All About Montessori
brainkuku:
Your nick is hilarious brainkuku but hi to you too! :imanisland:Hi buds
My boy is currently going 18 months. How can i first intro him to some home base montessori teaching? I dun think i can bring him to a montessori sch bcos of proximity. Bcos my mum will b bring him to school. And she cant really travel far on public transport.
When you mentioned proximity reasons, do you mean to say there are no Montessori schools within the vicinity where you reside? Most schools do offer transport if you are concerned about someone fetching the child to and fro. Frankly, it is more convenient via school transport compared to an elder bringing a child to and fro daily (if the sch is a distance away). Sch bus ensures rain or shine the child gets to school and comes home on time.
brainkuku:
Going 18mths and already able to do all that is considered a big achievement. Kudos! Having a mom who speaks only Mandarin is an asset more than you know it now. But yes, sending your boy to a school for the English would be a good investment so he'd get the best of both worlds.Some backgrd bout my son:
Able to recognise A-Z even after u mess up the alphabets. But its only upper case. As he is mandarin trained (cos i dun want my kid to grow up speaking broken english cos my mum duno how to speak). He knws how to say 1-10 in both english and chinese. Able to recognise the numbers as well.
Thanks much for your help in advance.
I have shared quite a number of articles pertaining to teaching letters or letter sounds. You can check them out here. > http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/blogs/buds
If you're looking into just language here a a few direct links.
http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/content/do-it-yourself-alphabet-cards-1-montessori-sandpaper-letters
http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/content/teaching-phonics-mystery-bag-game
http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/content/montessori-phonics-introduction-single-letter-sounds-lesson-1
As for Math, recognizing the numbers is a fab start. Now see if he can associate the written form with corresponding quantity. See if he can match quantity to numeral. He can also learn simple number tracing.
http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/content/early-math-concepts-home-using-montessori-method
http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?f=7&t=1748
Hope this offers a headstart for you and your son somewhat. :hugs: -
hihi kabalevsky
I duno if he is doing well or not… we just intro him certain things that we feel that he is able to understand…
My boy not bilingual lah… he is skewed towards the mandarin side… because most of us speak to him in mandarin… there is only certain time where i speak to him… i will try my best to communicate in English (though not perfect… but try to eliminate all the le la lor leh) because you know lah… we Singaporeans tend to speak singlish… which i very much don’t want him to follow our bad ways… hahaa
whoa… you are really a very hardworking parent… i dun want to burn my weekends… hahaa… which MMI you intending to sign her up? I heard that there is waiting list for MMI…
Hi buds…
yeah… because i kuku brain mah… thats why i use this nick… hahaa…
I have to thank my family for bringing him up to be such a fine boy (i am a working mum)… my dad is now teaching him how to use the fake pen to write (those drawing board we can draw and erase that kind, i duno how to put it)… roll eyes
I am looking into everything… I saw your blog about your ger making the menu for the cakes… i was impressed… i didnt know we can do such stuff (see… that is why i am kuku brain)… and prob i wasnt creative at all… cannot think out of the box… so… i was determined to teach him (in whatever ways i can… ok… me lazy being aside… to help him grow and learn and be confident about himself)… which is why i came up with this post… kekeke…
As for monte schools… those near my parents place aint providing transport… (There was a posting i ask about school bus)… My parents stay near IMM… so the nearest is MMI Bukit Timah, CS Montessori @ Bukit Timah. There is one with transport @ Jurong but their school bus didnt go that far until IMM… Do you know of any that provide transport? Because it will be really really great for my mum and for my boy too…
Ok. I will become a hardworking mum to go through what you have provide… and start to teach him after I have digested… hahaa…
Ohh… paiseh… 1 more question… there is 1 kids’ show that you mentioned was quite good in this thread… but i have forgotten which page was that… can you be kind enough to let me know what was the show?? My son is currently watching Super Why… which i think it is too "chim" for him… because they are teaching things like "T-ALL"… and not what you have mentioned to start him with the simple ones like "C-A-T" yada yada… -
Hi all
Nafisa Juzer is organizing another grammar workshop. Anyone keen to pair up with me and enjoy some discounts? Read the review from her workshops in this thread n all thumbs up for her
More info on d workshop:
http://montessoriprogram.com/montessori-grammar-workshop-2
Pls pm me if anyone keen. -
brainkuku,
i am a SAHM lei... 2x a week 2h is not a lot lah... it's nice to be able to bring her out and i get to socialise with other parents in the class also. it's either mon-wed or tues-thurs. it's the JW MMI, which is not a childcare. the JW Ext one is a childcare.
the last i heard, they still had vacancy for the mon-wed one. though that was at least 6mth ago, i need to call and check again when she is 18mth.
But I find MMI is not the most ideal for me. Your parents live near IMM? I think there are a couple of Monte schools neat Jurong East area too.
