Newton Kindergarten
info … lobang
for Newton parents keen for kids to take up external English enrichment lessons from N2 to K2, may consider I-Creative Learning (ICL), established > 20 years ago.
normal waiting / queuing time is …. 2 years. Yes! It’s that long.
ICL seldom advertise on TV. It is by ‘word of mouth’ from parents and recommendation that news spread fast. To date, good feedback has been received from parents:-
http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?f=24&t=10024&start=90
http://www.icreativelearner.com.sg/
ICL has a unique English curriculum, well structured.
the curriculum places heavy emphasis building up vocabulary storehouse from scratch, grammar and the important component element, ‘compo writing’. When kids reach K2 Term 2 (around March onwards), most of them are more than ready for Primary 1.
you may request to view some pupils’ ‘10 lines’ simple, short essays writing. you may request ICL teachers to show you some sample English essay compositions written by K2 kids, ‘peppered’ with colourful, creative drawings drawn, using their own imagination. You be surprised & amazed at how creative these kids are!
ICL lessons are conducted ‘home-based’. Maximum allowed only 6 pupils per group. As such, due to sufficient attention in small group, teachers able to feedback to parents … what are the unique strengths and weaknesses faced by each pupil, which areas of difficulty the child encounter specifically, and what areas of improvement to work upon, hand in hand between teacher and parents ?
school fees: $200 per Term (reasonable).
lobang ….at Cantonment area, Teacher Ivy has some vacancies right now.
some parents had approached her to start new classes, urgent! But need 6 pupils to form per class, before can start. If you are keen, can click here to check the available time slots on which day (scroll right to the bottom of webpage), or pm me to get her contact telephone :-
http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?f=24&t=10024&start=100 -
Hi phtthp ,
I didn't receive your PM. I pmed you last 2 days, please check mail ya
Thanks -
hi vanila,
i just checked my PM, didn't receive your PM. perhaps you can email to me at [email protected] ? :lol: -
today and tomorrow, our N2 Nursery kids are visiting kampong and Pasir Ris park - to play with farm animals, fishes and see how plants growth take place in plant nursery.
my girl so excited, kept jumping up and down ... Mommy, can't wait to go kampong tomorrow with my classmates. I want to feed white rabbits, goat, koi fish !
my class Chinese form teacher will accompany. A number of school teachers bringing three N2 nursery classes per session will follow. The kids can't wait to hop onto school bus for the trip excitedly! Remember to bring hats, water bottles.
anyone going ?
:lol: -
info ... K2 parents,
this one looks interesting ... bec introduce Science experiments and the concept of Mathematics modeling.
though a bit ex, but it's only for 2 Terms only, before K2 kids wear Newton kindy graduation hat, and hop onto Primary 1 band wagon, to Primary schools:-
http://www.littleinkpot.com/uploads/6/6/0/6/6606333/primary_1_prep_class-may_2011.pdf
http://www.littleinkpot.com/ -
Info … feedback by Helen O Grady English speech and drama enrichment, at Newton kindy.
two days ago on Wednesday, a performance was put up by all kids who attended Helen O Grady Speech & drama enrichment. Parents were invited to the school, watch their kids perform, take photos.
at the end, the Teacher in charge issue a feedback progress assessment form to all parents (usually after 2 terms of enrolment). On it, you can see 3 column indicating whether - is your child Excellent, Good or Satisfactory in the following areas:
a) ability of your child to follow instructions well ?
b) responsiveness ?
c) interaction skills ?
d) voice projection power ?
e) level of confidence shown ?
for each category, a tick is then placed under one of the above 3 column by Teacher in charge. This serves as feedback, monitoring your child's progress.
inside the form, teacher also wrote down overall remarks, highlighting areas of improvement, specifying what are the unique strengths and weaknesses your child is currently facing ?
when the child goes Primary 1, there are a lot of 'Show and Tell' sessions. Nowadays in Primary schools, a high percentage of marks is - reserved for ‘Show and Tell’.
in the event that your child scores Satisfactory (border line case) in the above key areas, maybe can ask Teacher for feedback:
-\thow to improve your child’s confidence in speaking, in expressing himself, in articulating aloud, during public presentation ?
-\thow to help your child overcome shyness - when standing in front of a small audience comprising teachers and classmates , to talk about a certain topic ?
-\thow to help the child not be tongue tied, but willing to open his / her mouth willingly to talk ?
-\tis there anyway to improve on voice projection ? how ?
-\thow to train your child be more responsive, more alert or help your child take & obey instructions ?
- at home, how to start training your child overcome issues ?
-\tany other questions you have in mind ?
It is good to train your child early, pick up oral communication, presentation skills. -
Wow sounds good! Can’t wait to get my twins started on HOG!
Hi phttp, did u attend the HOG performance ? Coulldnt make it Tat day, wat a pity.
My daughter received the feedback form… Basically just basic comments… Nothing much -
info ... latest number of vacancies left for AM session next year, 2012 Parents who wish to register on 5 July this yr can take note:-
Pre-nursery (N1): 24
Nursery (N2): 5
K1: 7
K2: zero -
info update … Newton Kindergarten Super Student Success Seminar
the Memory seminar for Newton Kindergarten will not take place. However, the organizers are running a public seminar at ‘Toa Payoh HDB Hub Auditorium’ on 28 May 2011 (Saturday) for 4 hours, from 9am to 1pm.
this public seminar is a full fledged half-day seminar, originally priced at $197. There was an Early Bird Special of $98. However, for Newton kindergarten parents bringing friends along, the organizers make it special - offering a special price of $88.
And if you can find 6 people, you may enjoy further discount to … $73 per parent.
this morning, Calvin sms further good news, inform Newton kindergarten parents and friends. He said never mind. Even if you still can’t find 6 people, just go ahead - pay only $73 to attend.
if you are interested, you may contact him directly, remit $73 to:
OCBC Balestier Branch Versa Creations Pte Ltd. Sms him for his account number.
at the same time, drop him an email at [email protected], providing your name and contact handphone, for him to register you.
the official website has a video of ‘Eran Katz Memory and Brain Power’ speaking at the United Nations’ Brain Conference in 2008: http://www.erankatzasia.com
Don’t forget - 21 May 2pm at Kinokuniya, Takashimaya, Eran is there to give a short talk and sign his books… get your friends there since they don’t want to go for the full seminar, at least get one or two tips at Kino for free, might make you happy…
if you have any questions, please feel free to call Calvin Goh directly at his mobile phone: 90288268
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.