All About Montessori

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Child Care, Kindergartens & Student Care
    1.6k Posts 327 Posters 920.5k Views 1 Watching
      smurf

What’s house engineer??

'house engineer' means take care of the whole house. :lol:

i improvised. i din buy those golden beads. In the end, i used subsitutes.

Heyya phtthp, you could also have considered to just get the base ten
          blocks set from Growing Fun. $29.90 nia. Should be complete to begin
          early introduction to operations.

Naf's beads are to the yellow side instead of gold. So if you don't mind
          the colour, then the Growing Fun set (comes in a box too) is sufficient
          for home teaching. Just sharing another alternative. πŸ˜„

Here's the link for the base ten set from Growing Fun.
          http://www.growingfun.com/product_details.cgi?PROD_ID=600

Here's another link of a set of blue linking base ten starter set
          from The Learning Store for $66.90.
          http://www.learningstore.com.sg/product_info.php?products_id=874

The operations felt mat is also quite expensive.
          http://www.bambini-montessori.com/price_list.htm

If you wanna DIY, you can purchase a thick green felt material & line
          your columns with fabric paint, big enough to work the base ten set
          from Growing Fun. πŸ˜‰

Or you can buy from here too. They have an membership account with
          KiasuParents too. Their nick is the name of their store. πŸ˜‰
          http://www.learningstore.com.sg/product_info.php?products_id=1756

Just swinging by to add more suggestions. :imanisland:

hi buds,

:thankyou: SO MUCH for recommending me alternative places to buy expensive Montessori home teaching training material.

very much appreciated! I should have consulted you first, before purchasing those 45 cubes as substitute from that Bishan St 22 mini-supermarket. My girl had gota used to them now, so just leave it. In future, will buy others from those shops you recommend.

i feel that Montessori Maths is useful and beneficial in helping kindergarten pre-schoolers acquire good foundation in Maths. Then at P1, they can bypass all those LSP (Maths) programme mentioned here:-

http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=12778&start=320

Ya lor you should have.. πŸ˜‰ After all, i'm usually around this thread for support on the Montessori Method. When it's convenient, i reply to what i can if it can help. Plus, you should know by now that i'm like the queen of DIY especially

for building up teaching resources for homeschooling.

Montessori Method is not new.. not elsewhere not here. It has been around for
              awhile but because of its pricey fees not many were inclined to have their children
              attend Montessori schools. Parents also weren't exposed to the strengths of the methodology. Some operators also had issues managing staff/manpower as not many teachers were true Montessorian at heart, hence unable to understand the works of the its teaching methods. Many teachers who came in from mainstream couldn't adapt. All these create complications within centres and hence the issue of centre turnovers crop up. To date, even as more teachers are trained to teach using the method not all of them practise it extensively. I have had unfortunate experiences working with teachers who were lazy to use the materials (Montessori really has A LOT of materials!) and in doing so the children cannot fully benefit from what the methodology truly stands for. This is also why many parents often and very easily misunderstand what is done and how lessons are carried out witin centres. Parents will feedback based on their individual experiences and not the methodology itself.

As for LSP in primary schools.. i was offered a position in a primary school thru a
              friend whose P wanted me to head the team of volunteers and teaching staff with
              teaching skills and materials to cater to their LSP team. I was invited to work 1/2
              day and develop the LSP's framework so that they can help their children better &
              systematically. I would also get to work with the children as well, which i like to. :love: Most children who are in LSP are lacking in foundation so before
              the P1 Math escalates further into more challenging concepts, they hope the intervention would help to fill the gaps during that time for these children. However, due to logistics (cause the school was quite a distance from where i reside) and also caregiving arrangements (cos i had a toddler and a pre-schooler) back then.. i had to decline such a wonderful offer. I was ecstatic about the position and it did break my heart to let such an opportunity slip by.. oh well.. the things we do in the name of love for our children. They gotta come first. :hugs:

It's great that you are now equipped with the knowledge.... so now just to apply the skill for your girl to benefit from what you have learnt. :ugogirl:

cantbearit2

He paid > $240 for that box.

the rest of us were hesitant.

i improvised. i din buy those golden beads. In the end, i used subsitutes.

but i also buy those number cards from Nafisa. No time to make or DIY on my own. Plastic number cards not ex, can buy from her.

btw, i also attended this grammar workshop under Nafisa, which smurf mention. Excellent, very good. Should also go for it. After i attend, then i was told and realize that not all montessori pre-schools in SG teach Montessori grammar. Bec these pre-schools may not have sufficient time. Yes, they do teach Montessori Maths and Montessori Phonics to kids, but not necessarily Montessori Grammar.

if you got time to attend, also go for Nafisa Montessori Grammar workshop. Very worth it!

btw, if you enrol yr kid into a montessori pre-school, remember to ask the P if the school got teach & incorporate Montessori Grammar into their curriculum. If not, then better sign up for Nafisa's grammar workshop ... esp. if you think yr child needs help in Grammar.
                Hi phtthp,
                thanks for the detailed explanation. :thankyou:
                IM a FTWM so childcare is more appropriate for me. Montessori childcare not easy to find in my area & I have no support to arrange transportation either.
                IM contemplating sending my DD2 (4y.o.) for once a week Montessori Maths or teaching her myself. In order to teach her myself, I need to at least attend e workshop (was tempting to attend a full course for it, hee....but 3 kids in tow, a bit tough). I have started to teach her using some manipulatives. The ideas were mainly from Buds. πŸ˜„ IM totally convinced wen I saw how receptive my DD2 is to my teachings. Thus I explored further. It was tiring doing a lot of DIY stuff (not only for Math but Phonics & Chinese) but at e same time satisfying. πŸ˜‰
                Sad to say, IM not able to spare a lot of time wif my DD2. I need to spend quite a bit of time wif DD1 as I tink I have not prepared her well for P1. 😒
                Thanks to all e kind parents at KSP who is v generous in their sharing, IM able to immerse in a wealth of information. :grphug:
                I did check out e website (Montessori outlet) u have recommended & v impressed wif e montessori materials.
                Thanks for e many tips on e DIY stuff & pl to get cheaper alternative materials, I may wan to attend e workshop & teach DD2 myself. If I really am not up to it, will then out-source it. :evil:
                However tis upcoming workshop, I have to gif it a miss. Can only attend a later one cos my DS3 will b gg for a surgery soon :sad: (hope I dun have to wait till Dec for e nex workshop though).
                Thks for e extra info on Montessori grammar. I have nv heard of it. 🀷 Guess I need to do more reading liao. πŸ˜“

Heyya cantbearit2, more sharings to come hopefully.

Time doesn't seem to be enuff these days. Great to
                  read you again! :imanisland:

Maize

Hello

Any one keen to attend the Montessori Mathematics workshop:

http://montessoriprogram.com/mathematics

If anyone else has attended - can please comment about the course as well!!!

Heyya Maize, many have commented on this programme.

Latest one is from our friend phthhp at this link below.
                      It is taken from the previous page which you may hv
                      missed or overlooked. Cheers.

http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?p=453173#p453173

Maize

Hey Buds

Thanks … I will read thru it…

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 110 / 165