Petition to Review the Singapore Education System

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Primary Schools - Academic Support
    791 Posts 95 Posters 197.4k Views 1 Watching

2ppaamm:

I also agree it is not a blaming session. However, back to my culture thingy. No matter how we put it, the educators tend to believe that if we propose alternatives, it is a reflection of their abilities. I have tried to say things in many different ways, using analogy, persuading, etc. At the end of the day, once you disagree, you are against them. I think our educators need to learn how to disagree, and learn that they can be wrong, too. At this point, I think their pride is too big. Again, this is not a blaming session. This is an inherent and culture problem that needs education.

Though there are one too many educators who fit into this culture you speak
      of.. there are also extraordinary ones who make the difference. :love:

From my experience, i've met a good handful. Not afraid to apologize when
      a mistake is made.. willing to brainstorm over a fix.. will go all out to fix
      something that was in a fix.. request for us to share our thoughts on
      plans moving forward or any issues if any.. :celebrate:

We (my family) enjoyed the rapport i've had with them immensely and it has
      made school going even happier for the girls as well. Perhaps another area to
      look into is how we can/should approach the matter at hand..

Like, :idea:... to request instead of demand..
      to ask; intead of tell.. to feedback instead of
      complain.. or to care to share instead of why
      doncha give.. kinda approach.

๐Ÿฆ†

Kindness begets kindness, no?

Cos teachers are overwhelmed these days it
      seems cos need to pao every other administrative
      stuff as well.. on top of having to give their all and
      beyond during teaching hours. The last thing they
      are looking for is another kiasu parent :rant: away
      incessantly after they are done for the day.. ๐Ÿ˜ž

Just an opinion hor. Dun flame me. :siam:

Not flaming you but I think you are lucky if you meet all the right people. Given 2ppaamm's background I am sure she is able to make her points soundly, rationally and as constructive feedback. I have seen it with my own eyes at some admin counters in the schools, the admin team can give you the face of \"you owe me a living\" look without even opening the mouth and meeting for the first time. To them, they think they are doing a gate-keeping job, but they are a total turn-off and misrepresenting the school. At some security posts, the security guards appear to be having PMS at some time of the months albeit they have known the parents for years like what 2ppaamm has experienced when she drove into her school. Generally I agree with you I have met people who will respond well to requests most of the time and those people are normal but there is a chain of strange behaviours in some schools whereby the entire operation team has the face where \"you owe me a living\" to parents. My friend was complaining to me and it upset her alot especially when she had done nothing to deserve that. I don't see the need why they have to do that even if they have had bad experiences with some \"black sheep\" parents. It's not right.

So kiasu parents there will be but it is not right to group all parents under that umbrella, that is the extreme you have not been exposed to albeit I agree there are black sheep among parents , buds. ๐Ÿ˜‰

• E Offline
        Edureach

Be realistic and moderate your expectations along the way. Whatever system that is up, you survive. Parents want to dsa to RI,HCI,NUS etc wish them well but for your kids, just ignore these noices. Be thankful for gep but if your kids are unable to partake, move on really nothing to lose. For those whose kids were sent for specialised training to gain advantage in the gep screening, you donโ€™t have to follow because is rather unwise.

At the end of the day, your kids may score 240, 250 or 260 just be happy and move on. No need to dream of 270, 280 or even 290. PSLE top scorers may not be amongst the tops in A-level, the latter is the exam you should pay attention as it is the mother of all exams, definitely not PSLE, which is relatively unimportant as your kids move up the academic journey. Most importantly, is kids enjoy the journey and continue the next phase of education with confidence and maturity. Even if kids are unable or unsuitable for jcs, just encourage them to excel in poly. Never never show great disappointment as kids are able to pick up the signals.

Wholeness is the most important element in a kidโ€™s life. Academic achievement is only a portion of it. At the end of the day, as long as your kids put in their best foot forward, thereโ€™s nothing to complain about.

Let not the actions of others deter your happiness. Only we as a family unit can determine our own destiny.

Oooh there are.. i have had a hand of :rant: at them and giving them

two hoots of my sleep deprived owl self. ๐Ÿ˜‰ My post was in noooo
          way in reference to my own demi-goddess-superwoman of course.. :dowan:
          Just in general cos i've met one too many bang table parents too..http://www.easyfreesmileys.com/facebook-smileys.html

So, yes.. I have been exposed but i suppose it may not amount to the
          extreme doses some parents may have experienced for themselves or
          that i only happen to look and hear the good stuff. ๐Ÿ˜„

• PiggyLalalaP Offline
            PiggyLalala

Edureach:
            Be realistic and moderate your expectations along the way. Whatever system that is up, you survive. Parents want to dsa to RI,HCI,NUS etc wish them well but for your kids, just ignore these noices. Be thankful for gep but if your kids are unable to partake, move on really nothing to lose. For those whose kids were sent for specialised training to gain advantage in the gep screening, you don't have to follow because is rather unwise.