1. MMI at Jurong East
http://www.modern-montessori.com/
2. Little Wonders Montessori
there's a JW branch and a Hillview one, Hillview not too far from IMM too.
http://www.littlewonders-montessori.com/
3. Innate Montessori (Jln Kakatua, quite near IMM also lah)
http://innatemontessori.com/
4. The Little House Montessori (Sunset Way)
http://thelittlehousemontessori.com/index.htm
5. Summer Montessori (JW)
http://summermontessori.blogspot.com/2011/01/our-montessori-programme.html#more
The last one I haven't had the chance to check out yet but I plan to, very soon. If you are interested, after I check it out, I can post my review here.
And finally, I think being able to speak fluently in Mandarin at a young age is good. English is easier to pick up than Mandarin/ Chinese so your son is definitely off to a great start.
hi all
did anyone has any idea about the modern montessori school at this pioneer stadium in Jurong west. i am looking for a school for my son to go to next year. he will be attending playgroup class. wanted somewhere that is fun and good.i am not restricting myself to montessori. actually prefer some church kindergarten. any suggestion? -
ocean, the MMI at JW Ext (the stadium/ swim complex) is a childcare center. Is that what you want?
You have to call them up and best visit them to see if you like it.
If you want church kindy, there quite a no. of good ones in JW too. I heard from many mommies in this area that Jurong Calvary is very good. Then there is St Francis of Assisi too… -
smurf:
there are many ways to create your own materials. It's not difficult, but it's very time consuming. If you don't have the time, it's better to buy pre made rather than make your own, coz the time you save is very significant. You may save just a bit of moolah, but you have to calculate the time you spent.
Yes, i agree. There are many many ways to create our own resources especially for SAHParents. Time consuming? Not for all materials but i guess majority. Difficult? Yes and no. But we're not talking just a bit of moolah honestly, the savings are a lot! The time spent making them is all worth it as they are done out of love. If done once and done up well, it can jolly well last decades just like mine. :please: It is a preference really... to purchase or to make. Also a matter of individual budgeting of course. -
Last i heard JW Ext branch is full house. Full to the brim and no place even for waitlist. Yes, my students who attended enrichment programmes with me some came from Jurong Calvary and from their response and feedback abt school going... pretty good.ocean, the MMI at JW Ext (the stadium/ swim complex) is a childcare center. Is that what you want?
You have to call them up and best visit them to see if you like it.
If you want church kindy, there quite a no. of good ones in JW too. I heard from many mommies in this area that Jurong Calvary is very good. Then there is St Francis of Assisi too...
brainkuku:
Still hilarious! :laugh:Hi buds..
yeah.. because i kuku brain mah.. thats why i use this nick.. hahaa..brainkuku:
Yes you should be... thankful i mean. From what you have shared, I honestly find he is growing up fine. :hugs: Lucky you, dun have to worry abt quality caregiving issues while you're at work. Hehee.. those toys are called doodle boards issit? The one you can erase left to right using a magic duster?I have to thank my family for bringing him up to be such a fine boy (i am a working mum).. my dad is now teaching him how to use the fake pen to write (those drawing board we can draw and erase that kind, i duno how to put it).. *roll eyes*
brainkuku:
All these they don't learn in school. They learn most of the fun stuff from me. At home. :love:I am looking into everything.. I saw your blog about your ger making the menu for the cakes.. i was impressed.. i didnt know we can do such stuff (see.. that is why i am kuku brain).. and prob i wasnt creative at all.. cannot think out of the box.. so.. i was determined to teach him (in whatever ways i can.. ok.. me lazy being aside.. to help him grow and learn and be confident about himself).. which is why i came up with this post.. kekeke..
brainkuku:
Kabalevsky is so kind to have put up a good list of those worth looking at and hope you have time to go down a visit a few yourself so that you have a feel of them & find out more on how they operate.As for monte schools.. those near my parents place aint providing transport.. (There was a posting i ask about school bus).. My parents stay near IMM.. so the nearest is MMI Bukit Timah, CS Montessori @ Bukit Timah. There is one with transport @ Jurong but their school bus didnt go that far until IMM.. Do you know of any that provide transport? Because it will be really really great for my mum and for my boy too..
Shout out : You're a gem kabalevsky! :love:brainkuku:
:rahrah: Jiayou! :rahrah:Ok. I will become a hardworking mum to go through what you have provide.. and start to teach him after I have digested.. hahaa..
brainkuku:
For Phonics issit? You need for single letter sounds or for three-letter phonetic words? I check again..Ohh.. paiseh.. 1 more question.. there is 1 kids' show that you mentioned was quite good in this thread.. but i have forgotten which page was that.. can you be kind enough to let me know what was the show?? My son is currently watching Super Why.. which i think it is too \"chim\" for him.. because they are teaching things like \"T-ALL\".. and not what you have mentioned to start him with the simple ones like \"C-A-T\" yada yada..
Btw, super why is also good lar.. dun worry. :snuggles:
thank you buds, now i feel so shy...

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.