Post GE 2011 Discussion

1.3k Posts 85 Posters 254.4k Views 1 Watching
      schweppes

AceTutors123:

NS also broke the rules?? How?
      NS made a post on her FB, asking voters to \"scrutinize the PAP's manifesto carefully\", and her post was dated and timed as one minute after midnight on cooling-off day. So, technically, she's also liable for flouting the rules. This was reported in the New Paper on Sunday, 8 May

schweppes:

[quote=\"AceTutors123\"]

NS made a post on her FB, asking voters to \"scrutinize the PAP's manifesto carefully\", and her post was dated and timed as one minute after midnight on cooling-off day. So, technically, she's also liable for flouting the rules. This was reported in the New Paper on Sunday, 8 May

But then the time of 1 min is quite controversial...[/quote]just like the 35 seconds thing

versus 20 minutes past mid nite

Augmum

Mum1113:

Petition created today 10 May time unknown.
          It is growing in numbers, it might just out-grow the FB whichis 61 k....no longer 36 k ....

OMG 61K? that is phenonmenal growth. GCT just mentioned 36k not so long ago... :faint:

wow....61 K ??? :yikes: :faint:
          centre of attraction again πŸ˜‰

AceTutors123

schweppes:
            AceTutors123:

was TPL's posting reported in the Newpaper?

Augmum

Busymom:

At the risk of being :heresmyfish: by chief, can.. er... :scared: er...petition to reinstall the other thread for 1 week as suggested by verykiasu2010 very late last night? The way that this thread is moving is still very much like the other thread... I don't see any difference between this thread and that thread leh.

My er... vvery ...hhhumble opinion... is that it would be better to stop this thread after 1 week so that we kiasu parents can eventually go back to what we do best... er... being kiasu... :siam:
              err........indeed surprise that a new thread exist......
              i thot chief wanna to remove the polling thread is becos of not wanna this forum to be politically linked.
              but this thread still talking abt GE leh......... so the diff is ?? πŸ˜‰

Busymom:

At the risk of being :heresmyfish: by chief, can.. er... :scared: er...petition to reinstall the other thread for 1 week as suggested by verykiasu2010 very late last night? The way that this thread is moving is still very much like the other thread... I don't see any difference between this thread and that thread leh.

My er... vvery ...hhhumble opinion... is that it would be better to stop this thread after 1 week so that we kiasu parents can eventually go back to what we do best... er... being kiasu... :siam:

i thot chief wanna to remove the polling thread is becos of not wanna this forum to be politically linked.

the old one affects the vote, this new one is affected by the votes

Angelight

I agree with you, but I just feel that with his capability and high EQ skills, to retire at 57 is too early. he could have stayed on in other ministries or portfolios...

I still have some mixed feelings about GY's departure. Though I have high regards for him, at the back of my mind, I feel that this is the best way forward for him. He has created a credible self serving for many years and a talent everyone knows. So in fact this new found freedom for him plus his well-endorsed talent may serve him well personally after all the years he had served the country. In other words, I feel that he has a choice to live how he wants to live now without the heavy burden on his shoulders. JMHO.

MummyThreeStreams

George Yeo is going round Aljunied tonight to thank supporters. I don’t live near Aljunied! Won’t get to give him my support and thanks!

Augmum

the old one affects the vote, this new one is affected by the votes

hahaha.....
                      the old one is \"My Old Singapore\"
                      the new one is \" A Change in Singapore\"......at least gives us hope to see of any changes.

Happy Mama

Actually not unbelievable. My dad had a triple bypass and paid less then $50 in total. He stayed in A class ward and had his choice of surgeons.

But he no minister hor, not even top manage of the last company he worked in. He benefitted from the pension scheme that he took up upon retirement. So tell him anything negative about PAP, he will shoot you down.

And he will go on to say, and indirectly, we, his children benefitted cos we don't have to fork out a single cent to pay his medical fees and down the line, our children benefit cos we as their parents will have more money to spend on them and so on and so forth. So dun say what the policies set by them last time is not applicable to this generation, blah, blah, blah, blah.
                        Funz, :hi5: :hi5:

My parents too, are living on \"Ah Kong's\" money. Under pension scheme and all medical is free, plus every month get pocket allowance somemore. My mum has been telling us how lucky we kids are as we have never had to fork out a single cent for their operations. πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜‰

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 26 / 133