English Assessment Books

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Primary Schools - Academic Support
    1.4k Posts 117 Posters 654.9k Views 1 Watching
      smartmummy

Hubby better not open the cupboard storing all the assessment books, sure to faint. :faint: One shelf full of son's textbooks from P1 as well as compo guide books plus other reference books. Then 2nd shelf is for his P6 assessment books. My 'collection' is growing.

You make me :lol:

smartmummy

I've printed out all the passages in past year papers which were extracted from Readers Digest and Straits Times. Yet to come across an assessment which is good for comprehension.

Hi Janet,
        I went for DD1's PTM this morning and get to speak with her FT/EL T. He also suggested that I start to subscribe Readers Digest for DD1 to read :roll: ..For The Straits Times let her flip through it everyday to pick up articles to read but :censored: those that are not appropriate for their age 😉

He also asked and which type of books DD1 is reading so he suggested that my DD1 circled those words/phrases she does not understand. After finishing reading the whole book, go back to those circled word, checked it out from the dictionary and copied the meaning into a note book. He even asked mummy (that's me) to counter-check the note book and reward her for every 50 new words learnt :imcool: :rahrah: ....Haha, now I understand what people always meant \"teacher-parent collaboration\" :hi5:

Last suggestion (and actually I asked his opinion) he said was to download those past year school exam papers but allow the child to practice only the OE compre since this is always the killing part also my DD1's weakest area (4/10) 😢 😓

Guess this June very busy to buck-up lioa :imcool:

Hi Champion!
        Today I met ICR teacher, she also suggest like that.But sadly I didn't meet EL teacher in the school cos he is not the form teacher.Form T said they (E and S) will call.I haven't yet a call from them.:(

My son reads a lot of story books,but his spelling mistakes and illegible hand writing killing me!
        concern_parent

chasingjelly

Hello,

It's me disturbing you all again :oops: 😉

I run thru with DD1 her English Paper 2 this afternoon on the comprehension part and at the bottom of the passage saw this \"IMPORTANT FINDING\" :yikes: -
          \"Adapted from Reading Comprehension Workbook 4, \"Super Duper Lance\". Surf the net and found this:

http://www.amazon.com/Scholastic-Success-Reading-Comprehension-Workbook/dp/0439444926 http://i51.tinypic.com/15moher.jpg\">

Have anyone came across this book? Or anyone can advise me where I can get hold this book in Singapore? If not, then I will order direct from Amazon.

:thankyou: very much!
          I've seen this in Borders.

Champion

chasingjelly:

Hello,

It's me disturbing you all again :oops: 😉

I run thru with DD1 her English Paper 2 this afternoon on the comprehension part and at the bottom of the passage saw this \"IMPORTANT FINDING\" :yikes: -
            \"Adapted from Reading Comprehension Workbook 4, \"Super Duper Lance\". Surf the net and found this:

http://www.amazon.com/Scholastic-Success-Reading-Comprehension-Workbook/dp/0439444926 http://i51.tinypic.com/15moher.jpg\">

Have anyone came across this book? Or anyone can advise me where I can get hold this book in Singapore? If not, then I will order direct from Amazon.

:thankyou: very much!

I've seen this in Borders.

Hi chasingjelly,
            Thank you very very much for your info; I will make a call to Borders to inquire later. :hugs:

That book looks interesting. Thanks for uploading the pic, Champion.

Will find a chance to go Borders to take a look.

Wanted to go Popular Expo yesterday…can’t believe the terrible queue of cars waiting to go into carpark…in the end, we went to T3 instead.

concern_parent:

Hubby better not open the cupboard storing all the assessment books, sure to faint. :faint: One shelf full of son's textbooks from P1 as well as compo guide books plus other reference books. Then 2nd shelf is for his P6 assessment books. My 'collection' is growing.

You make me :lol:

Yes, my assessment books in the cupboard like my private purchases...except they are not handbags, shoes or clothes, but ASSESSMENT BOOKS. I'm :siao:

Champion

Hi All,
                  I called up Borders Wheelock Place and Marine Parade yesterday - both replied they do not have this book in store 😢 ...

Have E-mailed and troubled a dear friend in the USA to try getting the book for me :hugs: .

Brenda10

Hi All,
                    I called up Borders Wheelock Place and Marine Parade yesterday - both replied they do not have this book in store 😢 ...

Have E-mailed and troubled a dear friend in the USA to try getting the book for me :hugs: .

Hi Champion

:salute: , you've really very persistence. Let's wish that you can get it a.s.a.p.

I had bought similar book that publishing by Learners Publishing on P4, P5 and P6 level for dd to read too. Now :siao: cannot find the P4 version. Don't know where is it as we have too many books all over lah.

Champion

Brenda10:

Hi Champion

:salute: , you've really very persistence. Let's wish that you can get it a.s.a.p.

I had bought similar book that publishing by Learners Publishing on P4, P5 and P6 level for dd to read too. Now :siao: cannot find the P4 version. Don't know where is it as we have too many books all over lah.
                      Hi Brenda,
                      Good Morning to you! :hi5:

I try my very best to get hold of book if I know the teacher is using 😉 ...Hope to coach DD1 as much as I can and hope she can improve and get better grade in the CA2 or/and SA2 :lol:.
                      FT has gently \"hinted\" that she is at risk for SA1 EL (74.8 so is Low Band 2) 😓 😓

Yes, I also Bought the Learners Publisher - think is the blue & green or yellow (very forgetful nowadays) to help brush up her grammar skills. But alas, pressing for time leh :stompfeet: - as a working mummy, I only have night times & weekends to revise with her so most time she has to rely on her own to do the assessment books 🤷

Brenda10

Hi Brenda,

Good Morning to you! :hi5:

I try my very best to get hold of book if I know the teacher is using 😉 ...Hope to coach DD1 as much as I can and hope she can improve and get better grade in the CA2 or/and SA2 :lol:.
                        FT has gently \"hinted\" that she is at risk for SA1 EL (74.8 so is Low Band 2) 😓 😓

Yes, I also Bought the Learners Publisher - think is the blue & green or yellow (very forgetful nowadays) to help brush up her grammar skills. But alas, pressing for time leh :stompfeet: - as a working mummy, I only have night times & weekends to revise with her so most time she has to rely on her own to do the assessment books 🤷
                        Hi champion

Can understand your feeling as I do experience that when dd teacher comments something related to her grade.

Hardwork payoff ! All the best! :celebrate:

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 30 / 137