenonceau

Hi Chenonceau,

$40 for that book on unitary transfer ? :shock:
              I'm following Brenda's advice...print out Section A Maths to get son to practice on accuracy first, closer to exam will time him on speed and accuracy. Really hope :celebrate: he will pass Maths this time.

When son failed his Maths, hubby was very angry. Quietly, I told him he shouldn't scold son bcos it's not his fault. P5 is known to be very different from P4 and poor boy has absolutely no idea what 'speed and accuracy' is. Told him I am not siding him.
              Yeah lor... from saying \"If you fail, I will hang you upside down and cane your ears\" in P3 and 4, .... I now have to say \"No matter how badly you do, I will still LOVE you. There is no naughty or bad thing that you do that will make me NOT love you.\"

Brenda10

Hi Janet

Section A and B are the safety base to secure the marks of 36 to 40.
                As for Section C, you can also break the question into 8, 6, 4 (5 marks) and move on otherwise you may not have time for SA1.
                Hi Brenda,
                Ok thanks. Got it.
                Will print out a few copies of non-calculator questions to practice.
                My son comes home with Maths homework everyday but clueless about them. Sure, the school will give past year papers, but 1 week before the exams. Now teaching Ratio.[/quote]

Hi Janet

It will be good to put more effort on Section B and Section C as these two area require more detail working once you don't see much problem in Section A (MCQ).

Just my 2 cents thought

Chenonceau

Brenda10:
                  Hi Janet

It will be good to put more effort on Section B and Section C as these two area require more detail working once you don't see much problem in Section A (MCQ).

Just my 2 cents thought
                  Yup... Agree. All the best Janet!! Jia you!!

Pen88n

Brenda10:

Yeah man Sleepy... better know it. Also, better self-teach the basic P5 topics at home by end P4, so that you can self-teach the P5 complex skills from Jan-March. Else, your kid will BARELY pass the P5 Math CA1 and SA1, if at all.

This is true, we did it at end of P4 and no worry for P5 CA1 all the way to this year.

Based on my experience, I think it is most important to have teachers who can build strong Maths foundation in P3 and P4. With that, I do not see the kids suffer much for P5 and P6 Maths.

As for the Unit Transfer Method from Maths Heuristics, this is a totally new method not taught in school. My take is that if kids want to learn this method, you need time and effort to practise and master it. Moreover, it is easier if kid has strong Maths foundation. On the other hand, if the kid already has strong foundation, they will not need this method at all. I have the book but I have not taught DS the Unit Transfer Method so far. He and his friends have fared well in Maths just based on what school has taught.

Chenonceau

Pen88n:
                      Brenda10:

[quote=\"Chenonceau\"]Yeah man Sleepy... better know it. Also, better self-teach the basic P5 topics at home by end P4, so that you can self-teach the P5 complex skills from Jan-March. Else, your kid will BARELY pass the P5 Math CA1 and SA1, if at all.

Based on my experience, I think it is most important to have teachers who can build strong Maths foundation in P3 and P4. With that, I do not see the kids suffer much for P5 and P6 Maths.

As for the Unit Transfer Method from Maths Heuristics, this is a totally new method not taught in school. My take is that if kids want to learn this method, you need time and effort to practise and master it. Moreover, it is easier if kid has strong Maths foundation. On the other hand, if the kid already has strong foundation, they will not need this method at all. I have the book but I have not taught DS the Unit Transfer Method so far. He and his friends have fared well in Maths just based on what school has taught.[/quote]My son topped class for Math in P4 leh... 3 weeks ago, he was barely passing Paper 2. Now, he can get 52/60. Quite ok. He can pick up fast because his foundation is strong. But I still wish I had pre-taught him last year.

From now on, I will pre-teach by 6 months. Dun want him to scramble like this again. Very scary...

Brenda10

Pen88n:

As for the Unit Transfer Method from Maths Heuristics, this is a totally new method not taught in school. My take is that if kids want to learn this method, you need time and effort to practise and master it. Moreover, it is easier if kid has strong Maths foundation. On the other hand, if the kid already has strong foundation, they will not need this method at all. I have the book but I have not taught DS the Unit Transfer Method so far. He and his friends have fared well in Maths just based on what school has taught.

Hi Pen88n

Perhaps the CA1 of 66 at P4 really scare us off and we want to ensure she can sail smoothly lah.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 23 / 73

P1 Registration 2027 Changes
                        DSA Discussions and Strategies