At the end of the day, your kids may score 240, 250 or 260 just be happy and move on. No need to dream of 270, 280 or even 290. PSLE top scorers may not be amongst the tops in A-level, the latter is the exam you should pay attention as it is the mother of all exams, definitely not PSLE, which is relatively unimportant as your kids move up the academic journey. Most importantly, is kids enjoy the journey and continue the next phase of education with confidence and maturity. Even if kids are unable or unsuitable for jcs, just encourage them to excel in poly. Never never show great disappointment as kids are able to pick up the signals.

Wholeness is the most important element in a kid's life. Academic achievement is only a portion of it. At the end of the day, as long as your kids put in their best foot forward, there's nothing to complain about.

Let not the actions of others deter your happiness. Only we as a family unit can determine our own destiny.
            :goodpost:

Edureach:
              Be realistic and moderate your expectations along the way. Whatever system that is up, you survive. Parents want to dsa to RI,HCI,NUS etc wish them well but for your kids, just ignore these noices. Be thankful for gep but if your kids are unable to partake, move on really nothing to lose. For those whose kids were sent for specialised training to gain advantage in the gep screening, you don't have to follow because is rather unwise.

Wholeness is the most important element in a kid's life. Academic achievement is only a portion of it. At the end of the day, as long as your kids put in their best foot forward, there's nothing to complain about.

You talking about me.. :please:

๐Ÿ˜‰

Kudos Edureach.. :goodpost:

Edureach, at this rate PSLE is heading there are children who do not even get to โ€˜Aโ€™ levels, it is called โ€˜game overโ€™ for them after PSLE.

I see the petition concern is a valid one and I would like MOE to study the issue where the root issues are. We need to promote inclusion in our society instead of keep filtering people out. When parents shared their childrenโ€™s high score but could not hit max score, it is not necessary about kiasuism. If the unfairness is due to difference between tuition n no tuition, the system is wrong. If the difference is due to one can apply n one cannot apply what they hv learnt, then the noise is kiasuism. We cannot try to sum up everything with English words and draw a conclusion. Conduct a proper quantitative n qualitative study to draw the proper conclusion. While we like to hv balanced view in a discussion, it would not be fair to tell parents to be realistic, lower expectation n accept the system.

• PiggyLalalaP Offline
                  PiggyLalala

I do not think the situation is so bad. The PSLE paper usually only has a few challenging questions. It is still not so difficult to get an โ€˜Aโ€™ or โ€˜Bโ€™ grade in the PSLE. Students who got โ€˜Aโ€™ or โ€˜Bโ€™ grades for the most of the subjects can easily get into the Express stream in the sec sch.

• E Offline
                    Edureach

Edureach, at this rate PSLE is heading there are children who do not even get to 'A' levels, it is called 'game over' for them after PSLE.

I see the petition concern is a valid one and I would like MOE to study the issue where the root issues are. We need to promote inclusion in our society instead of keep filtering people out. When parents shared their children's high score but could not hit max score, it is not necessary about kiasuism. If the unfairness is due to difference between tuition n no tuition, the system is wrong. If the difference is due to one can apply n one cannot apply what they hv learnt, then the noise is kiasuism. We cannot try to sum up everything with English words and draw a conclusion. Conduct a proper quantitative n qualitative study to draw the proper conclusion. While we like to hv balanced view in a discussion, it would not be fair to tell parents to be realistic, lower expectation n accept the system.

Understand your point of view and i also not against the objective of this petition. However, the points which i have raised are to highlight the importance of familly support and working together with your kids in an enviroment whereby the well-to-do families are seen to have the advantages thru expensive tuitions.

What i have outlined earlier were what i had done for my two kids. I had ignored all these noises myself and it didn't bother my family at all whereby other kids had gone ahead because of tuition. The existing system is in place where one learns and progress according to his aptitude and hardwork. As mentioned earlier, even if a student failed to make it to jc, can always attend poly and who to stop these students from entering unis? One must not be too obessed with the top schools thinking that they are the most suitable vehicles to excel academically. So what my kids scored btw 250-260 and had to settle for the next best schools. My kids didn't loose anything and they can progress happily without all these hardcore tuitions. The best part is they are attending schools without undue stress because i shall accept whatever results they produce as long as they are determined to do their best. Realistic mah!

