Importance of PSLE
Sun_2010:
NUSH uniform is stylish??? :shock:
:whut: Which school uniform 'cool\" huh?? :? You mean the PAP all white ones or the dark blue pinafore dress - not so cool by my standard leiPen88n:
[quote=\"Mum1113\"]What about uniforms in those top schools as an inspiration for kids to join, cos they are so cool man. This is what was heard from a friend's kid.
This may be a motivation for kids to work towards in order to put on those uniforms of their dreams come through :love:
. NUSH and NJ ones are more \"stylish\" though the colors are quite boring too.... :roll: Pls don't :heresmyfish: :rant: :spank: :pokeeye: hor as this is just my personal opinion. Comparing with overseas school uniforms, I think our Singapore school uniforms are quite boring :oops:
DD had one lament before joining- coulnt they have choosen a better colour?
I kid her- what could you expect from a maths & Science School?
Ya the design is good but the colour combination :|[/quote]ok lah... quite nice lah... -
NJC's one reminds me of the military because of the silver buttons.
HCI also got buttons leh.
Gray is one of my favorite colour.
Anyway, if I am not mistaken, NJC gray coloured uniform has a reason, sth like being a national JC to be neutral. -
Yes, I think HCI and Catholic HIgh both have buttons.jtoh:
NJC's one reminds me of the military because of the silver buttons.
HCI also got buttons leh.
Gray is one of my favorite colour.
Anyway, if I am not mistaken, NJC gray coloured uniform has a reason, sth like being a national JC to be neutral.
ok lah... quite nice lah...[/quote]Jtoh, Chenonceau,
NUSH uniform is stylish??? :shock:Sun_2010:
[quote=\"Pen88n\"]
:whut: Which school uniform 'cool\" huh?? :? You mean the PAP all white ones or the dark blue pinafore dress - not so cool by my standard lei
. NUSH and NJ ones are more \"stylish\" though the colors are quite boring too.... :roll: Pls don't :heresmyfish: :rant: :spank: :pokeeye: hor as this is just my personal opinion. Comparing with overseas school uniforms, I think our Singapore school uniforms are quite boring :oops:
Ya the design is good but the colour combination
Well , my asthetically challenged brain just didnt like the shade of green.
And the practical-me thinks of the how dirty skirts can get
:roll: -
Getting back to the main issue started by ppnqq
WHY is PSLE so important?
A good PSLE score opens doors to a good schools ( dream schools, schools of choice)
What is the significance of it?
A good school leads often to better environment and learning leading to hopefully better prospects in life.
What is PSLE all about?
It is about insense pressure felt from schools and peers by both the child and parents. :scared:
It is about worying that child too sensitive abt results or about child doesnt care about results. :stupid:
It is about parents panicking - what else should i do, am i doing enough? :nailbite:
It is about becoming paranoid about what could go wrong from fever to fractures
It is about greying hair , and aging 5 years in P6 ( for parent(s)) :frustrated:
And Lastly, it is about wanting to fight the system but not having time for it , and finally succumbing to ways to beat the system. :rant:
Why ppl so kancheong about it?
Parents worry about the losing a great oppertunity to make it good in life.
PSLE score often gets treated as a social status - children get defined by this. And so do their parents and siblings.
And so die-die must get good score. :imcool: -
Sun_2010:
Jtoh, Chenonceau,
ok lah... quite nice lah...Chenonceau:
[quote=\"Sun_2010\"]
NUSH uniform is stylish??? :shock:
Ya the design is good but the colour combination
Well , my asthetically challenged brain just didnt like the shade of green.
And the practical-me thinks of the how dirty skirts can get
:roll:[/quote]Talking about how dirty pants and skirts can get, I immediately think of schools with white pants and white skirts. How do they manage to keep it clean especially if they have to sit on the hall floors etc? -
Pen88n:
Aiyah folks, it is more like wearing certain branded school uniforms bringing some attention and indirectly bringing pride in the students and therefore whatever the colors the schools are, they are just cool
:whut: Which school uniform 'cool\" huh?? :?
Sun_2010:
Sun2010, this is a hoot! :rotflmao: :rotflmao: :rotflmao:Getting back to the main issue started by ppnqq
A good PSLE score opens doors to a good schools ( dream schools, schools of choice)
A good school leads often to better environment and learning leading to hopefully better prospects in life.
What is PSLE all about?
It is about insense pressure felt from schools and peers by both the child and parents. :scared:
It is about worying that child too sensitive abt results or about child doesnt care about results. :stupid:
It is about parents panicking - what else should i do, am i doing enough? :nailbite:
It is about greying hair , and aging 5 years in P6 ( for parent(s)) :frustrated:
And Lastly, it is about wanting to fight the system but not having time for it , and finally succumbing to ways to beat the system. :rant:
PSLE score often gets treated as a social status - children get defined by this. And so do their parents and siblings.
And so die-die must get good score. :imcool: -
Sun_2010:
Sun_2010 has answered this out-of-syllabus, higher order thinking, tricky, twisted, open-ended questions, so perfectly. Now no need for the rest of us to :nailbite: and :? and :scratchhead: and :frustrated:Getting back to the main issue started by ppnqq
What is PSLE all about?
And so die-die must get good score. :imcool:
ppnqq, after putting up with all the :offtopic: you get some really delicious answers to your Qs rt :evil: -
Lol, tisha, it is better in this way, at least this topic is no longer to 'tensed' :lol:
Thank you for all the replies and suggestions.
Told my friend's kid as well as mine and they are still :roll: :scratchhead:
I think it is better and faster for us to just :faint: instead of going :frustrated:
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.