Club Breastfeeding Mums
Yes, i get what you mean. Assuming a well-drained breast, i agree with you that frequency is probably more effective, and I would suggest pumping between feeds (which is what I did in hospital when I was trying to build up supply for my sick newborn).MummyThreeStreams:
Pumping after nursing, even when no milk is being expressed, also helps to stimulate the breasts. The whole idea is to encourage your breasts to think more milk is needed, so that it will produce more milk. However, you have twins and are probably already very exhausted. Additional pumping may make you too tired and affect your supply. Best is if you can put babies to the breast more. Relaxation techniques help too, coz if you are very tense, even if you have milk in the breast, the milk will not be ejected. That's why warm compresses, massage etc. are so helpful.
Pumping AFTER nursing does not really serve that particular purpose. Because it just prolongs your nursing session.
To increase milk supply, whether by direct nursing(preferred and more effective) or by pumping, the key is *frequency* and not *duration*. So it is more effective for a mum to nurse for 15-20mins every 1hour or every 1.5hrs than to try to go for 30-45mins every 3hrs, KWIM?
But I will not dismiss a pumping session after nursing, especially if the breasts are not well-drained by baby. In fact, even if your breast is well-drained, extra stimulation will still cause a surge in the milk making/breastfeeding hormones of prolactin and oxytocin. You may not collect more milk on that day, but your body will gear up to produce milk and you will see results after a couple if days or so. So there are really two ways to pump. Maybe one more effective than the other, but in determining which approach to take, each mum should also take into account her lifestyle issues.
In LeeTaiTai's specific case, I was thinking, when you have twins, and are probably nursing all the time, the concept of between or after feedings probably doesn't make any sense..(when my mum was nursing my twin brothers, she was on an endless nursing cycle, interrupted only by quick toilet breaks...) so I used pumping after as a more general reference to pumping in addition to breastfeeding sessions (by which I refer to sessions when one is feeding baby directly from the breast, as opposed to feeding expressed breast milk from a bottle).
Actually, I'm curious: why do those who pump, pump? I pumped for DS1 and DS2 when I was working, and hated it. I pumped for the first 6 weeks of DS3's life as he was not well and was too tired to nurse enough. We would nurse him directly, then top him up with EBM via syringe. No artificial teats (till now). As soon as I could stop pumping, I did. The EBM is still sitting in the freezer. He's always with me so no chance to feed it to him.
Why do other mums pump? Are you exclusively pumping? How do you feed your baby the EBM? Let's share pumping stories! -
Hi buds,
Hope your bb feeling better.
So sweet of your DD2 to offer to drink the extra milk.
If our hospital has scheme whereby mothers can donate bm to pre-mature bb, then your bm will not be stuck in the fridge.
Maybe you can try to mix it with oats and use it as facemask?
Or use it to sub coconut milk for curry?
My supply always = to demand so there's no need to express excess. But in the event that I'm very sick, bb will have to depend on fm because I did not express any extra as backup. Anyway now that she's eating 2 meals a day, if I do fall very sick, she will not go hungry
Hey mummies,
Wow!! interesting read!!!
Thank you so much for sharing. Though this is my 2nd child, I feel as if I am starting afresh again after a 4 year gap
I developed a phobia for pumping, apart from the grass-cutting like sound produced *shudder*, it was exhausting (for me) trying to pump in between feeds. Why??
Well, DS1 was 3 months and DH was off to Vietnam for team building. Spouses were invited, DH asked and I was tempted. Almost 9 mths of bed rest had made me restless and I yearn to have a change of environment.
So a mth b4 the trip, I pumped and pumped in between feeds as I was leaving bb behind. As it it, I ended up with an over-supply cuz there was no way of gauging how much milk to set aside. On top of that, when I was overseas, I had to keep up with the pumping. Got the hotel staff to freeze the milk some more, to bring back. On the day of departure, the staff was on a later shift and the frozen milk could not be located :yikes:
It became quite hilarious as everyone at the reception got involved looking for the missing milk packets, including the ang mo manager :lol: Finally, it was located and we left, not after keeping my DH's boss and his colleagues and the private transport driver waiting. Everyone was privy to the reason why :oops: :oops: :oops:
After that, I stopped using the pump unless I really really had to. -
Hey buds,
BIG hugs and flying kisses to bud_chubs. Hope he gets well soon
Miss holding him :love: :hugs: -
hihi moms,
i just joined this thread.
i bf ds1 for 4 mths, then returned to work and had to stop cos mil was the care giver and she felt it was too troublesome to warm the ebm up.
