Problem with leather sofa
jessicawongcs:
The mentality of companies eating grass is doing great damages to Mother Earth. When Mother Earth is no longer viable, want to find grass to eat grass also got prob.sall:
Agree with Jennifer, years ago, quality of furniture was much better.
need to make it not so gd quality so that u will go back buy again, boost economy
just like electronic applicances, if everything last for 10 yrs then the company can eat grass lor :lol: -
Picolo:
Other than reliable leather care pdts, also shld be mindful not to place the leather sofa near windows where sunlight shines in.sall:
If you clean it with those leather 'cream' regularly, it will last very long. My leather sofa is 10 years old, still in tip-top condition.
Hi Sall,
Could you let us know what is the leather cream you are using? I have been procrastinating buying one cos dunno what is a good brand/ model. :roll:
Thanks!
Some children might be allergic to the chemicals in the leather care pdt. I cant sit on a leather seat which is recently polished. I will suffer itchy rashes. -
my boy has asthma and has allergies so i am very particular about the types of furniture and cleaning products used at home.
for my leather sofa after cleaning i will forbid my kids from going near it for like 2 hrs. lol. -
My 1st Leather sofa set bought from Novena Furniture and within 3 years started peeling…but at that time I do not really maintain it lah.
Then 2nd set of Sofa got it from Mova…this time I used Wet tissue cleaner specially for leather, till now almost 3 yrs still sparking and good…so maybe maintenance play a part… -
anybody know if leather can be mended? leather torn. Tks
I have changed two sofas.Not very good quality one.You can buy special scotch tape made for amend leather.I don’t know this when my sofa torn. My sofa terribly torn cos my kids always jumping and climbing like monkeys.
[quote]need to make it not so gd quality so that u will go back buy again, boost economy
just like electronic applicances, if everything last for 10 yrs then the company can eat grass lor [/quote]yah I agree with you WCW. -
my sofa has been with me for 6 yrs, also in good condition esp for a slit at the side which i had "sealed" bk with tape.
my maid will clean it with wet cloth once in a while
but my SIL sofa never last more than a yr, i also do not know why
its was torn and skin peel
initially i thought her kids have been jumping on it alot but she said no
perhaps different type of leather? -
I think most leather sofa are actually made of synthetic leather and there are different grade of synthetic leather. My 1st leather sofa also started peeling off after 1 yr+. Bought my 2nd leather sofa and we looked for the type of leather that dun peel easily. The sale did mentioned that there is a type of leather that will peel. This 2nd leather sofa has already lasted for almost 2yrs & so far so good. :xedfingers:
smartmummy:
I have changed two sofas.Not very good quality one.You can buy special scotch tape made for amend leather.I don't know this when my sofa torn. My sofa terribly torn cos my kids always jumping and climbing like monkeys.
hi smartmummy,
where to buy the scotch tape for amend leather?
my 2 kids also jump on my leather sofa like monkeys till the stitching between the 2 pieces started to peel! I wana minimize the damage soonest possible but my sofa is white in color... the scotch tape is transparent type?
appreciate your reply!
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.