In any society, there exists a group with advantages since time memorial. As parents we recognise this but we can also choose to bring out the best from our kids with unconditional love and continue to motivate them. Their academic progress is totally independent of our love and understanding.

Is up to each family how to raise their kids. For me, i shall embrace any system that is up and continues to ignore all the background noises.

You too have a choice!

I see the petition concern is a valid one and I would like MOE to study the issue where the root issues are. We need to promote inclusion in our society instead of keep filtering people out.

Inclusion. Yes. :hi5:

If seen in another perspective, inclusion can also mean to include every child
                      and not filter out those who under-performs or who don't perform which cud
                      be due to a variety of reasons. To accept every child with what they can if it
                      had been their best-est of efforts. Not being academically inclined not
                      necessarily goes to say they wud be failures in life.
                      When parents shared their children's high score but could not hit max score, it is not necessary about kiasuism.
                      Really? It isn't? :scratchhead:

๐Ÿฆ†

If the unfairness is due to difference between tuition n no tuition, the system is wrong. If the difference is due to one can apply n one cannot apply what they hv learnt, then the noise is kiasuism.
                      Catch no ball here :skeptical:.
                      We cannot try to sum up everything with English words and draw a conclusion.
                      Agree.. :salute:
                      Conduct a proper quantitative n qualitative study to draw the proper conclusion.
                      Agree.. if time permits, i might see something by the time chubs due for PSLE.
                      Or perhaps no PSLE by then.. :rubhands:
                      While we like to hv balanced view in a discussion, it would not be fair to tell parents to be realistic, lower expectation n accept the system.
                      Yes WE LIKE! :celebrate: And i definitely appreciate his sharings. ๐Ÿ˜„

Likewise too, it wud not be fair either to tell parents to be unrealistic.
                      To push boundaries where their child just cannot go. I have seen it for
                      myself.. and the children truly suffer. Wud not be fair to keep having high
                      expectations when the child is suffering thru' foundation aspects as it is.. and
                      not to accept the system? But then again, how not to? :scratchhead: This part
                      of the discussion will see no end IMO but i would love to read other balanced
                      sharings for sure. I try not to put down perspectives of others even though i
                      have my own in check. It is just nice to hear from all layers of community..
                      that's all. :grphug:

I am one who does not have low expectations. I have no expectations.
                      DDs try to work with the system or around the system.. :evil: and so i
                      support them by trying to understand the system myself and root for
                      them up to where they can... whilst observing how collective thinking
                      can indeed help generate change to what is seen as the race.. hence i
                      am still reading on to hear as many voices if not all voices from the
                      ground and consider if i really am gonna sign on that dotted line of
                      the petition. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Not that i don't think it is a good initiative.. a start.. but it's just that
                      i do think the system has tweaked a bit cos the ministry did hear us
                      about the initial cry about the stress that at P1 and 2s they hafta sit
                      for CA1, CA2, SA1, SA2 and all the mthly topical tests.. so they chucked
                      exams, put in place a supposedly more holistic learning environment thru
                      teach less learn more.. parents still unhappy.. So, how many times is changing
                      a system healthy in this case.. cos we'd then be having to adapt to yet
                      another system which we may not necessarily know will work.

In the industry that requires the human touch, it is the individual that makes
                      the difference... it is that many people that'd make the team.. the combined
                      effort. So as how to make it work for now, is to at least allow for some hovering
                      from say Principals or perhaps even education officers to monitor how the
                      current system in place is running and if it's not running, why and troubleshoot
                      the areas and the people involved. :evil:

Going back to the thread topic, as for the bell curves come PSLE grading,
                      i just wish that they would just state an A for an A. Chuck T-score.

As for testing of questions out of the syllabus, the school(s) have informed
                      parents that there will be questions (a handful like 3 - 5) in exam papers tt
                      are meant for streaming creme of the crop, yes.. and so far in our case, they
                      are in the syllabus.. still within what's covered & it is intentionally set to
                      challenge eyes and minds, yes.. but that's about it. But then again, my
                      observations are based only on humble neighbourhood schools only.:oops:

Perhaps i'm just a simpleton & try to live life within means and for my children
                      to work to their max potential and abilities. If they can soar ... well go fly as
                      far as they can, if not we can still fly kite here.. with whatever kites that are
                      still available for us.

