Newton Kindergarten
info ... latest number of vacancies left for AM session next year, 2012 Parents who wish to register on 5 July this yr can take note:-
Pre-nursery (N1): 24
Nursery (N2): 5
K1: 7
K2: zero -
info update … Newton Kindergarten Super Student Success Seminar
the Memory seminar for Newton Kindergarten will not take place. However, the organizers are running a public seminar at ‘Toa Payoh HDB Hub Auditorium’ on 28 May 2011 (Saturday) for 4 hours, from 9am to 1pm.
this public seminar is a full fledged half-day seminar, originally priced at $197. There was an Early Bird Special of $98. However, for Newton kindergarten parents bringing friends along, the organizers make it special - offering a special price of $88.
And if you can find 6 people, you may enjoy further discount to … $73 per parent.
this morning, Calvin sms further good news, inform Newton kindergarten parents and friends. He said never mind. Even if you still can’t find 6 people, just go ahead - pay only $73 to attend.
if you are interested, you may contact him directly, remit $73 to:
OCBC Balestier Branch Versa Creations Pte Ltd. Sms him for his account number.
at the same time, drop him an email at [email protected], providing your name and contact handphone, for him to register you.
the official website has a video of ‘Eran Katz Memory and Brain Power’ speaking at the United Nations’ Brain Conference in 2008: http://www.erankatzasia.com
Don’t forget - 21 May 2pm at Kinokuniya, Takashimaya, Eran is there to give a short talk and sign his books… get your friends there since they don’t want to go for the full seminar, at least get one or two tips at Kino for free, might make you happy…
if you have any questions, please feel free to call Calvin Goh directly at his mobile phone: 90288268 -
here are comments from the event organizer:-
http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?f=35&t=22015 -
hi octbride,
i din attend Helen O Grady (HOG) performance. Busy that morning. Luckily, one of our classmates’ mommy is nice. She took snapshots of the drama with our girls inside, email me photos of the drama performance later. I ask her to keep you in the loop as well.
maybe try to catch hold of teacher Lynette Teo? She is the Teacher in charge of our N2 HOG class. You may just call her up directly.
the feedback on the form is brief. To get more detail on your child’s progress, need to speak to her personally. Then she will advise & guide you how to help your child in the 5 key areas mentioned, step by step. -
info …. Tuition for children facing learning difficulty.
if parents need a home tutor to go your house personally, to coach your child facing some learning difficulty, you may contact tel: 6100-3372
the tutors here are not ordinary, normal tutors. They are specialists trained in handling dyslexia kids, or kids struggling with some other learning issues.
http://www.edsolution.com.sg
this centre is one of them recommended.
if you need further assistance, wish to find out which other suitable centres are around, may approach our Principal directly. She can help you recommend.
all about dyslexia:
http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?f=32&t=854 -
Thanks! Can’t wait to see the photos. Do you have Lynette Teo number? If have can pm me.thanks!
hi octbride,
can call HOG at tel: 9223-8443.
for N2, if tr Lynette Teo not in (in case she is out teaching S&D at some other kindy), leave behind contact number, ask her to return call.
for K1/K2, another teacher. The teacher’s name in charge - appears on your child’s feedback assessment form.
for K2, if like to enrol your child in competition with kids from other kindergarten, can ask teacher - how to apply, what criteria judges looking for ? is a good exposure for pupils on confidence building, through drama and speech.
parents’ testimonial:-
http://www.helenogrady.sg/page2.html
HOG teachers:-
http://www.helenogrady.sg/page72.html -
Phtthp,
Have emailed u. Can u check? Thanks.
hi smurf, replied! :lol:
info … for kids with learning difficulty.
in the past - 30 to 40 yrs ago, cases of kids facing mild autism or mild dyslexia, were unheard of. Lately dun know why, there has been a growing increase of such cases.
has it got to do with the environment we are living in, the natural air that we breathe in, the daily food that we consume into our body, due to genetic hereditary reasons, or any other reason(s) which till today … remains a mystery?
normally for these kids attending Newton kindy, the parents tend to supplement with 2x or 3x per week at centres elsewhere - that specialize in Speech therapy improvement Early intervention centres.
recently, Straits Times reported (dated 9 May 2011) that ,,, more help is on hand now, available for these young children:-
http://www.overseassingaporean.sg/cms/index.php/portal/sgfeatures/sgfeatures_past_week_news/learning_difficulties_more_help_now
http://www.straitstimes.com/BreakingNews/Singapore/Story/STIStory_666589.html
in the above newspaper article, centres such as the ‘Cognitive Development learning centre’ and ‘Bridge Learning centre’ had been identified. They help these two groups of children learn to overcome some of the problems they have with learning.
a) http://www.cognitive.com.sg/programme.php
b) http://www.bridgelearning.com.sg/programs.htm
http://www.mummysg.com/forums/f109/anyone-has-any-feedbacks-about-cognitive-development-learning-centre-35620/
if you are considering enrol your child into Newton kindy, best to talk to Principal first. Seek her advice. Ask her – with parents in the past with similar nature - which are some of the Early intervention centres that had been proven that can truly help ?
all about Autism:
http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?t=935
http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/content/living-autism
all about Dyslexia:
http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?t=854
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.