Catholic High (Primary)

1.9k Posts 150 Posters 671.8k Views 3 Watching
      chschs

meiah:
      My ds2 P3 now received his letter for basketball in P1. According to him, the whole class had to go for trials and in the end only 3 were given the letter. After which, during CCA from then till now, they have been eliminating members. He is still in basketball.

He also received Aesthetics letter later on, I think last year. My ds 1 ever received wushu letter in P3. But we did not accept.
      Yes, even at P1s they \"kicked\" out members. It is sad CCAs have to be this way esp for Primary students.

Do any parents have kids taking Table Tennis or Tennis at CHS? Would like to find out more.

Thanks!

• phankaoP Offline
        phankao

chschs:

I think they started this \"intense marketing\" of CCAs in P1 only recently. During my boys' time, they only went round asking if any boys wanted to join such-and-such CCAs. Mine's sec 2(no longer in cath high), and P6.

Unlike your boy, ours went to ask the teachers-in-charge to join their CCAs at the end of p1 and thus developed their musical journey that way.

But if you are talking about schools only picking WHO they want and not the other way around... yeah, welcome to the real world of school CCA these days. Many years ago, I realised that already, but it wasn't even as intense as going down to the P1 level as it is now. I think the Aesthetic CCAs are really lacking in volunteering members. ;D

hi, thanks for the info. It is not due to lacking in \"volunteer\". During Orientation, the Aesthetic CCAs performed in front of the parents and our kids. I was impressed. I even asked my ds about that particular Aesthetic CCA (the one that he was eventually selected due to his \"talents\") but he said he was not interested. When he got his invitation form, I told him ... \"Remember what we saw during Orientation?\" and kept checking with him a few times over the next few days before the deadline but he gave a firm \"No\".

But there were parents who selected that Aesthetics CCA and have been attending it since Term 1 (only sports CCAs start at Term 3) ... at least 2 boys got \"kicked out\". I am sure there are more who got kicked out as I did not ask around the class or cohort.

So it's really about \"talents\" ... not \"interests\". But even then, how would they know if P1 kids are \"talented\" or not if they are only given 1 choice (e.g., a boy could do equally well in Aesthetics and 2 or 3 sports) but if he is only given 1 choice ... how to find out?

I know about the Orientation bc I was there watching my son perform in the CO.

meiah

chschs:

So it's really about \"talents\" ... not \"interests\". But even then, how would they know if P1 kids are \"talented\" or not if they are only given 1 choice (e.g., a boy could do equally well in Aesthetics and 2 or 3 sports) but if he is only given 1 choice ... how to find out?

Go bug the cca teacher! My ds 1 went after his form teacher, strings teacher in p2. Joined the cello when in p3. After syf, he bug again to change to violin, end up in section 2. Then bug again, finally in section 1. And stayed there for 2 years to p6. Now he is in the music elective in sec sch.

• phankaoP Offline
            phankao

meiah:
            chschs:

[quote=\"phankao\"]

Go bug the cca teacher! My ds 1 went after his form teacher, strings teacher in p2. Joined the cello when in p3. After syf, he bug again to change to violin, end up in section 2. Then bug again, finally in section 1. And stayed there for 2 years to p6. Now he is in the music elective in sec sch.[/quote]Too bad they don't have Strings in Sec, huh? Can bug the Principal more or not? Last time I used to bug him, but still \"no go\". ;( Anyway, it really doesn't concern me now, since my boy not in CHS sec - but yours is. Would give way more performing opportunities.

How is the MEP in CHS sec? Have alot of chance to perform or not? My boy has lunchtime recitals, including ensemble performances and external recitals and concerts plus exam recitals of course. He really enjoys the ensemble performances.

meiah

Too bad they don't have Strings in Sec, huh? Can bug the Principal more or not? Last time I used to bug him, but still \"no go\". ;( Anyway, it really doesn't concern me now, since my boy not in CHS sec - but yours is. Would give way more performing opportunities.

How is the MEP in CHS sec? Have alot of chance to perform or not? My boy has lunchtime recitals, including ensemble performances and external recitals and concerts plus exam recitals of course. He really enjoys the ensemble performances.

Haiz... think bug also no use. At this age, very difficult to get volunteer members. Then if need training for new players also very hard since they would need to build up the skills foundation. My ds in the end go join the sympony band, after that he say regret, should go join choir because only need to open mouth and sing! Then can gain SYF experience this year!

