All About Primary Schools' Balloting History

2.5k Posts 606 Posters 1.1m Views 1 Watching
      ksmummy

Allow me to add on to the reason for the decrease number in Phase 2B. In order not to subject PV to balloting during 2B, Rosyth is very prudent as to limit its PV numbers. If I am not wrong, Rosyth turned away close to hundred of PV applicants yearly so as to ensure PV’s effort are not wasted.

Put in the another way, if you have been selected as a PV in Rosyth, chances of your P1 registration is pretty high.

ksmummy:
        Allow me to add on to the reason for the decrease number in Phase 2B. In order not to subject PV to balloting during 2B, Rosyth is very prudent as to limit its PV numbers. If I am not wrong, Rosyth turned away close to hundred of PV applicants yearly so as to ensure PV's effort are not wasted.

Put in the another way, if you have been selected as a PV in Rosyth, chances of your P1 registration is pretty high.
        Ah... the mystery is solved! Congratulations to all those PVs who have put in their hardwork to get into Rosyth!

blueblue

Just met my ex-colleague last week. (chatting abt schools) She told me tat she was asked to continue to do PV last time.

I was very surprised to hear tat because her son was already studying in tat sch (she was an ex student there) Someone actually wanted her to do it so less ppl will hv chances to be a PV there since she had already taken up a place.

Now u know why.

blueblue:
            Just met my ex-colleague last week. (chatting abt schools) She told me tat she was asked to continue to do PV last time.

I was very surprised to hear tat because her son was already studying in tat sch (she was an ex student there) Someone actually wanted her to do it so less ppl will hv chances to be a PV there since she had already taken up a place.

Now u know why.
            You are talking about people asking her to join the PSG is it?

There was a school which i inquired about pv. They replied saying that they don't have enough work for more pv parents. I shot them back asking them to explain why did they in their website still encourage parents of existing students to join PSG and yet on this hand said no work for pv parents. :roll:
            They then 'change their story' and clarified that they meant current pv application is closed and asked me to call back next year. :roll:

blueblue:

Now u know why.
              It doesn't make sense to me.. :siao:

Reali weird.. 😐

Must be some politics with the old
              batch of PVs not wanting new PVs
              endangering their positions... The
              PVs have ranks oso like Chairman,
              and Vice... (etc). So probably not
              wanting a revolution of overthrowing
              current committee perhaps? But still...
              Weird and oso selfish lor..

• tankeeT Offline
                tankee

blueblue:

Now u know why.

since her son is already studying in the school, then it is PSG (Parent Support Group) and not PV.

quite common to have Parent Support Group.

blueblue

blueblue:

Now u know why.

It doesn't make sense to me.. :siao:

Reali weird.. 😐

Must be some politics with the old
                  batch of PVs not wanting new PVs
                  endangering their positions... The
                  PVs have ranks oso like Chairman,
                  and Vice... (etc). So probably not
                  wanting a revolution of overthrowing
                  current committee perhaps? But still...
                  Weird and oso selfish lor..

That is my thought too! Selfish....

I was thinking at tat moment why..anyway since their children oredi got in..why should they worry abt giving plcs to the intake of new pv? or the person suggesting to my friend is going to be in Phrase 2B herself (a current PV?) and she might not want competition? who knows..

I wonder if the quota of present pvs in PSG actually affect the number of plcs of new PVs.

Sometimes I feel they should be transparent abt this PV thingy. I wonder how many manage to get to be PV throu connections..we will never know..

blueblue:

Aiya...in P1 registration, parents are always selfish.
                    This just adds on to the many things that parents do to ensure that the limited 'resources' are allocated to their offsprings.

• 3 Offline
                      3Boys

blueblue:

Aiya...in P1 registration, parents are always selfish.
                      This just adds on to the many things that parents do to ensure that the limited 'resources' are allocated to their offsprings.

Indeed.

My simplified, non-abusable system would be Phase 1 for children with siblings in school and alumni and Phase 2 for children within 5k (big enough radius to get rid of this prime residence nonsense). Everybody else ballot, none of this PV/Clan/Church/Com leader/Home-school distance rubbish.

tonypang:
                        since her son is already studying in the school, then it is PSG (Parent Support Group) and not PV.

quite common to have Parent Support Group.
                        Yup, parents who already have their kiddies in the school have a
                        choice of continuing work for the school by being with the Parents'
                        Support Group & its committee.

I suppose, unless if a parent uses PSG membership for a sibling under
                        Phase 1, would then mean less opportunities for new parents to be
                        enrolled under PV, to secure their children's intake for P1... :idea:

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 15 / 253