Indonesian maid salary to be increased to $450???
tannggy:
Did you pay for your maid's course or she pay herself ? does she get a day off every week in her contract already ? if not, then she really not appreciate. Maybe better to let her go if she wants to... rather risking pests breeding in your house! :!:
mine start 380 with 2 sundays off from oct 2010. since jan, attend sunday class (indo system- high school), now off every sunday 11.00-6.00pm.
but felt maid not appreciative of this freedom. now day in day out thinkg of her study. and she had unlearnt my 6 mths training. :rant:
so busy/lazy that she throw her sweets, biscuits wrappers in the drawer in her own room, spread 2 packets of mothballs under the mattress, in the drawers (tellme smell nice) :stupid: warn her that if i can still find wrappers thrown in the drawers, i will take back the room and she can sleep in the living room. i had spend $100 for pest control to chase the cocroach before this findings.
(my family of 5, youngest 8yrs old)
this am, saw her reading her old contract, haiz, learning her rights, want to give up and be maidless.
:x i work long hours to pay for housing n i dont get to enjoy the house. and have a maid to drive me up the wall :rant: -
Littlefly:
hi,
Have you managed to find any? I referred to Tamarind's blog here for ideas and developed one set for my maidmissbluey:
hmm, any examples of ground rules? actually this is my first time hiring maid.
i need ideas, thanks!
http://singaporemaidinfo.blogspot.com/2008/11/house-rules-by-tamarind.html
thanks for the link! actually read this before few years back but totally forgotten about it cuz i never thought i'd have a maid.
IMO most are good but errrr, a few of them are abit over leh.
no hard feelings, Tamarind!
missbluey:
re: yesterday drama
both hubby & i had talked to her nicely last night. i told her i don't like her friends carrying my #2. she can go down to celebrate her friends' bday but don't go down too long, max 1hr.
as for her off, hers will be 2mths 1 off & said she has to reach home on the dot.
3boys,
appreciate your opinion.
but hor she really buey zi dong to go back on time & i simply dislikes it. i seriously think she has no time management.
noticed maids who are given some time-off tend to extend it.
My ex-no off day maid was given 2 hrs shopping time but for 3 times, she'll turned up at meeting point late. Her excuse is always go toilet. I said she can go before meeting time instead of making me wait but she still turned a deaf ear. She got more and more serious by almost switching her ears off to my instructions.
Lucky she paid her own ticket home after working 1 year and decided not to come back... told hubby she's coming back ... made my hubby happy cos hubby likes her. Her ears only meant for Sir.... hate it! :x -
mummymaid:
ya some maids not automatic.missbluey:
re: yesterday drama
both hubby & i had talked to her nicely last night. i told her i don't like her friends carrying my #2. she can go down to celebrate her friends' bday but don't go down too long, max 1hr.
as for her off, hers will be 2mths 1 off & said she has to reach home on the dot.
3boys,
appreciate your opinion.
but hor she really buey zi dong to go back on time & i simply dislikes it. i seriously think she has no time management.
noticed maids who are given some time-off tend to extend it.
My ex-no off day maid was given 2 hrs shopping time but for 3 times, she'll turned up at meeting point late. Her excuse is always go toilet. I said she can go before meeting time instead of making me wait but she still turned a deaf ear. She got more and more serious by almost switching her ears off to my instructions.
Lucky she paid her own ticket home after working 1 year and decided not to come back... told hubby she's coming back ... made my hubby happy cos hubby likes her. Her ears only meant for Sir.... hate it! :x
same lah, my maid told me it was the transport making her returned home late. & she was taking cab lor. i told her that if she knows she will be home late, then go take transport earlier lah.
if my maid wants more off days, then she need to earn my trust. -
One off-day per month is about the max I can give my good maid. For first 2 years with me she got zero off-days. After contract renewal at the embassy felt obliged to give her one off-day per month also she asked for it. Plus every year she will go back home-leave for 2 weeks.
:celebrate: -
actually giving off day is really normal so that maids can be with friends and relax abit but the problem is they tend to take it for granted after a while and think that its only normal for her to have off. Then she gets influenced by friends outside and realise suddenly that her salary is too low and workload too much. They demand they want to be treated the same,blah,blah…the list goes on. Sigh!
Anyway maid will never appreciate goodness. My ex-filip maid went to Australia,
Bangkok with us. Went to Gold Coast, movie world took rides with my gal and had massage in Bangkok all fully paid and then guess what she complains that my gal is spoilt and doesn’t want to work for me. Bought her a diamond cross necklance because she’s a christain. In the end I found out because she wanted to work in Norway. So all the excuses so that I will terminate her and let her go where she can get higher salary and perhaps even a ang moh boyfriend.
So we learn the hard way. I try not to treat my maids too nice after that. -
Hi guys, recently i have hired a new maid from indon and her pay is 420 with no day off leh. i tot indon maid all with no off-days one?
Hi folks, if you may allow me to speak frankly, and please do not take this as preaching, but an honest opinion.
What is this issue about giving the domestic worker a day off once in a while?
I mean, if we were to put ourselves in the shoes of that individual, how would you feel if you were cooped up in your employer’s residence for months (maybe years) on end. You don’t get to see any of your acquaintances face to face, don’t get to buy things for yourself.
I understand that sometimes we get a little drilled in on our own needs. But doing without help once in awhile can give you a better appreciation of what things your FDW is responsible for, and build up some independence for yourself.
If I had it my way, since we are in the midst of an election and a key area is about a more caring and compassionate Singapore, I would propose legislating that domestic workers get at least a day off a month. -
Y.hong:
Hi guys, recently i have hired a new maid from indon and her pay is 420 with no day off leh. i tot indon maid all with no off-days one?
Every maid can choose whether she wants off day or not. If she wants an off day every week, she can specify this when looking for employers, and she has all the freedom to reject any employers who do not give off days.
Most Filipino maids, especially those who have experience, are now asking for one day off a week. I also heard of Indonesian maids who ask for day off.
However, many maids, especially those who are new and inexperienced, will accept job offers of no day off. This is because they may not be able to find any job if they demand for day off. Also, there are many maids who do not think it is necessary to have a day off every week, because they prefer to stay at home rather than sitting by the roadside at Orchard road or loitering around elsewhere.
Note that those maids who accepted no day-off, will very likely ask for day off after they have worked for a few months with the new employer. This is unfair to the employer because the maid has originally agreed to have no day off, and she has been compensated with a higher salary.
Many people blame employers for not giving maids day off. This is a very wrong perception. It is entirely the maid's personal choice. If she wants day off, she can always look for an employer who is willing to give off days.
I advise all employers to read this article to learn about how Indonesian maids choose their employers :
http://singaporemaid.blogspot.com/2011/03/where-have-spores-indonesian-maids-gone.html -
If a maid is prefers not to have a day off, that is certainly her prerogative. Do bear in mind there are potentially pressures that will make maid accept such terms. For instance, an employer in Singapore could possibly offer an employment position that allows no day off and no medical leave, and workers, if he situation were dire enough, may be coerced into such an arrangement. Thankfully, this is illegal in Singapore, employers (and I am one) are obliged to provision for such.
Bear that in mind when you pursue this ‘willing buyer, willing seller’ concept on allowing your maid a day off.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.