Preparing kids for P5 in 2011
Just to share… here is a strategy I find useful to motivate my child in his preparation for PSLE. I mark his work in TWO colours.
MARKING COMPOS
For example, for marking compos, I use green to underline or circle phrases and words that I think are good, and then I use red to underline or circle phrases that should be improved. I try to have as much green as possible and all the red that is required.
MARKING OE SCIENCE QUESTIONS
Based on the LiSC answering technique from Science Heuristics, I have been marking around the heuristics of Link (Li), Specific (S) and Comparison
. I use green pen to write "specific" when I see that he has answered a question with the S answering heuristic. Or I will use green to write "comparison" when I see he has answered the question with the C answering heuristic.
Conversely, if the S is missing from his answer, I will write "Specific" in red. Of course, one must first ensure that the child is taught the LiSC before this marking code using the words "Specific", "Comparison" and "Link" will make sense to the child.
This manner of marking lets my child know that he has done some things well and this gives him enough motivational energy to tackle those in red. When he gets the marked work back, he tends to lean forwards with joy, rather than lean away, recoiling from a barrage of feedback for improvement that he knows is unpleasant. -
Hi Chenoceau,Just to share... here is a strategy I find useful to motivate my child in his preparation for PSLE. I mark his work in TWO colours.
Based on the LiSC answering technique from Science Heuristics, I have been marking around the heuristics of Link (Li), Specific (S) and Comparison (C). I use green pen to write \"specific\" when I see that he has answered a question with the S answering heuristic. Or I will use green to write \"comparison\" when I see he has answered the question with the C answering heuristic.
Thanks for your sharing here and I wanna give you a :salute: for your contribution in \"Petition to review the Singapore Education System\". Sorry for intruding here as my DD1 is only P3 but after reading what you have shared here, I was like, \" :yikes: , guess I have not known enough about Science and this LiSC answering technique from Science Heuristics!\"
:nailbite:
HappyFaye:
How well he can score for the rest of his subjects will then depend on how 'hungry' he wants to score. For me - 听天由命. Let nature takes its cause.
Well said. This is what I always believe that we have done our best but outcome is beyond our control as the PSLE is about 45,000 children taking the test together. A lot of factors are unknown.
As such, we have to prepare to accept whatever outcome be it good or disappointed. -
Thank you for sharing. We bought the answer key for the PSLE Science Booklet and go through with dd to verify what should be the acceptable answer and also check is the important key concept/key word is stated.Just to share... here is a strategy I find useful to motivate my child in his preparation for PSLE. I mark his work in TWO colours.
MARKING COMPOS
For example, for marking compos, I use green to underline or circle phrases and words that I think are good, and then I use red to underline or circle phrases that should be improved. I try to have as much green as possible and all the red that is required.
Based on the LiSC answering technique from Science Heuristics, I have been marking around the heuristics of Link (Li), Specific (S) and Comparison (C). I use green pen to write \"specific\" when I see that he has answered a question with the S answering heuristic. Or I will use green to write \"comparison\" when I see he has answered the question with the C answering heuristic.
Conversely, if the S is missing from his answer, I will write \"Specific\" in red. Of course, one must first ensure that the child is taught the LiSC before this marking code using the words \"Specific\", \"Comparison\" and \"Link\" will make sense to the child.
This manner of marking lets my child know that he has done some things well and this gives him enough motivational energy to tackle those in red. When he gets the marked work back, he tends to lean forwards with joy, rather than lean away, recoiling from a barrage of feedback for improvement that he knows is unpleasant. -
:oops: :oops: Ok lah... nothing much... was thinking about my grandkids mah... so I COMPLAIN - like the typical Singaporean. Heh! Heh! And anyway, why would you say you're intruding leh? P3 mommies will face P5 in 2 years, you've every right to post here.Hi Chenoceau,
Thanks for your sharing here and I wanna give you a :salute: for your contribution in \"Petition to review the Singapore Education System\". Sorry for intruding here as my DD1 is only P3 but after reading what you have shared here, I was like, \" :yikes: , guess I have not known enough about Science and this LiSC answering technique from Science Heuristics!\"
I think maybe no need panic about LiSC yet. I think got ample time to teach the exam techniques such as LiSC when come to end-P4... If your kid is in lower primary, don't do assessment books (my 2 cents yeah...). I recommend the Horrible Science series as well as Do-at-Home experiment books. Also, in P3, I taught my son how to do internet research and gave him a computer. I taught him to google and youtube science concepts so he ended up watching lotsa videos and reading Kids' Science websites. We also borrowed DVDs from NLB and watched together. The learning was very unstructured but he learnt a lot and had fun. This forms a strong foundation of knowledge so that in P5 and P6, he only needs to learn the exam answering technique like LiSC.
