CDA account

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Money Matters
    82 Posts 22 Posters 72.8k Views 1 Watching
      Castle House

There's a difference between baby bonus and CDA.

Baby bonus for the first child was started in Aug 2004 I think, previously baby bonus only for 2nd child onwards.

Baby bonus money will be credited into parents' bank account and to be used for whatever purpose the parents wished. Though the spirit of the baby bonus was to spend on baby stuff like milk powder, etc.

CDA was not applicable for kids born in 2005. It was only applicable for 2nd child onwards. It is a co-savings plan up to a cap. For example for the 2nd child if I remembered correctly it was $6000. So parent save $6000 and gvt give $6000. The money can only be used for paying authorised expenses such as CC, kindy, certain medical bills.

Now CDA is applicable for first child onwards.

Now back to what is happening now. As part of the budget, our kids rec some money into their CDA. But because for 2005 kids, CDA was not applicable at that time, so now we need to open a CDA for them. BUT unlike our other kids, CDA for 2005 kids does not have the co-saving from gvt element.

The form that we have is just an application form, when we submit the form, we will rec an authorisation form that we take to the bank, either OCBC or standard charter depending on your indication on the application form, and other documents in order to open the CDA for our 2005 kid.

So Daddy D,

You did not have a CDA when your DD was born in 2005, yours was the baby bonus credited to yours / your wife's account.
      BINGO.. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Castle House

Daddy ๐Ÿ˜ง

So Daddy D,

You did not have a CDA when your DD was born in 2005, yours was the baby bonus credited to yours / your wife's account.

OIC.... thanks for the explanation.
        I thought they also use CDA for baby bonus?
        Yes, the baby bonus was credited to our bank acct... (I thought auto-link from CDA)

So have to open CDA with a new bank account... just to take this $300?

Still sibei EXTRA.... :razz:

:laugh: you ah... want $$ yet still want to complain.. :rotflmao:

You can treat it as opening this account as her saving account as well.. or future education fund account.. ๐Ÿ˜‰

• KissguramiK Offline
          Kissgurami

the letter came today!! not to me but my ex LOL, think he was surprised and buzzed me

Will only be looking at the forms this sat when I picked them up

SAHM_TAN

Daddy ๐Ÿ˜ง

So Daddy D,

OIC.... thanks for the explanation.
            I thought they also use CDA for baby bonus?
            Yes, the baby bonus was credited to our bank acct... (I thought auto-link from CDA)

So have to open CDA with a new bank account... just to take this $300?

Still sibei EXTRA.... :razz:

:lol: That's because baby bonus and CDA serve different purpose.

Daddy D

:lol: That's because baby bonus and CDA serve different purpose.
              $$ in the bank is still $$ right?
              If I use the CDA $$ to buy iPad... they will know meh? :razz:

daddy2007

[quote]
                If I use the CDA $$ to buy iPad... they will know meh? :razz:[/quote]It will be in a special bank account and unfortunately you can't anyhow use this money

I just treat this as extra money and will use it to pay for Private HealthShield rider. Should able to last 3-4 years :boogie:

Daddy D

daddy2007:
                  [quote]
                  If I use the CDA $$ to buy iPad... they will know meh? :razz:
                  It will be in a special bank account and unfortunately you can't anyhow use this money

I just treat this as extra money and will use it to pay for Private HealthShield rider. Should able to last 3-4 years :boogie:[/quote]Zhen De Mah?! :slapshead:
                  Sian half liao... another CPF pattern... can see cannot take...
                  can collect interest a not? :razz:

• KissguramiK Offline
                    Kissgurami

Daddy ๐Ÿ˜ง

Zhen De Mah?! :slapshead:
                    Sian half liao... another CPF pattern... can see cannot take...
                    can collect interest a not? :razz:
                    LOL!! You make me laugh!!!

But I agree, the money used for ipad is good coz I am intending to do that as well, pay half a ipad2 :rotflmao: if possible.

Annoying now coz CC Giro is tied to DD2 CDA, which means how on earth can i use DD1's CDA $$?

patntee

Quite a number of ways to use up the money actually

The money may be used by all your children to pay for:

1) Fees at Approved Institutions (AIs) which have registered with MCYS under the Baby Bonus Scheme:
                      a) Child Care Centres;
                      b) Kindergartens and special education schools registered the Ministry of Education (MOE) or the Council for Private Education (CPE);
                      c) Early intervention programmes registered with the National Council of Social Service
                      NCSS) or the Centre for Enabled Living; and
                      d) Healthcare institutions licensed under the Private Hospitals and Medical Clinics (PHMC)
                      Act.

patntee

WCW, you have to ask the childcare for the form and apply thru the childcare. Can be used for siblings too. I use my DS CDA for DD childcare, cos DD is 2006 first born dun have CDA herself.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

With your input, this post could be even better ๐Ÿ’—

• 6 / 9