Post GE 2011 Discussion

1.3k Posts 85 Posters 254.8k Views 1 Watching

daisyt:
      http://www.yzzk.com/cfm/Content_Archive.cfm?Channel=ae&Path=3470526402/20ae1a.cfm

From the Chinese Asia magazine.
      amazing .... CSM, HSK, VB ...... all same batch from NJC

CSM was #1, HSK was #2......

raysusan

http://www.asiaone.com/News/AsiaOne+News/Singapore/Story/A1Story20110521-279923.html
        [quote]THE Workers' Party (WP) submitted a proposal to merge the town councils of Aljunied GRC and single-seat Hougang last week.

WP chief Low Thia Khiang told the Straits Times that it's easier operationally, and that they hope to achieve 'economies of scale in terms of tender of contracts, in terms of purchases made, in terms of projects, (and) hopefully we can get a better bargain'.

If approved, it will be chaired by WP's chairman Sylvia Lim, with Hougang MP Yaw Shin Leong and Mr Low as the vice-chairmen.

Mr Low also disclosed that some parts of the handover process, has not been smooth. The newly elected MP for Aljunied GRC said that they have been waiting since last week for the town council to provide key information on matters such as the list of service providers and its computer data system.

His team also yet to have a face-to-face meeting with the management of the Aljunied Town Council, which had cancelled a meeting scheduled for last Tuesday, according to Mr Low. His party has since turned to HDB for help.

According to the paper, Mr Jeffrey Chua, the Aljunied Town Council general manager, said he had informed the Hougang Town Council that it needed more time to compile the complete list of service providers. The Hougang Town Council has also been given the names of service providers whose contracts will expire in the next few months, said Mr Chua.

Meanwhile, Mr Low dismissed rumours that the Aljunied Town Council had stopped removing rubbish from HDB blocks in the estate. According to him, the WP found the estates to be well-maintained, after they went on ground inspections in the GRC.[/quote]something fishy ...... :skeptical:

Trapwithin

daisyt:

http://www.yzzk.com/cfm/Content_Archive.cfm?Channel=ae&Path=3470526402/20ae1a.cfm

Interesting ....
          30+ years ago, they play and study together
          30+ years later, they \"shake\" hand in Parliament. ๐Ÿ˜‰

concern2

Merging the town councils to achieve economies of scale sound like a good idea. Singapore isn't that big anyway. No wonder they concentrate their efforts on the east and north-east where they can better manage resources - imaging going for Jurong - how to merge & mobilize manpower?

Why passing over the town council takes so long har? Whatever happened to 'efficiency'? Even ministers already changed office liao.. :slapshead:

concern2

The spectre of having to manage multiple political threads made us decide that it is better to continue to keep all things Singapore politics in this one thread. We have combined all the political threads into this one thread and we will keep this thread online indefinitely.

:celebrate: Good lah, no need to search other threads to read up on politics liao ๐Ÿ˜‰

Funx3

Trapwithin:

[quote=\"daisyt\"]http://www.yzzk.com/cfm/Content_Archive.cfm?Channel=ae&Path=3470526402/20ae1a.cfm

Interesting ....
                30+ years ago, they play and study together
                30+ years later, they \"shake\" hand in Parliament. ๐Ÿ˜‰[/quote]So Morale of the Story?
                Must GO Elite Sch where ALL these ELITE Ppl Congregate?
                :evil: :evil:

Way2GO

http://i56.tinypic.com/21llaae.jpg\">

MM Lee, disgusted with a PAP dat lost touch with its citizens, joins WP.
                  just kidding ๐Ÿ˜‰

concern2

Came across an article and here is an extract:

Other possible candidates in 2016:
                    1. Li HonYi (elder son of LHL/Ho Ching)
                    Li was apparently being groomed for a future leadership role after being awarded a government scholarship to study economics at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (in 2008). The Singapore military has served as a training ground for political leaders and executives in state companies.

2. Teo Eng Siang (son of Teo Chee Hean)
                    Singapore pays S$280,825 for tuition for Teoโ€™s son โ€“
                    Teo Eng Siang was awarded a Public Service Commission Scholarship in a public ceremony by his own daddy, Singapore Admiral and Minister Teo Chee Hean. Young Teo now(2008) heads for the United States where he will be attending Brown University in Providence, Rhode Island. Brown University is a fashionable Ivy Leage school and has a huge annual tuition of US$42,303, or US$169,202 (S$280,825) for the full four years. Donโ€™t you think there are needier students in Singapore?

3.Warren Mah
                    Warren Mah, son of Mah Bow Tan, Singaporeโ€™s Minister for National Development, is living in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania.
                    He is on a scholarship to the University of Pennsylvania from the Monetary Authority of Singapore.

This is Politics (Singapore Politics i should think), its not as simple as we ordinary folks out there to comprehend precisely. The PAP do have contingency and far-sight plans ahead.

You know Politics???

________
                    Source: http://www.temasekreview.com/2011/05/10/so-you-think-the-pap-are-morons-think-again/

There is the argument that just because these children are born to their fathers who are ministers should not deprive them of getting the scholarship they deserve (from my understanding, not exact words used in the media). I do not buy this argument, but I can't put down this uncomfortable feeling into words. What do you think?

Angelight

A cut in ministers and president's pay. Read http://news.xin.msn.com/en/singapore/article.aspx?cp-documentid=4860386.

And special committee is headed by Gerald Ee. Hopefully he can do a fair and impartial job. I have faith in him.

Daddy D

Source: http://www.temasekreview.com/2011/05/10/so-you-think-the-pap-are-morons-think-again/

There is the argument that just because these children are born to their fathers who are ministers should not deprive them of getting the scholarship they deserve (from my understanding, not exact words used in the media). I do not buy this argument, but I can't put down this uncomfortable feeling into words. What do you think?
                        Rich Dad Poor Dad... Robert Kiyosaki will say \"I told you so\"

๐Ÿ™‚

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

With your input, this post could be even better ๐Ÿ’—

• 99 / 133