Indonesian maid salary to be increased to $450???
ha…3boys very funny your post I mean.
Littlefly:
we should pay the range we are comfortable. until the maid has proven herself, then consider increment.I heard from my mum that her friend's new Indo maid who just arrived for 1 week is only paid $380 with no off-days.
We pay ours at $440 and that is after negotiation with my agent who asked for $480 for a start. I thought with higher pay, my maid will shorten her loan period but no leh, it is still 8mths.
My friends Phil maids are only getting the range of $350-370 with no off days too and theirs are hired a few month ahead of us. So i guess its really up to the agency we go to.
mine start 380 with 2 sundays off from oct 2010. since jan, attend sunday class (indo system- high school), now off every sunday 11.00-6.00pm.
but felt maid not appreciative of this freedom. now day in day out thinkg of her study. and she had unlearnt my 6 mths training. :rant:
so busy/lazy that she throw her sweets, biscuits wrappers in the drawer in her own room, spread 2 packets of mothballs under the mattress, in the drawers (tellme smell nice) :stupid: warn her that if i can still find wrappers thrown in the drawers, i will take back the room and she can sleep in the living room. i had spend $100 for pest control to chase the cocroach before this findings.
(my family of 5, youngest 8yrs old)
this am, saw her reading her old contract, haiz, learning her rights, want to give up and be maidless.
:x i work long hours to pay for housing n i dont get to enjoy the house. and have a maid to drive me up the wall :rant: -
my indo maid has been with me for 2yrs.
new contract - she initially requested 1 off day every 3mths (because she claimed the neighbour's maid is doing that). i have increased her pay from $330 to $380 (i actually very unwillingly to increase so much
). its like half of my pay goes to her.
fil said she got the cheek to ask for $100 increment! :siao: :siao:
she had no off days for the past 2yrs ------ and she survived.
taking care of my 2 boys, housework etc.
now ever since her 1st off day, she huay kar. now request me to have 1 off day every mth. i was pissed. i feel that she is taking advantage of me.
but someone pointed that 1 off day for 3 mths is abit too much. i feel its ok since she has 2 hps to chit chat & i never limit her time, only hope she does her job. btw, she sayang my boys.
basically she is home alone with my boys during weekdays. inlaws working, hubby on shift work basis & by the time i return home from work, it will be evening. on weekends, she don't have to cook dinner as my mil will cook or sometimes will go downstairs to eat together.
im pretty sure she naps a little when making my boys nap during weekdays noons.
am i abit too ngiow over her off days? hmmm. -
missbluey:
Personally, I think 1 day off every 3 months is a little thin. Even if her work isn't too heavy on the weekends, I'm sure she would like to go out and blow off some steam, manage personal affairs and meet friends. Imagine yourself cooped up with your boss for months on end, it can only lead to resentment. If you lay ground rules on behaviour, and you can spare her, I'd say 1-2 days off a month is fair, and perhaps weekly if you want to be generous.
am i abit too ngiow over her off days? hmmm. -
weekly off is definitely out as what i see from her behaviour - her huay kar-ness turned me off.
Personally, I think 1 day off every 3 months is a little thin. Even if her work isn't too heavy on the weekends, I'm sure she would like to go out and blow off some steam, manage personal affairs and meet friends. Imagine yourself cooped up with your boss for months on end, it can only lead to resentment. If you lay ground rules on behaviour, and you can spare her, I'd say 1-2 days off a month is fair, and perhaps weekly if you want to be generous.missbluey:
am i abit too ngiow over her off days? hmmm.
hmm, any examples of ground rules? actually this is my first time hiring maid.
i need ideas, thanks! -
missbluey:
What is 'huay kar' ar?
weekly off is definitely out as what i see from her behaviour - her huay kar-ness turned me off.
i need ideas, thanks!
No boyfriends, come back on time, be contactable. Basic stuff. Other things, have to go on faith..... I basically close one eye. -
huay kar (hokkien) is something like keep wanting to go out.
What is 'huay kar' ar?missbluey:
i need ideas, thanks!
No boyfriends, come back on time, be contactable. Basic stuff. Other things, have to go on faith..... I basically close one eye.
hmm, she is married with 3 boys. i asked is it because she has boyfriend outside, that's why want more off? her reaction was pretty big. :lol:
but hor she never came back on time leh. how ah? -
latest news: just now maid asked hubby whether she can go down (void deck) to celebrate another maid (few doors away from us) birthday. she left with my 2 boys @ about 12+ until about 2.30pm then returned!
1hr is fine with me, but she only moved her big butt WHEN hubby went down to call her go back & that was after don't know how many missed calls. hubby said if i were to see #2 face was like covered with cake and #1 was busy eating cake, i'd have scold her. now i feel like calling her hp and #$%^%$!&#. :x im so sure that she didn't make #1 nap so that she could enjoy the celebration.
how to give her more off days like that?!
sorry, i need to rant. :rant: -
missbluey:
If I were you, I would had send her packing.latest news: just now maid asked hubby whether she can go down (void deck) to celebrate another maid (few doors away from us) birthday. she left with my 2 boys @ about 12+ until about 2.30pm then returned!
1hr is fine with me, but she only moved her big butt WHEN hubby went down to call her go back & that was after don't know how many missed calls. hubby said if i were to see #2 face was like covered with cake and #1 was busy eating cake, i'd have scold her. now i feel like calling her hp and #$%^%$!&#. :x im so sure that she didn't make #1 nap so that she could enjoy the celebration.
how to give her more off days like that?!
sorry, i need to rant. :rant:
I cannot stand her attitude and behaviour. -
missbluey:
Its a bit of chicken and egg. The more you want to constrain her, the more she will want to push the boundaries. If it comes down to a contest of wills, obviously you, as the employer, will prevail. Again, my opinion only, put yourself in her shoes, how would you feel if all you got to do was step out of the flat once every 3 months? Its hard to imagine because you go to work, do groceries and the like. So every small little bite at the cherry, she will want to prolong 'coz the next occasion is months away. If there is some predictability to it and some generosity, her reaction may surprise you. What have you to lose to try it for a couple of months? At worst, just reign back.
huay kar (hokkien) is something like keep wanting to go out.
hmm, she is married with 3 boys. i asked is it because she has boyfriend outside, that's why want more off? her reaction was pretty big. :lol:
but hor she never came back on time leh. how ah?
My sincere opinion only hor, don't take as preaching please.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.