Baumkuchen - OMG so yummy!!
BigDevil:
haha......Augmum:
oh .....u get me anxious and curious to try out these ring cakes ...... :love: :drool:
Yeah...after Fit-flops, this is the next shop I'm getting commission from! :lol:
u remind me of vitorelax who ever said that the owner of the wok hei hor fun would
give him more prawns and bigger serving (??) when he made his order by referring customers to him.
jce:
thks, but since i din try the taka one b4,The Baumkuchen at Toa Payoh is different from the one at Taka... Personally (and many of my friends agree too), the one at Toa Payoh is much drier (comparing like to like). The saving grace comes from the icing that provides a bit more moisture. There is of course a price difference too. Even compared to the \"not so fresh\" vacuum packed ones from Jap (available at places like Meidiya or Isetan), the Toa Payoh version is still on the dry side.
Glace's baumkuchen is very much like the one in Taka but still, not as moist
Try the one at Taka first, that's the closest to the real thing, or should I say, that IS the real thing.
think i shd not have much complaints when i try the TP one.
wow... very tempted to try.
Going to Taka after work. May I know which flavours is the MOST DELICIOUS :drool:
And... price also -
I always like the original. All things should start as "original" after that then venture into the "flavoured". Thatβs my motto.
smurf:
Like I said in the first post, we don't really have a sweet tooth.Is it very sweet?? :?
Coz Japanese cakes are well known for being very very sweet...even those normal cke also very sweet.
So that's what we like about this cake. The sweetest part of the cake is the
outermost layer, which has a layer of glaze. Other than that, the rest
is just lightly sweetened. -
Then thatβs ok. Coz those in japan are very sweet, until you canβt eat more than a small piece, and I mean, really small.
Vez:
I found the shop when we were about to leave, and the baumkuchen caughtwow... very tempted to try.
Going to Taka after work. May I know which flavours is the MOST DELICIOUS :drool:
And... price also
my eye and I didn't pay notice what else they were selling! :lol:
But I think it comes only in its original flavour.
There were 2 Jap ladies cutting up the cakes in a glass-walled room, and they
were using a ruler to measure how much to cut. The standard cut (maybe 5cm?)
is $9.80. If you are not sure if you would like it, you can also buy the 4-pieces pack which
costs $4.30.
There should be thicker cuts available, but not sure how much they are. Perhaps you
can provide a review and update after your visit?
BigDevil:
Erh... may i know 5cm is the diameter or the height?? 5cm very small lehThere were 2 Jap ladies cutting up the cakes in a glass-walled room, and they were using a ruler to measure how much to cut. The standard cut (maybe 5cm?)
is $9.80. If you are not sure if you would like it, you can also buy the 4-pieces pack which
costs $4.30.
There should be thicker cuts available, but not sure how much they are. Perhaps you
can provide a review and update after your visit?
Hmm.. i think i will buy the standard ones since you tried that before cos i think that 4 pieces pack the texture might not be the same.
No problem... will provide a review after i try. :drool: :drool: :drool: -
Okie been there, ate that :lol:
Waddled to Taka and tried the sample piece. It was good, not so sweet except for the top most layer of icing (but very very thin layer). And yup, does kinda remind me of the lapis.
Bought the 4 piece pack. DS didn't even allow me to eat one. He walloped three, was going to start on the 4th when I insisted that he had to share one with the helper. DS calls this his special 'bum bum' cake
I am not too disappointed at not having a piece. I got meself 100g of Godiva chocolates :drool: :drool:
Thanks for recommending the Baumkuchen, BigD :celebrate:
Next, must go TP and try BlurBee's recommendation. -
Vez:
Cannot be diameter lah...that's about the size of a cup cake! :lol:Erh... may i know 5cm is the diameter or the height?? 5cm very small leh
Hmm.. i think i will buy the standard ones since you tried that before cos i think that 4 pieces pack the texture might not be the same.
No problem... will provide a review after i try. :drool: :drool: :drool:
Actually, not knowing whether it is nice or not, we bought the 4-piece pack.
These smaller pieces were cut from the bigger cake, so no difference in taste or texture.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.