[Tampines] Primary Schools
mamachris:
Alamak... die liao... everyone treat me like fortune teller like that... free wan some more.After reading the past postings, I think I must start thinking and planning for my kids future...
I hope Chief and all could help me to analyse my situation for my son's P1 enrolment in 2011:
We do not stay in Tampines but kids are with my parents in Tampines and childcare in Tampines.
Intend to send my kids (2011) to Primary schools near my mum place for convenience.
The preferred schools in my radar are St Hilda (0.99km, within 1km from my mum place), Red Swastika (1.99km, within 2km from my mum place). Other choices included Chongzheng. Last choice will be Tampines Primary (just 1 block away, within 1 km from my mum place).
I intend to do PV for the preferred schools. But not sure which school will have higher chance for my son to be enrolled. Really hope to do PV and not need balloting to get a place.
Anyone to give me your insights or analysis?
OK... according to the stars...
1. Your son is 4 years old this year (see... I good or not?)
2. The last day for you to register for PV in any school is 30 Jun 2009 to make it for the 2010 P1 Registration exercise for your son to get into P1 in 2011.
3. Unless you stay with your mum, you are going to be registering between 1-2km for St Hilda's, Red Swastika, and Tampines Primary due to the foster parent rule.
4. St. Hilda's just missed balloting for between 1-2km in Phase 2B by a whisker... watch their PSLE results in 2008 and 2009. If they continue to do well... you may not be so lucky in the 2010 registration. Red Swastika will only offer you a little bit more breathing space than St. Hilda's but not much. If you choose either of these schools, you better hope you can get in for Phase 2B, because you will NOT be able to get into 2C due to your 1-2km range. Also... better check with Red Swastika to make sure you are really within 1.9km... it's cutting it close.
5. The sure thing is Tampines Primary... where you can relax and not PV and still comfortably get into the school. And the school is improving by the years. So why not go for the sure thing? -
Hi amylqf
Congratulations on getting your kid into Poi Ching. You did PV or it's clan membership?
I'll be registering my gal on the last day, hopefully at Poi Ching. Their take up rate this year is higher than last year with 30 lesser places this year, that's equivalent to 1 class. Hope not many within 1 km go for that school so that I stand a better chance.
On a side note, Pasir Ris Pri has lower take up rate compared to last year due to lesser phase 1 applicants, however, I still don't stand a chance as I'm out of 2 km.
ChiefKS,Alamak... die liao... everyone treat me like fortune teller like that... free wan some more.
OK... according to the stars...
1. Your son is 4 years old this year (see... I good or not?)
With your vast knowledge in the education system in SG... I have to say that you are like a 'fortune teller' to many of us here in this forum. You know what... my hubby is asking who is this 'ChiefKS' ..is he/she someone working in MOE!? Wanna share a little bit about yourself? I think I may have missed this information about ChiefKS ...hahahha
Btw, you got it right that my son is 4 years now.
Based on your reply, I will probably need to just pick on one preferred school and serves as PV for that preferred school ...try my luck in 2010 registration. If the luck is good. Son will get into the preferred school if not, I will let him go to Tampines Primary (since the school has shown improvement over the years) thru' Phase 3.
Thanks for your prompt response!
Anyone have any other suggestions or comments for me? -
I registered for my child. Until 11.30am this morning the Q number was 160. At present, only children from within 1KM are being allowed to register.
[quote]I registered for my child. Until 11.30am this morning the Q number was 160. At present, only children from within 1KM are being allowed to register.[/quote]
Wow and St Hilda's has less than 50 vacancies available! It's so scary and no good, it'll definitely channel alot of applicants to Poi Ching....arghh :stupid: -
vsk:
At present, only children from within 1KM are being allowed to register.
Hey, that is a good system.
Maybe moe should indicate that day 1 for applicants within 1km, day 2 for 1-2km and day 3 for >2km so that we as parents can make a more informed choice when looking at the vacancies left after the first 1-2 days. -
Oooooops I can’t believe this St Hilda’s as 44 vacancies (Phase 2C) and as of today’s registration there are 142 registered who are residing within 1 km.
I wonder what is going to happen the next few days of 2C registrations.
Bel -
Hi, It seems that the chance of securing a place is 3.5:1 for St.Hilda’s. I am thinking of Tampines Primary or North Primary, if my child is unsuccessfull. Would you be able to advise which one would be better ? or Which girls school closer to Tampines St 71 would be a better option.
Appreciate your advise. Thanks -
mum03:
I don't think it will change much since the battle is only for the less than 1kmers and they should mostly be registered already by today. Still... a 25% chance of success isn't very encouraging. I think we may even have some dropouts in the next few days.Oooooops I can't believe this St Hilda's as 44 vacancies (Phase 2C) and as of today's registration there are 142 registered who are residing within 1 km.
I wonder what is going to happen the next few days of 2C registrations.
Bel -
Hi amylqf,
Congrats you got into Poi Ching for Phase 2B.
I need a second opinion. I am pretty torn between Poi Ching and Gong Shang. Gong Shang is nearer and I have a direct public bus there, though still not within 1km. Either way, my kid would be taking school bus.
Do you have any idea what is the relative performance of the 2 schools? Me trying for next round of PV. Chief Kiasu can advise too?
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.