2011 P1 Registration Exercise for 2012 In-Take
dorisp:
Agreed! :goodpost:
Well said!Pen88n:
This cannot satisfy everyone either. In your scenario, everyone will be buying properties near popular schools to ensure they have the most priority. What about those beyond the distance - they will query why should their kids not have any other means (clan, church, alumni, PV) to get into school then? Do we want a case of everyone fighting for properties near school and driving property price up and up?
Depending on which group you falls in, everyone will want the P1 registration policy to change to benefit them. There is no one system that will satisfy everyone. And any change will disappoint some or the other and may have impact to other areas.
The absolute fairest way is to allocate schools according to where you stay, so you don’t get to choose where your child goes, just that you are assured he/she will go into a school no more than 2km from your home.
This will break up all clan/church associations (shouldn’t all schools be secular???), and all those parents wanting to send their children to so called "popular" schools. Or parents from elite schools wanting to send their offspring back to so called elite schools creating this ‘better than thou’ mentality. There will be an even and fairer mix of students from all walks of life and all backgrounds in EVERY school.
Then all primary schools will be equal. Students who excel will then get posted to the better secondary schools etc.
There should also be no affiliation between primary and secondary schools. All students should have level playing field.
JMHO. Think it’s ridiculous children have to go to schools far away just cos it’s one of the ‘top’ or more prestigious schools and so on… -
dorisp:
As everyone knew from MOE :-Pen88n:
This cannot satisfy everyone either. In your scenario, everyone will be buying properties near popular schools to ensure they have the most priority. What about those beyond the distance - they will query why should their kids not have any other means (clan, church, alumni, PV) to get into school then? Do we want a case of everyone fighting for properties near school and driving property price up and up?
Depending on which group you falls in, everyone will want the P1 registration policy to change to benefit them. There is no one system that will satisfy everyone. And any change will disappoint some or the other and may have impact to other areas.
What are the guidelines to be used for balloting when the number of applications exceeds the number of vacancies from Phase 2A1 to Phase 2C Supplementary?
Still according to distances. No Choice.
It still come back to square one.
Yap ,Everyone wants to have so call \"Better Choice of School\" and the Government will not stop you from other means (clan, church, alumni, PV) to get into school ..................Those Parents leaving 1-2 km or even further will be disappointed themselves, not others, if there is balloting. (Spend so much of their times....... :stompfeet: :mad: )
EVERY PHASE STILL DEPENDS ON OUR LUCK LAH!!!
:stompfeet:
Mummyo!
Well said! Agreed 200%!! -
mummyo:
Well, in this case it will still create a big imbalance in everyone wants to get properties within certain estates close to good schools to ensure they get to the schools. Eg. someone will buy a place between NYPS and RGPS along Bukit Timah so as to ensure my gal can get into either school. So, those properties nearest to good schools will have sky-rocket prices and only the rich will be able to afford it then.The absolute fairest way is to allocate schools according to where you stay, so you don't get to choose where your child goes, just that you are assured he/she will go into a school no more than 2km from your home.
This will break up all clan/church associations (shouldn't all schools be secular???), and all those parents wanting to send their children to so called \"popular\" schools. Or parents from elite schools wanting to send their offspring back to so called elite schools creating this 'better than thou' mentality. There will be an even and fairer mix of students from all walks of life and all backgrounds in EVERY school.
Then all primary schools will be equal. Students who excel will then get posted to the better secondary schools etc.
There should also be no affiliation between primary and secondary schools. All students should have level playing field.
JMHO. Think it's ridiculous children have to go to schools far away just cos it's one of the 'top' or more prestigious schools and so on...
What about the case of some places not having schools within the 2km range? Send to the next nearest school? Not possible as there are many residentials within the 1km / 1-2km range for the school. My fren was in such a scenario and she made the effort (and took the chance) to do PV to get her kid into her preferred neighbourhood school beyond 2km from her place (but considered the nearest). Luckily for her, she got in. Would it be fair that she be \"penalised\" just becos she is not staying close to any school?
Every coin has 2 sides. No system is perfect for everyone. As what I said before, someone's gonna be happy with the system, someone's gonna be sad. No 2 ways about it. Whatever is the system, have to learn to live with it. Whatever is the change, have to learn to adapt to it. Just work round the system to the best of your advantage and leave the rest to fate! -
mummyo:
The absolute fairest way is to allocate schools according to where you stay, so you don't get to choose where your child goes, just that you are assured he/she will go into a school no more than 2km from your home.
This will break up all clan/church associations (shouldn't all schools be secular???), and all those parents wanting to send their children to so called \"popular\" schools. Or parents from elite schools wanting to send their offspring back to so called elite schools creating this 'better than thou' mentality. There will be an even and fairer mix of students from all walks of life and all backgrounds in EVERY school.
JMHO. Think it's ridiculous children have to go to schools far away just cos it's one of the 'top' or more prestigious schools and so on...
Mummyo :goodpost:
http://www.elite.com.sg/phase2B-ballot-2009.page
Example under Ai Tong School area : -
http://www.elite.com.sg/579646.page
The above website shows that in Singapore,
there's quite a lot of schools (Primary and Secondary) being built all around individual housing estate area.
Our government really try very hard to accommodate our needs . :rahrah:
Sengkang is building a new primary school along Anchorvale Link. Now is still under constructions. Heard from others that government is building more of secondary school too in Sengkang area . :rahrah: -
Well, I know some may beg to differ from my point here but seriously this PV thing is really creating the big hoo-haa - already 2 cases here in JW area [last year West Grove and this year Rulang] :sad:
Champion, to be fair, the case between West Grove and Rulang is different.
I think West Grove took some 100+ PVs, we all could already guess that this will not even be close to what they will have to offer.
On the other hand, Rulang has a stringent screening process and interview which selects only 20% of those who apply for PV.
I agree full-heartedly that it is heart-wrenching for many Rulang PVs this year.
I suspect that Rulang did not see it coming.. but I may be wrong.. -
Here is a disappointed Rulang PV defending for Rulang:

I do not think Rulang has foreseen this. The current situation is a result of a combination of events:
1) Reduction of intake
2) Increase in applications under phases 1 and 2
The school has planned their PVs based on the average numbers of last three years which is, in my opinion, reasonable.
The fact that the school makes a point to meet the disappointed PVs and to advise and render help to them is a good gesture showing that they value their PVs.
mummyo:
I dun think this is a good idea at all. SO those good schools that are near landed or private estates can only be for the RICH? E.g. Nanyang, MGS, HPPS, ACS?The absolute fairest way is to allocate schools according to where you stay, so you don't get to choose where your child goes, just that you are assured he/she will go into a school no more than 2km from your home.
This method will set the rich-poor class barrier even further. And those parent who can't afford to stay there should blame themselves for being poor? :stupid: -
Pen88n:
Well, in this case it will still create a big imbalance in everyone wants to get properties within certain estates close to good schools to ensure they get to the schools...
You're not getting my point. There won't be no NYPS or RGPS, so called \"better\" schools. There will be an even mix of students in EVERY school, not just elite parents sending their \"elite\" offspring to these schools. There will be no such thing as popular or not popular schools as you will have NO CHOICE where you go.
In estates with both private and HDB housing, the percentage of the student intake will mirror that of the housing type around the schools.
Of course there will be spots whereby there are no schools within 2km of your residence then your child will be posted to a school maybe 3 or 4km away.
Of course not everyone will be happy in any system but my opinion is that this will be the fairest system yet and take away all these stress of registering your child here or there, waste time PV can't get in etc.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.