All About Church/Clan/Society Membership

1.9k Posts 321 Posters 880.2k Views 1 Watching
      hquek

hi yen73,

btw, donation to the clan won’t help any bit. and if you’ve read their financial statements, the clan is extremely loaded. 😛

• Y Offline
        yen73

Hi all,

Thank you for your prompt responses! looks like the chances of getting the recommendation letter is very slim 😞 sigh.. never know that is so tough and it seems to get tougher each year !

hi Hquek, may i know where is your son studying now ?

cheers

hquek

hi yen73,

pm you liao - although it’s no secret becos I’m there in the parents networking thread.

• Y Offline
            yen73

Dear all,

Thank you so much for replying to my queries… May i know out of all the SHHK primary schools (excluding Ai Tong and Tao Nan), which is less popular and if i could have chance if i am not able to clock more than 20 hours? Thanks a lot

Cheers,

larkspur

Yen 73,

you will have a better chance for chongfu cos i understand dun really need to even volunteer. Nan chiau another one but now the balloting at phrase 2b is for 1-2 km and every year more and more people going for nan chiau as there are more and more new flats within 1km of the school. Really depend on ur luck .last year i heard from some mummies no need to do volunteer still have letters to nan chiau. This year a lot of mummies going for nan chiau and i am taking no chance so i did a lot of volunteer works to secure my chance of waiting for my recommendation letter

larkspur

Yen73,

actually you should try to find out from huay kuan about the doubts and check with other mummies doing the volunteer in the recent year especially late last year. so much has changed in huay kuan requirements cos in the past, there weren’t many people who know to go through the huay kuan way but now it becomes such a public knowledge that cannot get PV go by huay kuan. i have seen the ways things have changes since i started my volunteer 2 years ago till only recently and i have been very kiasu to ensure that i enrolled in huay kuan when my girl turns 2 years old. i have clocked about 40 +hours through volunteer for the past 2 years. It was tiring and especially this year when i have to take leaves to do the volunteer until my manager is not really very happy with me taking leaves almost every month. I am telling you this so that you know what is happening and make your decision based on the updated information.i know of one mummy who has been member since her son is 6 months old and now her son at 3 years old, she is starting to go full force into volunteering

Forgot to add that when i mean a lot of parents clocking their hours away for volunteers, they are all staying <1km of the school and their membership are normally 3 years and above

• Y Offline
                  yen73

Hi Larkspur,

Thanks for responding. I did tried calling the huay kuan but the lady kept insisting that every year is different and she cant tell me anything 😞 I asked her for past statistics, she also told me cant tell me. Sigh.. you know anyone that i can talk to?

Now it seems that doing PV is actually less stressful than through the clan route ? I actually wanted to try KW, but it seems that is also getting more popular. How do i get in contact with those mummies/daddies that are doing the volunteers for the Huay Kuan?

Cheers

larkspur

yen73:
                    Hi Larkspur,

Thanks for responding. I did tried calling the huay kuan but the lady kept insisting that every year is different and she cant tell me anything 😞 I asked her for past statistics, she also told me cant tell me. Sigh.. you know anyone that i can talk to?

Now it seems that doing PV is actually less stressful than through the clan route ? I actually wanted to try KW, but it seems that is also getting more popular. How do i get in contact with those mummies/daddies that are doing the volunteers for the Huay Kuan?

Cheers
                    Yen73, you see if you can try to go for one volunteer events. there should be one coming up in August. Alternative now is that huay kuan has what they called Professional and interest chapters wher these are gatherings either every week/ monthly for members who share the same interest or same profession such as IT/Medical/ Gof/ Ilovechinese etc. you may wish to email to the admin to tell you you want to join and from there you will meet all different parents. Talk to them and you will gather a lot of information from them. I can't give you the contact numbers as i dun think anyone will be pleased if their numbers are given out to anyone. Try to join in activities cos sometime they organise trip to veg farm (the recent one) , they have acitivities like balloon scruplturing, new year paper cutting etc,.If you are members you should receive the newsletter on the interesting events or emails. if you dun receive, call the admin and says you did not receive any newsletter, they will be very helpful on this.

The admin may not be that friendly at times cos i attend the talk by huay kuan about Phrase 2b registration and they mention now the number of parents members have increased by many that they will not answer anything on the registration after the talk cos if they entertain one, they will be expected to entertain all and then they will not have the time to do their work.

Since you are registering next year, try to do what you can but always have backup plan. I have plan b too . my only regret is i should join as parent pv even if i signed up huay kuan. cos if i cant get recommendation letter from huay kuan, at least pv at school is CONFIRMED as long as you finished the hours, huay kuan letters are based on demand and a list of requirements

larkspur

hi Yen,

have PM you who you can contact at huay kuan other than the admin

Fur-ma

We are hoping to get dd into AT. Have applied for recommendation letter. Anyone know when the committee will release the results of our application?

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 83 / 193

LONGtimeAGOL
                        LONGtimeAGO
                        ZhepingZ
                        Zheping