I ask myself why do I want to push so hard?

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Working With Your Child
    53 Posts 25 Posters 17.6k Views 1 Watching
      cnimed

kaka:
      We have moved from third world to first world country, our education standards naturally raises.

Erm, excuse me, first world countries feel we are teaching too much too young. The international schools do not push so hard at 6 years old. My neighbour's son was just doing the alphabet at 6 when he went to the Australian International School. HOWEVER, their students DO learn, but through other means. It's a broader curriculum with more aesthetics and by trained teachers. ie Art is by a proper art teacher, not a teacher who gives out printed sheets for them to color for one hour. Music is by a classically trained music teacher with real instrument, not a teacher who clap hands and get the children to sing along for half an hour.

I know, I know. The ratio is not there. The calibre is not there. And our education system still does have its strengths. But it's NOT holistic, it's not going at the right pace. Instead of speeding up what is taught, they should broaden the curriculum. For eg, why can't primary one learn science through hands on activities? Why can't they learn history through traditional tales, outings to the museum etc? These are doable, enriches their lives, broaden their mind.

I do not want to compare with China and Korea. Unless you want to compare the suicide rates and the number of hours Korean students spend in their studies. It's insane.

hotspurs

I read this thread with great interest, drawing comfort that i am not alone in my plight. Someone wrote its more impt to instill the correct attitude rather than aim for top grades and I can’t agree with it more, although living up to it is another matter.

My daughter is in lower primary, to her she doesn’t understand the importance of studying and exams. She is super forgetful and ability to focus is also very poor. But she is quite intelligent and understands swiftly things taught to her…only to forget it 5 minutes later. she is also not exam-smart and careless in attempting test questions etc.
        Almost everynight, I will end up shouting at her and sometimes, regretably hitting her. My wife will then argue with me over this. I always promise not to repeat it but still do and my blood pressure is inching up of late. Recently, I broke down in front of my wife and girl (not buckets of tears la) to their shock because I was very saddened by my daughter’s nonchalant attitude. Sometimes I think it has got to do with our expectations. My girl is intelligent and I have witnessed flashes of brilliance by her which is why I cannot accept that she is not performing up to expectation. Over time, I am trying to accept that she may not be academically inclined…but this is very tough, not easy for me to let go. I wish I can be like some parents here who can just stop supervising their children since they are not responsive/ interested but I can’t bear to walk away from her and the vicious cycle repeates itself again. I try my very best to think along the lines - if she is not academically inclined, at least ensure that she understands the need to consistently put in her best effort.

deminc:
          kaka:

We have moved from third world to first world country, our education standards naturally raises.

Erm, excuse me, first world countries feel we are teaching too much too young. The international schools do not push so hard at 6 years old. My neighbour's son was just doing the alphabet at 6 when he went to the Australian International School. HOWEVER, their students DO learn, but through other means.

Yes, indeed they do. 😎
          deminc:
          I know, I know. The ratio is not there. The calibre is not there. And our education system still does have its strengths. But it's NOT holistic, it's not going at the right pace. Instead of speeding up what is taught, they should broaden the curriculum. For eg, why can't primary one learn science through hands on activities? Why can't they learn history through traditional tales, outings to the museum etc? These are doable, enriches their lives, broaden their mind.
          Uhmmm.. but they can. :idea:

Both my girls did this with the Montessori Methodology.

Both my girls ARE doing all these in their primary school(s)..
          Cos we changed school once. 😉

We have a holistic programme in place buuuuuttt seems from
          the much shared feedback that not every one from the teaching
          pool either has the chops to do it correctly and cohesively or that
          they don't care to do/follow the programme at all.

In my opinion it IS doable! :idea: In fact, my Montessorian students
          (my girls included 😉) have all benefitted from such holistic learning
          since preschool years and the fact that both my girls are still doing them...
          just shows the programme is definitely doable. I cannot thank their teachers
          enough.. :love:
          deminc:
          I do not want to compare with China and Korea. Unless you want to compare the suicide rates and the number of hours Korean students spend in their studies. It's insane.
          That's how insane textbook-blackboard-learning can do to children..
          Mug.. Mug.. Mug.. 😞

smurf

喂 Buds ah, u have the upper hand lah, u r a trained teacher leh, not many parents can teach their kids mah… 😎

insider:
              If I were her mum, I will train her life surviving skills coz she looks like one who will be conned easily if during her teenage years, someone sweet talk her into doing 'bad' things, she will agree. My training will not be so much on academic coz I think there's a max that her brain power can go in this area...

I can relate to where you're coming from for i have similar experiences
              with a few of my students before too. Building on confidence and
              familiarity will hopefully boost more that's embedded in her
              and the foundation you worked with her on a pace she
              can better cope with will be absorbed better.

While it takes a knowledgable educator to know and understand..
              to be able to help one with such concerns... i do find that with parents
              it is a different ball game altogether esp where expectations are concerned.

It sometimes comes as a case where educators cannot work with the
              parents actually and not the child in mention. Unless the parents realize
              the concern at hand and break that barrier, not only the child's esteem will
              suffer but the suffering (academically & emotionally) may even be prolonged.

smurf:
                喂 Buds ah, u have the upper hand lah, u r a trained teacher leh, not many parents can teach their kids mah... 😎

Then parents can choose to send to a preschool with more holistic
                programme, right? If of course, the price is right. 😉

smurf

What if the child is in primary sch already? :?

Then let good teachers work the magic of the Teach

Less Learn More method in primary schools. 😉

smurf

Not many good teachers around...if got plenty good teachers, many forummers wouldn't be so stress over this method Liao... 😉

Got lar. Think positive k?

My girls have been so blessed with aplenty. :please:

Some more just normal neighbourhood school. 😉

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 5 / 6

sharonkhooS
                        sharonkhoo