When google science terms must add the word \"kids\" hor... or else you'll get all the research papers coming out!!
Hope this helps!! -
Hi thank you very much! I will do a search for the Horrible Science Series :boogie: ...But I must admit I am one that depends quite substantially on Science Assessment Books for my DD1
If your kid is in lower primary, don't do assessment books (my 2 cents yeah...). I recommend the Horrible Science series as well as Do-at-Home experiment books. Also, in P3, I taught my son how to do internet research and gave him a computer. I taught him to google and youtube science concepts so he ended up watching lotsa videos and reading Kids' Science websites. We also borrowed DVDs from NLB and watched together. The learning was very unstructured but he learnt a lot and had fun. This forms a strong foundation of knowledge so that in P5 and P6, he only needs to learn the exam answering technique like LiSC.
When google science terms must add the word \"kids\" hor... or else you'll get all the research papers coming out!!
Hope this helps!!
At lower primary, best to stimulate interest. This builds motivational energy that will be in short supply in P5 and P6. If you start drilling too early, you may find that your P6-er will be very rebellious in P6. Might end up like a girl in my son's class who backmails my son so as to be able to copy his Science. Her mom drilled her with assessments from K2 but she hates Science and is poor at it.
Hi thank you very much! I will do a search for the Horrible Science Series :boogie: ...But I must admit I am one that depends quite substantially on Science Assessment Books for my DD1Chenonceau:
If your kid is in lower primary, don't do assessment books (my 2 cents yeah...). I recommend the Horrible Science series as well as Do-at-Home experiment books. Also, in P3, I taught my son how to do internet research and gave him a computer. I taught him to google and youtube science concepts so he ended up watching lotsa videos and reading Kids' Science websites. We also borrowed DVDs from NLB and watched together. The learning was very unstructured but he learnt a lot and had fun. This forms a strong foundation of knowledge so that in P5 and P6, he only needs to learn the exam answering technique like LiSC.
Hope this helps!!
Still... it depends on the personality of the child... maybe won't happen to yours, but there is a risk. You'll probably know best though... so just follow your Mommy instincts. -
I didn’t start my son in Science until P3 itself. Fortunately, he is more willing to get work done as compared to daughter in P1. He has a strong interest in Science, so now I am trying to find out how to improve his marks…basically it’s a lot to do with practice now (MCQ) and remembering keywords for Section B…really hope he can get an A* in Science.
For my daughter, I bought 2 Science assessment (for 7 year old and 8 year old)…Learning Science. Hope to introduce her to basic concepts end of this year…like what is considered an ‘insect’, ‘fish’ and mammals. -
Brenda10:
Agree on above. We try our best and accept that there are many factors beyond our control. It is not easy to maintain sanity in this rat race.HappyFaye:
How well he can score for the rest of his subjects will then depend on how 'hungry' he wants to score. For me - 听天由命. Let nature takes its cause.
Well said. This is what I always believe that we have done our best but outcome is beyond our control as the PSLE is about 45,000 children taking the test together. A lot of factors are unknown.
As such, we have to prepare to accept whatever outcome be it good or disappointed.
Recently reports about teenage suicides and all the buzz about our education system really made me think hard.
Term 3 will be upon us in 2 days. We had a really good break, mostly just chilling out. I think the intense pace of terms 1&2 made us appreciate and enjoy this term break more.
Here's to a good weekend :imcool: -
I'm waiting and praying for son to be hungry for better results. He's still so bochap :stompfeet: really driving me up the wall.
However, the past 2 weeks have been great !!! I really let go and relaxed. Can't wait for kids to start school again...desperately need some peace in the morn.
Here's to a fresh new term ahead. Cheers. For Brenda, I know yourself & daughter will be busy preparing for PSLE. All the best to you.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.