KiasuParents Story Writing Contest #1 - Scariest Story
The story not very scary, but buds' picture sure is!My Contest Entry for: A Scary Story
- by ChiefKiasu
One day, while I was trying to figure out how the Buddy List work at 2:17am in the morning, I came across http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?&p=27441#27441 in a Forum thread called \"Rated S for Scary - About fengshui and supernatural stuff\". I went to the pharmacy for some pills to help me sleep the next morning and accidently pulled out bud's picture from my wallet to pay him. http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/content/some-tips-writing-compositions.
The End.
So who do I vote for in this case....Chief or buds?? :lol: -
OMG! i almost choked on my lunch looking at the pic Chief posted

I must say I tried very hard to keep myself from laughing out loud while reading Skunk's article in office. Hahaha.....
And chief, u shd really give us a warning to bud's pic. Luckily I read the other posts first before clicking on ur link..
Boss, it's \"blood-curdling\", not \"blood-curding\"The pharmacist recoiled in terror and let out a blood-curding scream.
\"Curd\" is a noun http://dictionary.reference.com/browse/curding
\"Curdling\" is the verb http://dictionary.reference.com/browse/curdling
\"Blood-curdling\" means to turn the blood into Tofu.
PS: I got an English-Maths class every Tuesday 5-7pm for Pri 5. hehe free advertising. -
skunk:
skunk, i think the Boss knows.
Boss, it's \"blood-curdling\", not \"blood-curding\"
I think most students are smarter than me since they would have done such a much better job at plagiarising without being caught, instead of lazily cutting and pasting even the spelling errors in the stuff I copy from
. -
*blush blush* kua1 kua2 kua3 kua2
skunk, i think the Boss knows.
Before I post my entry for competition, I would like to thank Chief for creating an opportunity for me to explain to my kids what competition is all about. It is not so much about winning or losing. It is about putting our best effort forward, camaraderie over competition, having fun, finding out where we are, how we fair against others and how do we improve given our current performance compared to the earlier ones.
The following story is inspired by my recent event of finding a new flat and yes, there was a beautiful flat posted in hdb portal with an orb in each photos. I find it a bit weird such beautiful home is selling at $380000 not able to be sold in open market. The angry clawed was one of my recent experience, curtains ajar when I was staying in Langkawi and some stories were taken from where I read or heard.
It’s a long story and I did try to cut some paragraph out (hubby says me very lor so) and my son was laughing as he finds it very funny (naughty boi). Please do pardon the grammatical errors that I have made (I speak Engrish). Happy reading.
http://www.postimage.org/image.php?v=aVU7KUr -
[Editor's note: Entry noted and will be entered in voting list.]
My Contest Entry for: A Scary Story.
Danny just could not contain his excitement when he saw the pictures. It was the most beautiful flat on offer in the hdb portal. “Have a look at this flat, Susie. Executive apartment selling at $380 000. It has marble flooring for the living and dining area and parquet for bedrooms. Even the balcony and the toilets are using natural slate. Wwwowww….” Susie came to have a closer look and poke her nose in front of the computer screen (she misplaced her spectacle again). Through her blurry vision, she had to admit that the flat was indeed attractive and cheap too, considering the extensive renovation that has been done. In their excitement or maybe they were none believer, they missed to see an orb in every one of the pictures; bedrooms, hall, kitchen, dining room and especially the toilets.
Danny, Susie and their cute little princess Anne age 7, finally moved into their dream home. Nothing sinister really happen. It was just that Susie’s spectacle that was put on the bedside table every night before sleeping will be found on the floor, centimeters away from the bedside table every morning. She didn’t think too much of it though. She must have accidentally knocked it off the table while sleeping. There were plenty of strange happenings in the house. The window curtains went slightly ajar overnight, the occasional flickering of lights at night, the sound of flushed toilets, musky damp smell that plague her and the sound of marbles being rolled on the floor from the empty play room. Susie had started to feel creep out by the small disturbances but she always placed a logical explanation to each of the incidents.
Buzzzz…..buzzzzz…..buzzzzz. “Hello Danny. It’s nice of you to call. Isn’t your flight due in half an hour’s time? Oh okay. Alright, have a safe journey darling and looking forward to see you tomorrow.” Danny was away on business trip and will be back the following day. It was also the very day that everything went wrong.
Shortly after the short phone conversation with Danny, Susie heard little Anne talking and laughing with another child. She could not really make out their conversation. It was a low muttering sound, followed by happy gurgles of children’s laughter coming from Anne’s room. Susie went over to Anne’s room to check on her daughter. The sounds immediately stopped when Susie opened up the door. “Anne, are you talking to yourself?” asked Susie. Anne gave her mother a puzzled look. “No mummy. I’m busy playing with my doll house,” replied Anne.