With this post, i will no longer partake in discussions here. I've never truly
                      believed that any one system can fix or fit all. There isn't one that can (yet)
                      please all.. Would like to :salute: Chenonceau for having the courage to put
                      this up and applaud her efforts thus far.I will still be your silent reader
                      wherever you write. :please:

Pls forgive the :offtopic: posts. :oops:

PS : Psst.. Chenonceau... the Finland styled-education IS available but here,
                      it is so far only available for preschool level... such warm and open methods
                      are practiced in a Montessori classroom. :love:

• PiggyLalalaP Offline
                        PiggyLalala

I see the petition concern is a valid one and I would like MOE to study the issue where the root issues are. We need to promote inclusion in our society instead of keep filtering people out.

Inclusion. Yes. :hi5:

If seen in another perspective, inclusion can also mean to include every child
                        and not filter out those who under-performs or who don't perform which cud
                        be due to a variety of reasons. To accept every child with what they can if it
                        had been their best-est of efforts. Not being academically inclined not
                        necessarily goes to say they wud be failures in life.
                        When parents shared their children's high score but could not hit max score, it is not necessary about kiasuism.
                        Really? It isn't? :scratchhead:

๐Ÿฆ†

If the unfairness is due to difference between tuition n no tuition, the system is wrong. If the difference is due to one can apply n one cannot apply what they hv learnt, then the noise is kiasuism.
                        Catch no ball here :skeptical:.
                        We cannot try to sum up everything with English words and draw a conclusion.
                        Agree.. :salute:
                        Conduct a proper quantitative n qualitative study to draw the proper conclusion.
                        Agree.. if time permits, i might see something by the time chubs due for PSLE.
                        Or perhaps no PSLE by then.. :rubhands:
                        While we like to hv balanced view in a discussion, it would not be fair to tell parents to be realistic, lower expectation n accept the system.
                        Yes WE LIKE! :celebrate: And i definitely appreciate his sharings. ๐Ÿ˜„

Likewise too, it wud not be fair either to tell parents to be unrealistic.
                        To push boundaries where their child just cannot go. I have seen it for
                        myself.. and the children truly suffer. Wud not be fair to keep having high
                        expectations when the child is suffering thru' foundation aspects as it is.. and
                        not to accept the system? But then again, how not to? :scratchhead: This part
                        of the discussion will see no end IMO but i would love to read other balanced
                        sharings for sure. I try not to put down perspectives of others even though i
                        have my own in check. It is just nice to hear from all layers of community..
                        that's all. :grphug:

I am one who does not have low expectations. I have no expectations.
                        DDs try to work with the system or around the system.. :evil: and so i
                        support them by trying to understand the system myself and root for
                        them up to where they can... whilst observing how collective thinking
                        can indeed help generate change to what is seen as the race.. hence i
                        am still reading on to hear as many voices if not all voices from the
                        ground and consider if i really am gonna sign on that dotted line of
                        the petition. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Not that i don't think it is a good initiative.. a start.. but it's just that
                        i do think the system has tweaked a bit cos the ministry did hear us
                        about the initial cry about the stress that at P1 and 2s they hafta sit
                        for CA1, CA2, SA1, SA2 and all the mthly topical tests.. so they chucked
                        exams, put in place a supposedly more holistic learning environment thru
                        teach less learn more.. parents still unhappy.. So, how many times is changing
                        a system healthy in this case.. cos we'd then be having to adapt to yet
                        another system which we may not necessarily know will work.

In the industry that requires the human touch, it is the individual that makes
                        the difference... it is that many people that'd make the team.. the combined
                        effort. So as how to make it work for now, is to at least allow for some hovering
                        from say Principals or perhaps even education officers to monitor how the
                        current system in place is running and if it's not running, why and troubleshoot
                        the areas and the people involved. :evil:

Going back to the thread topic, as for the bell curves come PSLE grading,
                        i just wish that they would just state an A for an A. Chuck T-score.

As for testing of questions out of the syllabus, the school(s) have informed
                        parents that there will be questions (a handful like 3 - 5) in exam papers tt
                        are meant for streaming creme of the crop, yes.. and so far in our case, they
                        are in the syllabus.. still within what's covered & it is intentionally set to
                        challenge eyes and minds, yes.. but that's about it. But then again, my
                        observations are based only on humble neighbourhood schools only.:oops:

Perhaps i'm just a simpleton & try to live life within means and for my children
                        to work to their max potential and abilities. If they can soar ... well go fly as
                        far as they can, if not we can still fly kite here.. with whatever kites that are
                        still available for us.

:goodpost:

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

With your input, this post could be even better ๐Ÿ’—

• 58 / 80