In-law problems?

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Relationships
    5.3k Posts 331 Posters 1.4m Views 1 Watching

The present batch of MILs are mostly in their 70s…most of them uneducated. I don’t think they had an easy time with THEIR MILs. But ironically, these MILs do not give us daughters-in-law an easy time now…just like in the army. Those corporals who kena sh!@ in the past will tekan those under them.

I personally feel that MILs should not meddle in their sons’ lives once they are married. How about being seen, not heard ?
      Don’t they want their sons to be happy with wives ? Or they want their sons to be sandwiched between them and wives ???

sall

MILs are mostly the same, they want the son to get married, have grandsons and then continue to meddle and cling on to the son. Some dh are super-filial and blindly devoted to his mummy. Then the poor wife really suffers.

MIL SHOULD BE SEEN AND NOT BE HEARD. That’s really true!

poppy15

i think most mils think that they hv been thru thick & thin with their sons for like 25 or 30 years, they thought they can still continue to \"hold\" on....

haiz... then its always the dils who suffer.

its always this same phrase: i know my son better than u do :faint:

sall:
            MILs are mostly the same, they want the son to get married, have grandsons and then continue to meddle and cling on to the son. Some dh are super-filial and blindly devoted to his mummy. Then the poor wife really suffers.

MIL SHOULD BE SEEN AND NOT BE HEARD. That's really true!
            MILs want grandsons to continue the family line...then want to continue to cling on to their sons. Married sons should be filial but bear in mind they are married and should be devoted to their other halves.

Some MILs look fierce...seeing them is already quite jelak, but please let them not be heard.

BeContented

Just now, I had to run some errands but MIL wanted me to come home & be on standby to drive her to somewhere, so I made noise to DH. Seemingly, DH asked the other siblings to help and end up, siblings helped by pushing to tomorrow, but still, WE are the one doing it.

Issue is, tomorrow I have already setup a dinner plan with my DH and 2 kids but yet to tell MIL. Just overheard MIL telling agent she will be getting DH to drive her over & help settle her stuff after he comes home from work ie. my dinner plan will be affected.

I shall observe......there's 2 siblings and both are just 5-10 mins drive away and any can help MIL, not just DH. When the fav says not free, he gets away scott-free, the rest esp. DH will kena. Shall see if DH gives in or stand firm (he knows very well if he cancels..... :stompfeet: :mad: )

Honestly, ever since I have this 隔岸观火, 事不关己 attitude, realized my BP not as bad as before :evil: seems fun leh 😉

sall

Hi cwc, hope your dinner plan will not be disrupted. A lot of dh will just drop everything to cater to his mum’s demand.

Btw, what does BP stand for?

sall:
                  Hi cwc, hope your dinner plan will not be disrupted. A lot of dh will just drop everything to cater to his mum's demand.

Btw, what does BP stand for?
                  I think BP stands for blood pressure.
                  Hey cwc, I hope your dinner plan won't be spoilt by your MIL. If it happens to me, my dinner plans will definitely be ruined...bcos those siblings of my hubby will tell her point blank they are not free even if staying nearby. The youngest son and worst brat of all is the one most capable of giving excuses and things must be to his advantage.

poppy15

cwc:
                    Just now, I had to run some errands but MIL wanted me to come home & be on standby to drive her to somewhere, so I made noise to DH. Seemingly, DH asked the other siblings to help and end up, siblings helped by pushing to tomorrow, but still, WE are the one doing it.

Issue is, tomorrow I have already setup a dinner plan with my DH and 2 kids but yet to tell MIL. Just overheard MIL telling agent she will be getting DH to drive her over & help settle her stuff after he comes home from work ie. my dinner plan will be affected.

I shall observe......there's 2 siblings and both are just 5-10 mins drive away and any can help MIL, not just DH. When the fav says not free, he gets away scott-free, the rest esp. DH will kena. Shall see if DH gives in or stand firm (he knows very well if he cancels..... :stompfeet: :mad: )

Honestly, ever since I have this 隔岸观火, 事不关己 attitude, realized my BP not as bad as before :evil: seems fun leh 😉
                    eh, chim wor,
                    what does this chinese idiom mean :scratchhead:
                    meaning to see from far & not get involved :?

BlueBells

CWC,

If I were you, I probably won’t give in. If DH can’t make it, be it, but prepared to foot ALL the bills for my outing loh.

But then, in my case I am one up because (wives take note), I have the car registered in my name, so technically, it is MY CAR. You want to take your mum, by all means but please go take cab. Owner has priority …

auntieM

Hi cwc,

I will not give in to MIL too… …I will book a taxi for her…

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 290 / 529

kj23K
                        kj23