Susie walked away from the room feeling confused. Since it was quite late, she proceeded to prepare a simple dinner. Susie was busily chopping up the onions when another incident occurred. This time the damp smell was stronger and it seems that there’s someone right behind her breathing cold air on her neck. Susie froze in fear but whatever that was bothering her; it was gone within a split second.
Susie and Anne ate their dinner quietly. Susie was much preoccupied thinking of the strange happenings in their new home. Susie was so entrapped in her deep thoughts that she failed to notice Anne quick glances and smiles given to the empty seat.
After clearing the dishes, tucked Anne to sleep, Susie proceeded to fill up the bath tub hoping a good soak in hot water will simply vaporize the earlier incidents away. “Oooucccchhh!” Susie yelped in pain as soon as she lowered herself into the tub. Ignoring the burning sensation, Susie continued to relax in the tub until the water turned cold. It was while Susie was drying up herself that she remembered the stinging feeling at the back of her body. Quick checked in the mirror, Susie was flabbergasted upon seeing five angry slashes (claw like marks) diagonally across her upper back.
Susie had enough of everything. With hastily put on clothes, Susie grabbed her bag to get out of the house as quickly as possible. But….as Susie was approaching Anne’s room, standing outside the closed door, this time, she heard a very low humming sound going hmmm…..hmmm…..hmmmm…..
It was unnerving to open up the door not knowing what was lurking behind. Putting aside her fear, Susie opened up the door and in the dimness of the night light, she saw a lady in flowing white moldy gown running her fingers through her long hair staring blankly at her. Ignoring the specter, Susie in big strides walked hastily towards Anne’s bed and was shocked to see another child ghost on Anne’s bedside table. Susie carried Anne out of the bed and running out as quickly as her wobbly legs could.
The following day, Susie with her child Anne waited for Danny’s flight to touch down the airport runaway. The agonizing wait was over as both mother and child caught in a big embrace by Danny who has just walked through the custom.
In between sobs, Susie quickly filled Danny with the incidents that happened in the house yesterday. It was a quiet drive home and Susie waited in anticipation to see if the specters would still be at their place in broad daylight. Danny was acting nonchalance, presuming that Susie was feeling stressed out with work and setting up their new home. No way was he going to sell the flat. They have just moved in and they simply just cannot afford it.
“See. There’s nothing to be afraid of at all. No ghost, no ghouls, no specters lurking,” said Danny as he pulled Susie to walk around the house. Susie was walking with her eyes half closed. How could Danny not see, feel or smell it? The very thing was always by her side, staring with her expressionless eyes. How could Danny not hear nor see that their child Anne was playing with a child ghost?
Susie tried to seek help from priest, from bomoh and from whomever she felt that can helped her rid the things from her home. She had at last succumbed to fate that the specters were there to stay. Danny was adamant not to move to a new place either. Susie now understood why there was the sound of children playing marble in the house, why her curtains went ajar at night and the worst of all why her spectacle was always on the floor when she got up in the morning. Night after night, the lady ghost with her long white moldy gown, with fingers running through her long hair will be seating on the bed side table staring blankly at Susie. -
[Editor's note: Entry noted and will be entered in voting list.]
This really happened to me.
It was another day after my toddler’s afternoon nap, and we walked to the nearby plaza for groceries shopping. The place seemed less crowded than usual, but I put it down to the economic crisis than anything else. Before proceeding with au supermarche routine, I took him into the washroom. All the doors were slightly ajar, cold (must be the air-con) and sterile. Sensing nothing wrong, everything seems normal; we selected the door furthest away from the entrance and locked ourselves in.
It was a bright sun-lit day outside. Inside, the air was still, no music played from the stereo. Still, we took all precautions before setting off to the supermarket.
There was nobody there, except for one woman at the cashier. She was dark, unsmiling and had sticky hair. Ignoring her, I went through my list, taking each item one by one, until we finally reached the last aisle. My son reached out for something… and he suddenly stiffened. His eyes went blank, the corners of his lips curled tightly. Little beads of sweat appeared around his tiny forehead. I sensed something wrong, and turned to ask if he was OK.
He remained silent.
I did not expect it, and could not believe it when my eyes set upon the reason. Up till this day, I am still unwilling to accept the fact that was staring at me. Two brown-slicked, damp and unmoving piles built up right from the floor. The cashier stared, with her unforgiving crimson eyes, and said, \"I’ll wait for you to clean up the poop\". -
Thanks to all those who have completed their entries so far. As we understand that everyone is probably looking forward to the National Day Parade, we have decided to delay the closing date for the entries for consideration by 1 day to 6pm 10 Aug 2009. So relax... you still have 1 more day to write it up... but this will be the one and only extension! Happy NDP, everyone!
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.