Teach Less, Learn More

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Primary Schools - Academic Support
    721 Posts 46 Posters 192.5k Views 1 Watching
      Chenonceau

smurf:
      Then post more!!! πŸ˜‰

Very soon, you will be Grandmaster... πŸ˜‰
      Yeah lor... Smurfy, I very envy your Grandmaster status and I look at my post count every day... and I am soooooooooo SLOW. I considered posting one sentence each post. A few posts equal one para, but I think Maid or Chief will come and humtum me.

smurf

Hee...you know sometimes I wonder if u r the kind who are very stern with your psychiatrist status (those with messy hair, in the lab doing some kind of experiment inventing dunno what) but from your above post, doesn't seem so leh... πŸ˜‰

smurf

Dun envy lah, it's the KSP points that counts...I only have miserably 3003 points...want to bid for something also cannot...sigh...

We OT again...haha... :lol:

Yeah lor... Smurfy, I very envy your Grandmaster status and I look at my post count every day... and I am soooooooooo SLOW. I considered posting one sentence each post. A few posts equal one para, but I think Maid or Chief will come and humtum me.

You make me sound as if I am very fierce! πŸ˜› Chief does not go around humtuming people. Maid also don't. Maid only humtum selected 'heads' and I think so far, yours is not one of them yet! :lol:

Oops, :oops: we are :offtopic: :bewaremod: :lol: :lol:

Chenonceau

You make me sound as if I am very fierce! πŸ˜› Chief does not go around humtuming people. Maid also don't. Maid only humtum selected 'heads' and I think so far, yours is not one of them yet! :lol:

Oops, :oops: we are :offtopic: :bewaremod: :lol: :lol:

:oops: :oops: :oops: πŸ‘…

Chenonceau

smurf:
                Hee...you know sometimes I wonder if u r the kind who are very stern with your psychiatrist status (those with messy hair, in the lab doing some kind of experiment inventing dunno what) but from your above post, doesn't seem so leh... πŸ˜‰

Messy hair? Got. Whatever is left of it is messy alright.

smurf

• VeveyV Offline
                    Vevey

Vevey:

[quote=\"Chenonceau\"]

Whoa! Your brain has been working eh? These are great leads!! :love:

See what stimulation did to me? :lol:

Ummm... stimulation? I have notti thots. :oops:[/quote] :dowan:
                    :spank: :cheeky:

metz

MummyThreeStreams:
                      Wah, I must get some tips from you! Where are you now and how many kids are you homeschooling? How on earth do you manage?!

Hi MummyThreeStreams,

My kids are turning 6 and 8 years old this year. Homeschooling, umm, is still pretty chaotic. Too much freedom and lack of discipline. Though we have been here for almost year, most of the assessment books (except Maths) we brought here are untouched, . (My hubby has been nagging at me over them πŸ˜› ) 1.5 more years to go but at the rate we are going, I'll probably have to lug them home untouched. So, moral of the story - don't buy too many books! :oops:

Since you will be away for only a year, your child won't miss too much. P2 syllabus should be manageable if your child have a strong preschool foundation. For P3 syllabus, you might have to put in more effort to help facilitate a smoother transition back into the school system upon return. Don't forget that P3 students are expected to work on English and Chinese compositions. It also pays to check out the Science threads in this forum on the kind of 'answers' expected by schools.

One thing about homeschooling is that some kids might progress at a faster pace (one-on-one attention mah). So, you might want to get beyond level material just to keep the brain working, should you finish the P3 syllabus before the year is up. πŸ™‚ Good luck!

• VeveyV Offline
                        Vevey

sunflower:
                        Pai seh... when I first saw the thread title, I thought this old thread has been revived!

http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?t=10456&highlight=

Then I went to the first page and realised that it's a new thread recently created! Interesting how this Teach Less Learn More thingy is still bugging us after 1 year! ... and not much has changed in the education system. :roll:
                        Oh ya, shld merge the threads. Think I'd missed THAT \"stimulation\". πŸ˜‰

System takes time to change (if any; & for better or for worse, who knows?) & things could go wrong during execution BUT 1 thing that we can control is HOW we go abt beating the system for the sake of our children.

Is our objective to ace/do well/pass the exams? & at what expense?

My guess would b most of us r looking at the do well-balanced lifestyle route, so let's strive for it.

However, I know of a friend who 1 2 engage a pte, 1-1 tutor to improve her P1 kid's Maths from 93/100 to ??? & another parent who send his kid to 3 prestigious tuition centres for the SAME subjects. (No joke! I also tot I heard wrongly the 1st time, when my friend who is 1 of his tutors, told us. :lol: )

Sch principal called him up to ask why the kid is sleeping in the class & advised him to select only 1 tuition centre. The parent was in a delimma & called the tutors for \"advice\". My friend was shocked that she wasn't the only tutor, & told him to follow principal's suggestion & decide on 1 centre.

On the other spectrum, my neighbour is relying on subsidised/free (i'm not sure which) tuition from CDAC for her PSLE & P2 kids, as she was chinese educated in M'sia & her hubby did not complete sec sch here.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 40 / 73