[sorry double post :oops:
moonee:
I know that feeling
frm experience... sometimes whern a maid is too good, I dont feel too comfortable as theres always something to look out for in them such as theft. Tis does not apply to all but we must always be on guard.
my Sis ex-maid (~38yo) was similar. Full of lies & when couldn't cheat more $, gave trouble & Employer no choice but to let go cos' knew her intention was to terminate. frankly, My 3 ex-maid tho lacking in skills & can't communicate as well, no worry about honesty at all. This tho good, somehow keeps me on my toes. Often, I find myself second-guessing her words & agenda, tiring
moonee:
Now that you mentioned it, I'd better keep an eye out.
frm experience... sometimes whern a maid is too good, I dont feel too comfortable as theres always something to look out for in them such as theft. Tis does not apply to all but we must always be on guard. -
cwc:
They'll always come up with stories of father, mother, grandmother etc dying or very sick etc. But what can we do? If it's really true and we're not sympathetic, then we're being really cruel by not letting them go home on compassionate leave etc.
Hey, sounds like my helper too.....40years old, can cook, knows how to sweet talk, can tease my kids (dun have to take care as they are big liao plus I'm the main caregiver for my children). Helper has to look after FIL tho. Have been with us for 5 months, generally I'm pleased....except I wonder how honest she is. During her first month, she tried calling overseas while I was out....hmmm. Now, she'll get a call every month and then she'll have this damn pity look and start telling me about her 'sob' stories.catang:
will say i m lucky FOR NOW to have this maid, with us for a mth exactly today. her sal is $490 and thou i felt heartache with such high pay but compared to the previous ones which ranges from $280 to $380, this one is v experienced and communicate with whole family in mandarin but eng with me.
my mum likes her as she can cook and knows how to sweet talk, my children likes her as she fed, shower, play with them, i like her as she knows where n when to stop, not to kpo but only thing is she likes to yi lao mai lao and i will tell her off when she does that. she's 41 but looks young and she under-declared her age when she came over, told me if she doesnt den she wont be able to come out from indo side.
hopefully all her goodness will last, dat's y i say will say i m lucky FOR NOW
1st time : Money she left behind for her children was stolen (3/4 of it....weird, why would a thief only take 3/4 of it??), son's handphone stolen too.
2nd time : Younger daughter wants a laptop, elder son went ahead to buy. Call to ask for $ despite she having told them repeated no salary for first 9 mths. Well, I just listen. Oh yah, son using back old stolen HP number.....
3rd time : Mom died.....this I gave her a little money plus the CNY angpao, she remitted some back.
4th time : Just today son called again using new a HP number. Claimed house window smashed. 2HP, TV, CD Player stolen.....I questioned her, I thot you stay in Kampung and has lots of neighbours? How come this can happen?? She just tell me dunno dunno. Next, told me that if her dad & son old HP (the 2 stolen) sends SMS over, just ignore. My gosh, if they were stolen, why would the thief send sms out using that number and to SG???
I really do not know what to think.....maid trying to con my money? Anyway, Catang....do hope your maid will continue to be good. Do update once in a while....I'm really curious.
Stories of house being broken into etc my maids haven't tried yet. But it's usually farm kena flood, no produce to sell, no money for school fees or milk for the baby so they want an advance or to borrow money. -
cwc:
Actually I think maybe the family trying to con HER money. next time it happens, just look at her and say so sad...and do nothing. Try not to give advance. Her family's got to realise that she's not working in Singapore Mint. Maybe you can brainwash her a bit so that she don't keep remitting ALL her money back.
I really do not know what to think.....maid trying to con my money?
I heard of maid story where the maid returned 3 times back to Indo only to find her hubby fritter all that money away, house is devoid of furniture etc (pawned), that money was spent on other women. end up after all that work, she didn't have anything to show for it. -
actually, quite sad for them, as they work hard here, bring back money, spent by the husband on not important thing… like buy car… smoke… my maid husband now already tell her wat he wants… even b4 she is due to go back. we tell her better dun pass the money to him, else wasted ur 2 years hard work here. mst be smart. keep the money urself, spend it wisely on ur child instead. she nod nod… but dunno how "smart" she can handle la. wish her luck
Yup, may be true also. Just very sad why they can come up with such ideas...like the money we earn fall from the sky.hquek:
Actually I think maybe the family trying to con HER money. next time it happens, just look at her and say so sad...and do nothing. Try not to give advance.
This is not many times true.. most of the time maid is conning for our money :shock:
The last indo maid gave us sob stories of her aunty getting stomach cancer, and then much later her dad beating her mum up. While we sympathised with her, no money was given to her on those accounts. I still remain puzzled how $500 (of her own money) can go to curing stomach cancer (and no updates given thereafter) and why her siblings in Indonesia cannot rescue her mum (but she in Singapore has to go back home to rescue her mum). Sigh.... -
Yes so very true... after I let my prev to prev maid to go back home on leave since she say mother die I cannot trust anyone on this account... as usual she didnt come back :shock:[/quote]She said she was coming back and didn't come back? It's maids like these that make employers distrust other maids.
Yup, may be true also. Just very sad why they can come up with such ideas...like the money we earn fall from the sky.hquek:
[quote=\"LKVM\"]
This is not many times true.. most of the time maid is conning for our money :shock:
The last indo maid gave us sob stories of her aunty getting stomach cancer, and then much later her dad beating her mum up. While we sympathised with her, no money was given to her on those accounts. I still remain puzzled how $500 (of her own money) can go to curing stomach cancer (and no updates given thereafter) and why her siblings in Indonesia cannot rescue her mum (but she in Singapore has to go back home to rescue her mum). Sigh.... -
You did the decent thing - what else could you have done. If she can curse her mum by saying such things, keeping her under your employ may result in far worse consequence.
Yes so very true... after I let my prev to prev maid to go back home on leave since she say mother die I cannot trust anyone on this account... as usual she didnt come back :shock:
I would think that it's best to let go those who are not keen on working anymore. BUT there is that matter of loan etc that complicates matter. Hopefully this can go away when maids have to take loans in their home country. -
I told my DH my suspicion, he felt I was oversensitive. DH said "Well, if they wanna use ‘mother die’ as excuse, then it’s really very sad for them. Like cursing own mom". Anyway, agent say cannot let her go back at all cos’ only 4 months here. She implied implied (kept saying no one can settle the things, she very worried etc…), I just act blur, never offer to let her go back. Just gave her some $ (bai jing) to remit home…not advance pay.
But I think, going forward, any request for $ will have to be advance pay. She can act pitiful…I’ll act blur, won’t offer any extra money. If she really wants to remit $, I’ll probably limit to 1-2 months advance pay since she’s already into her 5+ months. Lose a little to see the true colors, worth it. But it feels quite sickening sometimes. The children has been calling for money, to buy stuff…sometimes, I suspect her son turning astray…know mommy having money soon. Based on all the past maid’s sobs stories, it seems like the Indo men like to 吃软饭。
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.