When ds2 came along, I took extra childcare leave, and returned to work when he was 9mth. then, i worked on flexi-scheme so he was able to wait till i returned home to have the next milk feed, so i bf him for 3yrs.
now with dd, not sure when she will stop, or if she doesn't i will try to wean her by 3yrs too.
as for pumping, i did so with ds1 only, and didn't really like it. for ds2, tried to pump but somehow he wouldn't drink from a bottle, probably too used to direct bfg. so stopped.
with dd, did not pump at all since i am not working at all now.
yup, that's my story so far!
Hi buds!
Breast milk is supposed to be good to soak your feet in! -
oic, yes..come to think of it, i did not tell the nurse wat i wanted, but they oso nv ask leh..so i assumed they will come ard and ask me when i was mre awake. in the end, then i discovered tat he was given FM wheni was resting. i was till wondering y the nurses nv bring my bb for me to BF and the lactation nurse oso nv come by to show me hw to latch. i was the onewho requested for a demo.
Nurses will assist you to position and latch baby on if you had C-Section. But you have to tell them ahead of time. Many C-section mums have done this. Then if you indicate full breastfeeding, they will just continue to bring baby to you every 2hrs and help you with latch until you can handle yourself.terry:
hi all,
any1 can share on hw to buildup milk ss after a c-section?
cos most books only tell u latch on straight after a natural birth..not much mentioned abt after c-section when the mummy will zz frm GA/ weak frm surgery.
is it super impt to latch on immed after delivery? or can wait for awhile? cos the nurse will sure feef bb with FM in the nursery.
tatz in TMC. is it like tat in the other hospitals? cos me gg deliver in TMC again in aug..i wanna have an idea of wat im entitled to cos i feel really shortchg the 1st round.
in the end i gv up bfg cos no1 to tell me hw to do it properly..
maybe the mummies here can share a timetable of when you latch and pump and the duration of doing both to get a steady ss. really puzzled abt the trick to successful bfg. :? -
Breadandmuffins:
Hi Just wondering why there is no thread to discuss about breastfeeding issues in this forum.......so decided to start this thread for mummies to share their experience & to help new mummies with this challenging but fulfilling role. I breasfed all my 4 kids for at least a year and more and is still doing so for no.4.
Hi! i did the same for all my 4 kids too.
no formula, breastmilk all the way! up to 18mths~2years
my Mum told me i was a breastfed Baby too! hehe...
i'm not sure if it's the breastmilk, but my kids truly rarely fall ill.
but when they do, it's like a nightmare!
but Thankfully it's like about once/twice a year.
hope Mommies could breastfeed if possible, even for a few days,
that would just be wonderful for Baby.
because breastmilk is naturally \"custom made\" for Moms and Babies :love:
Happy Breastfeeding! -
terry:
Hi terry,
oic, yes..come to think of it, i did not tell the nurse wat i wanted, but they oso nv ask leh..so i assumed they will come ard and ask me when i was mre awake. in the end, then i discovered tat he was given FM wheni was resting. i was till wondering y the nurses nv bring my bb for me to BF and the lactation nurse oso nv come by to show me hw to latch. i was the onewho requested for a demo.
tatz in TMC. is it like tat in the other hospitals? cos me gg deliver in TMC again in aug..i wanna have an idea of wat im entitled to cos i feel really shortchg the 1st round.
in the end i gv up bfg cos no1 to tell me hw to do it properly..
maybe the mummies here can share a timetable of when you latch and pump and the duration of doing both to get a steady ss. really puzzled abt the trick to successful bfg. :?
I delivered in NUH.
The nurses did demonstrate how to get the baby to latch on. But nothing beats having the lactation consultant do demonstration for you ie the massaging and getting the baby to latch on after that.
For NUH, the consultant will make her rounds every morning, asking whether I had any problems with bf?? Is the colostrum coming out etc ...
I suggest you make your intentions known to the staff when you register yourself this time so that you can be better prepared. -
Hi Terry
I also give birth to all 4 of my kids at TMC. At the hospital, you must tell the nurses that you are doing "total breastfeeding". They will not give the baby any formula and pushed the baby to you when he is hungry. Once the baby starts on formula from the bottle, you may have a hard time trying to breastfeed successfully as the latching on method is different. So, if you can, try not to start him on a bottle at all for the first few months esp right from the beginning.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.