Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Domestic Help
    10.3k Posts 915 Posters 3.6m Views 1 Watching
      hquek

For my previous indo maids, we always use Western Union (Singpost also via western union) - no bank account also can. They go there, fill up a form and then they will be given a code number. When she’s back, she can go to the WU branch and collect the money with the pin. Alternatively, if there is bank address, she can instruct to have it sent to the bank…but there’s is a waiting time.

FYI, it’s pretty expensive to wire money back…the more you wire, the higher the jump (I can’t recall but it’s a hefty amount).

What I did for my first maid was to give her a money belt (she can sew her own). Get S$ and put in the money belt. MOney is always with her body and unless she’s strip searched, they can’t locate it. No issues with that. For my 2nd, her attitude sucked and I couldn’t be bothered to do that - just brought her to western union…and not like she had much also becos she didn’t finish the 2 yr contract.

I would not advise sending to sibling’s or even parent’s bank account. Inform her, once it’s in his account, he can don’t give you the money. Eg, if I were to fund transfer by mistake to a stranger’s account - he can say I don’t want to give you back…and I wouldn’t have recourse unless I sue that fella. it’ll be a timely and costly affair, by which time the money should have been spent. And all the more they are in different islands! But that said, it’s HER money, she can choose what she wants to do. As a human, I will tell her this - end up, she has to decide for herself.

SMH FOREST

hquek, I did ask her this. Is she sure that she will get BACK her money? Cos' we told her clearly, if he kapok her $... she will go back with just that few hundred she have left here, and we dont want her to go back after 2 years with her $ being taken away by her Bro. Anyway, like u said, its HER money. So when she said Yes... we just try to see what's the best way to remit for her... HAIZ!

Thanks for the info on WU though... i'll go and check it out! Tks!! 🙂

hquek

SMH_forest,

She may have to break up the remittances into a few times. So try to do it before friday - they have a limited number of remittances per day. I recall that I had to break up my maid’s into 2 times else the remittance fee would triple. I scolded the post office lady for not telling us earlier when we signed the form…else my maid would have wasted money.

hquek

Check out this.

http://www.westernunion.com/info/osMoneyTransfer.asp?country=SG

I seriously don't think she need to send to a bank account leh. But she'll probably need a bodyguard when she pick up her money.

STEP 1: Visit an Agent location
            Provide the Agent with the following information:

The Money Transfer Control Number (MTCN) from your Sender's receipt is required.

Sender's first and last names.

City and country the money was sent from.

The amount that was sent.

Your first and last names, address, and telephone number.

STEP 2: Identify Yourself
            Simply give the Agent your identification card.

STEP 3: Sign the Receipt
            Review and sign the receipt that the Agent gives you.

STEP 4: Receive the Money
            The Agent will give you the money that was sent to you with a copy of the receipt and you are on your way.

SMH FOREST

Thanks hquek and LKVM.

So she will need to be present to effect the WU transfer? Or can I do it on her behalf?? 😛 I’ll try to pop into the SingPost outlets to check later during lunch… thanks! Then again, its a big amount… so sure kena high transfer fee!

BeContented

Was reading…seems like many of the maids will ask to go home almost soon after the loan is paid off. So was wondering…

I thot I saw a Chinese documentary about 9 months ago talking about difficulty in attracting maids to SG. (not sure as I wasn’t really paying attention back then). Seems like the agents were recruiting maids and some would dangle a reward ranging from RP 1-5 million to those who agree to come SG to work.
                Not sure is this true…or I saw/heard wrongly or what…dunno how to verify too. If this is true, maybe that’s why the maids are running off the moment the loan is cleared cos’ they have already secured the reward…but then again, seems very stupid and short-sighted cos’ RM 5 million is only about S$700+? If they continue to complete contract, will earn much more won’t they?

Anyone can verify?

hquek

cwc:

I thot I saw a Chinese documentary about 9 months ago talking about difficulty in attracting maids to SG. (not sure as I wasn't really paying attention back then). Seems like the agents were recruiting maids and some would dangle a reward ranging from RP 1-5 million to those who agree to come SG to work.
                  Not sure is this true......or I saw/heard wrongly or what.....dunno how to verify too. If this is true, maybe that's why the maids are running off the moment the loan is cleared cos' they have already secured the reward.....but then again, seems very stupid and short-sighted cos' RM 5 million is only about S$700+? If they continue to complete contract, will earn much more won't they?

Anyone can verify?
                  But their loan is so much more....if they really do that, then they must be :siao:

hquek

SMH FOREST:
                    Thanks hquek and LKVM.

So she will need to be present to effect the WU transfer? Or can I do it on her behalf?? 😛 I'll try to pop into the SingPost outlets to check later during lunch.. thanks! Then again, its a big amount.. so sure kena high transfer fee!
                    Actually I don't think she'll need to be there, but I will bring her. Don't want to be responsible for writing wrongly...as you said, it's a big amount.

I think there is one day of the week Singpost is open late...is it today? not sure if I'm wrong.

BeContented

cwc:

I thot I saw a Chinese documentary about 9 months ago talking about difficulty in attracting maids to SG. (not sure as I wasn't really paying attention back then). Seems like the agents were recruiting maids and some would dangle a reward ranging from RP 1-5 million to those who agree to come SG to work.
                      Not sure is this true......or I saw/heard wrongly or what.....dunno how to verify too. If this is true, maybe that's why the maids are running off the moment the loan is cleared cos' they have already secured the reward.....but then again, seems very stupid and short-sighted cos' RM 5 million is only about S$700+? If they continue to complete contract, will earn much more won't they?

Anyone can verify?

But their loan is so much more....if they really do that, then they must be :siao:

That's why most will finish off the loan first.....once loan finish, the reward is secured immediately ie. dun have to even work further and still have money.

Cyeoh

[*]Hi all, am finding the cheapest way for maid to call or sms home. So far i see 12 cent call and 15cent sms thanks

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 492 / 1032