Petition to Review the Singapore Education System
Hi
Sorry, I do not hv the time to read all thru yet. I just can’t wait to hv my said. Somehow I agree the Singapore Education System need to be reviewed or improved.
Understand some parents mentioned that kiasu parents are at fault. I would say partially is the education system is the main caused of it. Why I say that, I understand from one of my friend that her son failed his maths scoring 10 1/2 upon 100 in P3, she’s not very ks type but of course, she started to worry now. She began giving her son tuition classes (english and maths). And this example showed that is the education system that forces her to be KS. And mind you, the school is just an neighbourhood school, not those elite school.
Kiasu is contagious. There are some that are still not KS yet, but it will become more and more. So I find a change is needed before everybody’s becoming KS.
My DH just dun understand why instead of "go school to learn", it becomes "learn to go school". Hee hee. Of course some oredi KS like myself. I’m KS as I find it is important to learn at young, just hope tat it comes easy and less stressful during their school life. But now seems like my kiasu mindset needs to carry on in his Primary school life, an average child will not be able to catch up. It’s a lose lose situation for the poor, medium class, uneducated and also those tat are not KS, unless the child is really gifted and motivated.
I would say if you can’t beat it, you just join it, if you can’t join it, you will just lose it. Tat’s simple. Of course, there’s never be fairness.
Pardon my Ang Mo. I’m not so well educated, very worried writing initially. The above just my view. -
GSK:
I would say if you can't beat it, you just join it, if you can't join it, you will just lose it. Tat's simple.
Well said... for someone with bad ang moh. -
It’s time for the new MP of eductation to look into this issue. The ex one must be sleeping throughout the past few years…
chubby08:
It's time for the new MP of eductation to look into this issue. The ex one must be sleeping throughout the past few years...
The former education minister has been asked to go to defence...pardon me for saying this...hope he doesn't screw up that ministry. He hasn't done anything to improve his former portfolio :stompfeet:
My son actually wanted to continue with his English enrichment as he fears for the subject...passing narrowly for SA1. But I cannot afford to let him do so bcos he just started 1-to-1 Math. -
I hope the new minister is actually listening and hearing the feedback instead of just wayang to "engage the people" like they did with the mother tongue weighting and at the end after stakeholders make lots of noise, back to same old same old, parents not really heard. And if changes need to be made, they have to be substance not form like the teach less learn more approach.
Post GE, there is a lot of talk about listening to the people, engaging them and then transforming the system etc etc like the National Development, transport, mcys etc have been very very visible in engaging people. Hopefully, all these are not for show at the end of the day. -
ironically, I am scared that they make changes…though is stressful now, at least we as a parent, we know how/what to prepare our kids for the exam…But if they change…I might ‘catch no ball’…that is what happen to my p3 dd…I don’t know how to prepare her for science exam as they practise ‘learn more,teach less’…and I don’t know what have they learn!..
So is the system that make the kids stress, or the desire for our kids to perform well in exams so that they can get into good school that make our kids and us stress?..I wouldn’t want to put all the blame to the system as I believe other countries kids also facing the similar education stress…as it is no longer like our time. As long as we pass the school exam, our parents would be happy… -
In some of the posts, parents complain that teachers never teach at all, or can’t finish the syllabus etc. I think it’s not fair to make such statements. There are very dedicated teachers , there are also some bad teachers. But on the whole, teachers are so tied down with so many prog organised. Some teachers have to miss lessons to attend to such activities such as hosting foreign students, visitors and many more. These are the demands of the principals, please don’t blame the poor over-worked teachers. I just talked to a current P1 teacher, who told about the reports she had to make for each student, for each assignment. This is just one example of the many unnecessary tasks a sch teacher has to do. For this petition, I think the welfare of teachers should also be taken into account.
My friends were saying all the best to all the army guyschubby08:
It's time for the new MP of eductation to look into this issue. The ex one must be sleeping throughout the past few years...
The former education minister has been asked to go to defence...pardon me for saying this...hope he doesn't screw up that ministry. He hasn't done anything to improve his former portfolio :stompfeet:
My son actually wanted to continue with his English enrichment as he fears for the subject...passing narrowly for SA1. But I cannot afford to let him do so bcos he just started 1-to-1 Math.
sall:
In some of the posts, parents complain that teachers never teach at all, or can't finish the syllabus etc. I think it's not fair to make such statements. There are very dedicated teachers , there are also some bad teachers. But on the whole, teachers are so tied down with so many prog organised. Some teachers have to miss lessons to attend to such activities such as hosting foreign students, visitors and many more. These are the demands of the principals, please don't blame the poor over-worked teachers. I just talked to a current P1 teacher, who told about the reports she had to make for each student, for each assignment. This is just one example of the many unnecessary tasks a sch teacher has to do. For this petition, I think the welfare of teachers should also be taken into account.
Yes, I also agree that there are some very dedicated teachers who do a lot of extra stuff to help the kids. Unfortunately, what they do may not be measurable and have gone unnoticed by their supervisors. I hope more parents can write in to the schools to commend on good teachers so that their supervisors are aware and hopefully reward them duly. -
sall:
In some of the posts, parents complain that teachers never teach at all, or can't finish the syllabus etc. I think it's not fair to make such statements. There are very dedicated teachers , there are also some bad teachers. But on the whole, teachers are so tied down with so many prog organised. Some teachers have to miss lessons to attend to such activities such as hosting foreign students, visitors and many more. These are the demands of the principals, please don't blame the poor over-worked teachers. I just talked to a current P1 teacher, who told about the reports she had to make for each student, for each assignment. This is just one example of the many unnecessary tasks a sch teacher has to do. For this petition, I think the welfare of teachers should also be taken into account.
I've been watching this thread. I think there is enough awareness that teachers cannot cope... and there has not been undue teacher bashing, at least not in this thread. The petition is not about bad teachers. The petition wants a system review from which teachers also benefit. I re-read this thread quickly and saw little teacher bashing.
It is clear that teachers are helpless against the system. Right now, there are many unhappy teachers too... some of whom have asked for change.
Parents may have stated that teachers don't teach everything and can't cover the syllabus. These are just statements of factual experience. They, in fact, don't cover everything tested in exams. This can be due to bad teachers or an over-extended syllabus. The general agreement is that it is an over-extended syllabus which Teachers cannot cope with, even if dedicated.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.