Post GE 2011 Discussion

1.3k Posts 85 Posters 254.4k Views 1 Watching
      cimman

DesertWind:
      Hi Hi,

My own wild guess of the new minister's pay should be between SGD500K to SGD800K per annum.
      Anybody game to poll?
      frankly, I really don't care how much the ministers are paid so long as they do a good job. The higher the pay, the higher the standards held to which they are accountable.
      With the recent issues on high property prices, high inflation, transport problems, overspending on YOG, it serves to highlight the fact that the ministers are not performing to expectations.

The overspending on YOG was a fiasco. While it is understandable that there was an unforseen change in requirements for hosting the event, the committee should learn from past Olympic events that such requirement changes are the norm and should have factored in a large enough buffer. Beijing overspent on it's initial Olympic budget. One can use that amount as a guide to factor in the buffer needed for YOG's budget.

There should be KPIs for ministers and it shouldn't be just the GDP figure. They should form a committee to look into implementing KPIs for ministers. The KPIs should be reviewed annually, and not only during election years when voters voice their discontent through their votes. At least the govt took note of the discontent and retired the unpopular ministers.

After this incident, definitely No such Mistake Again, from Whichever Party ....
        šŸ˜‰ šŸ˜‰
        WP = Whichever Party

Way2GO

wapobs:

... I also wonder if it is true that once a man has a very beautiful wife at home, he will no longer look for a mistress? ...

of course la! :evil: :evil: :evil:

IF beauty is d only criteria,
          dis is akin to saying dat a man who appreciates d beauty of a good painting
          will only see d beauty of dat painting to d exclusion of all others.
          Is dat so? Normal meh?

We digress. Dis discussion shd be under domestic politics. :lol:

raysusan

http://img153.imageshack.us/img153/4968/voiddeck.jpg

meet the mp session in adjunied

Way2GO

[quote=\"ksi\"]Nicole Seah asks for donations online using her own bank account

http://www.asiaone.com/News/AsiaOne%2BNews/Singapore/Story/A1Story20110523-280160.html

Is this another example of her naiveness?
              Her new-found fame getting over her head? :?

This was during the election right. Is it stil-ongoing, the request for donation? I thought it stop liao

No..after election, she is soliciting donations via FB for S$35,000 as NSP has overspent for the election compaigning(Tankee, Quality Hotel has billed them......šŸ˜‰ ). By the way, it is indeed legal for her to ask for donations for the election campaigns even after the elections but I think the mistake is to use a personal bank account in her name(maybe she is really equating NSP as Nicole Seah's Party...šŸ‘…) which is not a wise move. The lack of experience in understanding sentiments of people continues to come through...as I said before she needed more years to mature....I look fwd to her future years.[/quote]Yeah she's one for d future if she continues to hv d passion n compassionate.
              d period for political donations is limited to 30 days (to cfm) after polling day, so d urgency but her inexperience shows.
              She shd hv run this thro NSP leadership before committing d donation appeal on FB.
              How she now handles d accountability of dis donation drive is important for her credibility in future.
              But too many Indian Chiefs in NSP. šŸ˜‰

Funx3

After this incident, definitely No such Mistake Again, from Whichever Party ....
                šŸ˜‰ šŸ˜‰

WP = Whichever Party

Aiyoh U with your superb play of words ....
                U just Can't resist it, Right?
                :laugh: :laugh:

• DesertWindD Offline
                  DesertWind

MummyThreeStreams:
                  Not everybody in civil service is earning so much lah. Only a handful.

DPM TCH has said civil service pay may need to be reviewed...
                  http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/singaporelocalnews/view/1130707/1/.html I think they will need to be careful with this coz they don't want to lose too many people to the private sector.

I think it's important to settle the principles first, before talking about quantum. It may be that the moral authority for an elected office bearer requires a significant \"discount\" on salaries, but perhaps this may not apply in the same way to the civil service. if so, then it may well be possible for the perm sec to earn more than the political leadership. Imagine how inspiring it would be if the minister can say to his perm sec \" oi, I earn less than you, but I'm working harder!\"
                  :nunchuk:

But more realistically speaking, while I think a full Minister should earn at least the same as his perm sec (and i'm happy for them to earn more than the perm sec), I think the more junior office bearers (parliamentary secretaries, ministers of state) do not need to earn as much. I.e., The entry-level political salaries can be lower than the higher civil service grades.
                  Hi mummy3streams,
                  You make perfect sense!
                  Still, being an accountant, I get a kick out of plucking numbers.
                  So I want to give a number and then wait for the \"Toto\" to open and see if I strike (ke..he..he..).

So the current ministerial pay is now SGD1.5 to SGD3m with the President at SGD4m. My very initial gut feel is that it should be a 50% cut and with the recent knowledge of the civil service pay, all the more I think this new (& final) guestimates seems about right (to me at least!).

Hence my new and final guestimate for the revised range for ministers should be between SGD750K to SGD1.5m with President at SGD2m. Again I mean the basic gross annual pay (maybe with or without bonuses I dunnoo).

Compare to the HK Mr Tung, US President and the ANZ/NZ PM and with the current USD/SGD exchange rate of about SGD1.23 per USD, won't loose face already lah! :imanangel:
                  šŸ˜‰

limlim

Is that our secret formula for keeping our government corrupt-free with the high pay packages? Does that mean that the not-so-well paid politicians elsewhere will be tempted to be corrupt because \"Money no enough?\" This is interesting food for thought. What are your views?
                    Consider this.. if you own a shop.. And there is pple walking in and out of the shop buying stuff from you

case A: There were some theft.. you lost some money.. so you always have to keep an eye on your goods. If they got caught, they'll be jailed and punished severely

Cae B: In order to prevent theft, you put up a sign, allowing them to OPENLY take with permission $100 of stuff from your shop. However, this is no guarantee that some pple is greedy and still steal from you.

Which option would you go for?

Funx3

DesertWind:

Hi mummy3streams,
                      You make perfect sense!
                      Still, being an accountant, I get a kick out of plucking numbers.
                      So I want to give a number and then wait for the \"Toto\" to open and see if I strike (ke..he..he..).

So the current ministerial pay is now SGD1.5 to SGD3m with the President at SGD4m. My very initial gut feel is that it should be a 50% cut and with the recent knowledge of the civil service pay, all the more I think this new (& final) guestimates seems about right (to me at least!).

Hence my new and final guestimate for the revised range for ministers should be between SGD750K to SGD1.5m with President at SGD2m. Again I mean the basic gross annual pay (maybe with or without bonuses I dunnoo).

Compare to the HK Mr Tung, US President and the ANZ/NZ PM and with the current USD/SGD exchange rate of about SGD1.23 per USD, won't loose face already lah! :imanangel:
                      šŸ˜‰
                      A condo (entry Level) per Year Down the Drain ....
                      :laugh: :laugh:

• DesertWindD Offline
                        DesertWind

cimman:
                        frankly, I really don't care how much the ministers are paid so long as they do a good job. The higher the pay, the higher the standards held to which they are accountable.

With the recent issues on high property prices, high inflation, transport problems, overspending on YOG, it serves to highlight the fact that the ministers are not performing to expectations.

There should be KPIs for ministers and it shouldn't be just the GDP figure. They should form a committee to look into implementing KPIs for ministers. The KPIs should be reviewed annually, and not only during election years when voters voice their discontent through their votes. At least the govt took note of the discontent and retired the unpopular ministers.
                        Could not agree with you more.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 105 / 133

cucumberry127C
                        cucumberry127