So far mep like not very exciting. Didn't really hear anything from music for their breaks. Performance also like nil. He went to SOTA once for be kpo usher as the school had some groups performing there. Syllabus wise, I think more application on the theory side. Not just the music theory type but also like culture, world music, history,...

• phankaoP Offline
                phankao

meiah:

Too bad they don't have Strings in Sec, huh? Can bug the Principal more or not? Last time I used to bug him, but still \"no go\". ;( Anyway, it really doesn't concern me now, since my boy not in CHS sec - but yours is. Would give way more performing opportunities.

Haiz... think bug also no use. At this age, very difficult to get volunteer members. Then if need training for new players also very hard since they would need to build up the skills foundation. My ds in the end go join the sympony band, after that he say regret, should go join choir because only need to open mouth and sing! Then can gain SYF experience this year!

So far mep like not very exciting. Didn't really hear anything from music for their breaks. Performance also like nil. He went to SOTA once for be kpo usher as the school had some groups performing there. Syllabus wise, I think more application on the theory side. Not just the music theory type but also like culture, world music, history,...

My son was in band as well as strings in pri, so he steered *far away* from band. Hehe.

Yes, MEP has aural tests too (more difficult than ABRSM practical exams!), and composing, and yeah, the theory.

But also have performing. There shd be mid-yr and year-end exams? Recitals usually comprise of a 10min performance programme for each student, so they can perform as many pieces as can make up that 10mins or something like that (according to some criteria also, lah, eg. 1 of the pieces must be 20th century). And as part of the exam recital programme, they also either have to present a 2nd instrument as well, OR an ensemble piece. For my son with no 2nd instrument, he and friends or seniors get together to present ensemble pieces. So if for instance it is a 2 violin and 1 piano piece like Bach Double Concerto ... they'd need to all play it 2 or 3 times for other's exam recital programme as well. haha. Or Vivaldi's 4-violin concerto, where they have to play 3 to 5 times (depending on whether ALL ensemble players want to use that piece for their exam). Quite exciting, I must say. I attended one of the afternoons of the recital exams last year as audience is allowed.

meiah

My son was in band as well as strings in pri, so he steered *far away* from band. Hehe.

Yes, MEP has aural tests too (more difficult than ABRSM practical exams!), and composing, and yeah, the theory.

But also have performing. There shd be mid-yr and year-end exams? Recitals usually comprise of a 10min performance programme for each student, so they can perform as many pieces as can make up that 10mins or something like that (according to some criteria also, lah, eg. 1 of the pieces must be 20th century). And as part of the exam recital programme, they also either have to present a 2nd instrument as well, OR an ensemble piece. For my son with no 2nd instrument, he and friends or seniors get together to present ensemble pieces. So if for instance it is a 2 violin and 1 piano piece like Bach Double Concerto ... they'd need to all play it 2 or 3 times for other's exam recital programme as well. haha. Or Vivaldi's 4-violin concerto, where they have to play 3 to 5 times (depending on whether ALL ensemble players want to use that piece for their exam). Quite exciting, I must say. I attended one of the afternoons of the recital exams last year as audience is allowed.
                  The band give him headache nia. first made him test all the wind instrument, say he play flute very good, then assigned him tuba, and then no instrument to practice and then somehow become drum!

Mid-yr got paper and pen exam. Recital he like never mention much leh. Once he did take his violin to sch, say must play in class. Other than that, nothing. Maybe year end.

Haha, if he has to play in a quartet or ensemble. I think he will vomit blood while practising. Already he had some problems getting his gang to be serious in project work!

• phankaoP Offline
                    phankao

meiah:

Haha, if he has to play in a quartet or ensemble. I think he will vomit blood while practising. Already he had some problems getting his gang to be serious in project work!
                    LOL - but all in the game together wat. If need to do, means need to do, right? My boy has so far played together with not only his own year-mates, but also with Sec 2, Sec 3, Sec 4 seniors, as well as JC1 seniors.

meiah

LOL - but all in the game together wat. If need to do, means need to do, right? My boy has so far played together with not only his own year-mates, but also with Sec 2, Sec 3, Sec 4 seniors, as well as JC1 seniors.
                      Need to do ... ๐Ÿ˜“ Then fail misreably! :imdrowning:

Mep I think he is guinea pig batch. first time sch is offering this. Seniors may have options taking higher music but I think for the programme wise, my ds is on the petri dish!

Glad to know that your boy is enjoying himself there at njc. Mine is enjoying the antics of class clowns!!! :lol:

JonC

http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?p=434804#p434804

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

With your input, this post could be even better ๐Ÿ’—

• 69 / 192