Post GE 2011 Discussion

1.3k Posts 85 Posters 254.8k Views 1 Watching

DesertWind:
      Further imagine my pastor told the congregation (which happen to include a few top businessman in SG): peg my pay to the top income earners in the congregation. Otherwise, nobody will listen to me....!

Whilst I don't believe church workers/pastors should be paid peanuts (literally), never in my dream have I imagine the pay should be peg to the top income earner attending the church.

Sorry OFF TOPIC!(pssst....I really need to detox....)
      we all need to detox from the GE and also need to de-piss .... with that kind of Dr around

[quote=\"Way2GO\"]Alamak, eureka!

By LWK's logic, now I understand why d garmen don't listen to d ppl.
        Coz most folks don't earn at least $1.57 mil /annum.

By d same logic, all political appointees' pay shd now be peg at $1 below d median of $2,500 / month.

LWK just declared that his remarks were made 'jokingly', and that he had been quoted out of context.

http://www.facebook.com/notes/theonlinecitizen/lim-wee-kiak-says-his-remarks-were-made-jokingly/10150193211853964?ref=mf

wow quickly U turn oredi :laugh:[/quote]
        got U-turn sign or not ? suka suka u-turn, wait kena sarman lagi.... or is he repenting now or wat ?

LWK just declared that his remarks were made 'jokingly', and that he had been quoted out of context.

http://www.facebook.com/notes/theonlinecitizen/lim-wee-kiak-says-his-remarks-were-made-jokingly/10150193211853964?ref=mf

so the MIW MPs are only capable of making \"jokingly\" remarks?

that means whatever they say have no credibility and cannot be trusted right?

so is the Gerard Ee committee also joking or not huh ?

Angelight

CCS has openly denied he is related to LKY; TPL has also openly declared that she has not been promoted at E&Y. I believe they would not come out and crush the rumours that have been spreading like wild fire on the Net if the rumours are true. Why would these pple want to spread such rumours? what are their motives? Do they feel any happier seeing pple’s lives disturbed by untrue rumours? I dun understand…what do they gain?

Btw, I’m not fans of the above 2 ‘victims’. I’m neutral. Just feel that such unkind rumours have gone overboard. Esp. for CCS who has asked Temasek Review not to spread such rumours as it’s an insult to his family, particularly his mother who has brought him up single handedly.

Angelight:
              CCS has openly denied he is related to LKY; TPL has also openly declared that she has not been promoted at E&Y. I believe they would not come out and crush the rumours that have been spreading like wild fire on the Net if the rumours are true. Why would these pple want to spread such rumours? what are their motives? Do they feel any happier seeing pple's lives disturbed by untrue rumours? I dun understand...what do they gain?

Btw, I'm not fans of the above 2 'victims'. I'm neutral. Just feel that such unkind rumours have gone overboard. Esp. for CCS who has asked Temasek Review not to spread such rumours as it's an insult to his family, particularly his mother who has brought him up single handedly.
              In my humble opinion, platforms for political discussion should promote an equal share of opinions. By pandering to only one side of the story, these platforms would be guilty of the same kind of media manipulation as they usually accuse the mainstream media of engaging in. Such polarisation is NOT the freedom of speech that Singaporeans seek. Supporters of the Opposition are now doing the same kind of character assassination as they accuse the incumbent party of engaging in the past elections. This does not bode well for Singapore politics, moving ahead.

SAHM_TAN

Angelight:

CCS has openly denied he is related to LKY; TPL has also openly declared that she has not been promoted at E&Y. I believe they would not come out and crush the rumours that have been spreading like wild fire on the Net if the rumours are true. Why would these pple want to spread such rumours? what are their motives? Do they feel any happier seeing pple's lives disturbed by untrue rumours? I dun understand...what do they gain?

Btw, I'm not fans of the above 2 'victims'. I'm neutral. Just feel that such unkind rumours have gone overboard. Esp. for CCS who has asked Temasek Review not to spread such rumours as it's an insult to his family, particularly his mother who has brought him up single handedly.

In my humble opinion, platforms for political discussion should promote an equal share of opinions. By pandering to only one side of the story, these platforms would be guilty of the same kind of media manipulation as they usually accuse the mainstream media of engaging in. Such polarisation is NOT the freedom of speech that Singaporeans seek. Supporters of the Opposition are now doing the same kind of character assassination as they accuse the incumbent party of engaging in the past elections. This does not bode well for Singapore politics, moving ahead.

It's a work -in-progress, maybe we will get it right 50 years later or maybe not.

concern2

[quote=\"concern2\"]

so the MIW MPs are only capable of making \"jokingly\" remarks?

that means whatever they say have no credibility and cannot be trusted right?

so is the Gerard Ee committee also joking or not huh ?[/quote]From my humble, of little dignity point of view, what the MP said was causing more damage to what PM was trying to salvage. He had to quickly find :?: so the easiest is to come up with something like what my boy would do when he makes his sister cry to avoid being punished, \"I just joking only what\". How wise of Mr. Goh to invite online discussion on all but the topic of minister's salary. Although it might have looked 'bad' like he's avoiding the topic, we can see now there are good reasons for keeping mum for the time-being!

but I don’t expect any one who has the ability to get elected as Member of Parliament to any how say things without processing it in the head

Funx3

but I don't expect any one who has the ability to get elected as Member of Parliament to any how say things without processing it in the head

Remember in the Days of the Old Guard ....
                      Those who say so will be Held Liable (Regardless of Joking or Not ....)
                      And in Serious Case ....
                      \"See U in Court!\"
                      :evil: :evil:

Way2GO

Ex PAP man Tan Cheng Bock is gearing to run for President in August.

He is not currently being endorsed as d garmen’s preferred candidate.
                        President Nathan was returned unopposed in d last 2 Presidential elections.
                        TCB was one of d more vocal and decent PAP MPs who spoke his mind in parliament till he stepped down in 2006.
                        Wat a difference one GE makes.
                        D political landscape is getting more interesting.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 121 / 133