Myanmar maids

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Domestic Help
    799 Posts 94 Posters 526.4k Views 1 Watching
      hquek

I gave my B-maid phone cards - yes, she also got no control. will talk and talk until the card run out. Each time it runs out, she’ll be like ‘sssst’. I quietly wonder why she dun ration so can call more times - got so many things to say meh?

I gave her envelop and letter materials, but she told me her village is very far away, no mail service. So we don’t provide anymore. Apparently it takes 3 whole days of rail/road travel from Yangon.

It’s really quite sad. Buy 1 phone card, Indo can yak for hours; but myan is so expensive…she can only talk for a short time. I just bought one from peninsula plaza…that one can talk longer. Starhub ones useless - same price but can only talk for half the time. Chey!

Anyway, mine is still ok. When she first came, we bought a few cards for her. But after a while, she told us she don’t want. So we now only get for her if she’s remitting money home (must check mah), or special occasions.

fifiyeo

Haiz.. Yesterday my maid told me the brother is going to come to Singapore to work in end July and she wants to go out to meet him. Currently she doesn't have off day. What do you think I should do?

Who do you know if he's really her brother?

fifiyeo

My Burmese maids used to laugh and talk very loudly (more like shout) on the phone. She would stand and put her leg up on my dinning chair and her voice can be heard loud and clear from the upper floors of my house when they were on the phone. My mom was stocked to hear it. Hahaha… thinking back it was funny!

moonee

big snoopy, Brother or boyfriend? My past agent of 12 years used to advise not to let maids meet up with so called brother etc, even if the guys really her brother. Its more for safety reasons, he also warn that its not too advisable for the guy to come by the house too. Even tho its her brother, he is a stranger to u and u never know wat can happen in the near future.

I would explain to my maid the situation and the most I can do for her is to let her talk on the phone with him. After all he just arrived and needs time to settle down too.
            We always try to accomodate but nowadays we never know wat can happen. U can tell ur maid u need to call ur agent on this matter, Im sure she will understand and not kick up a fuss if its her brother.
            Its best not to let this guy know or get close to ur home too. Dangerous!

• Y Offline
              yanyan

this morning my maid get on my nerves again...in a short span of 1hr..kena scolding 3 times..

1) Didnt make coffee for hb. Ask her why? she say Ah Ma (my mum) say sunday, monday... I juz cut her short..wat ah ma say? i dun care wat ah ma say..u are in my house..You 6am wake up means u have to make coffee, 7am (i let her wake up later on wkends) means you dun need to make

2) Call her twice but no response. And she is juz 30 steps away from me. Scold her say If I call / Anybody call, Say YES

3) Ask her to wash DD milk bottle. My hb use a cup to make hot her milk as she refuse to drink. She wash cup but not bottle. I :mad: am say Why u wash cup and not bottle...She say not finished. I say I tell u to wash, you wash!

WL..spoil my friday morning.... arrghhh... :stompfeet:

• 1 Offline
                1amber

moonee:
                We always try to accomodate but nowadays we never know wat can happen. U can tell ur maid u need to call ur agent on this matter, Im sure she will understand and not kick up a fuss if its her brother.

Its best not to let this guy know or get close to ur home too. Dangerous!
                Agree totally. seems also like everyone they know is their brother or sister.

hquek

Thing with Burmese is that I hear their pride is very strong. So with mine, I tread very carefully and politely.

• Y Offline
                    yanyan

Thanks LKVM...

Btw..how do you all handle hb whom dun like maids? My hb kp telling me he dun like her, their ba zhi clash...i gg to faintz...haiz...super fan sia! :faint:

hquek

hi yanyan,

My dh is just so grateful that he wun nid to do housework that he wun tell me he dun like her.

If mine tries that, I’ll just hand the broom etc to him and tell him to do the work since he hiam.

• Y Offline
                        yanyan

hi yanyan,

My dh is just so grateful that he wun nid to do housework that he wun tell me he dun like her.

If mine tries that, I'll just hand the broom etc to him and tell him to do the work since he hiam.
                        Haha..idea..but my hb dun buy it 1 la..he will tell me later lor...he very fan 1 la...wanna behave like ah sia yet so stingy..haha

anw..i juz tell him off say if he complain so much, he go do her job then i will consider striking maid off..and tat includes playing and feeding my daughter (which he cant manage)..

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 30 / 80