SBS Transit, SMRT submit applications for fare adjustment
hard to undstand gahmen role in this la.
I wonder what's the government's role in this? Our transport minister's role in this? They are not even in the PTC's board... :?Strparent:
Public Transport - to raise again the fares ? Justifiable or not ? I vote ney.....oh, sorry, we are not allowed to vote on this, it is up to PTC.
our public tansport compnies are listed, so minster of tanspot must answer to shareholders, not to public. tio bo? -
Today's report.....There you go....some good suggestions in red.
What are the social costs of COEs?
By Christopher Tan
For many people, the Certificate of Entitlement (COE) system still holds novelty and controversy, despite having been around for more than 20 years.
It places a sizeable financial burden on new-car buyers, and COE premiums always make good cocktail conversation, whether they're climbing towards record levels or plummeting to ridiculous lows.
Faced with one of the smallest supplies of certificates, we are now witnessing an uptrend in premiums that started two years ago, and which is likely to continue for another two years or so.
For last month's first tender, the Category A premium (for cars up to 1600cc and taxis) reached $53,390, less than $10,000 away from the all-time high of $62,208 posted in 1997.
The Category B premium (for cars above 1600cc) hit $63,000. Barring the $102,002 and $110,500 premiums posted in late 1994, $63,000 is still among the highest prices ever recorded.
As recently as two years ago, both premiums were below $10,000.
The sharp spike over such a short span of time is worrying. And things are not looking good in the near term, either. COE supply, allotted in six-monthly quotas, is determined largely by the number of vehicles scrapped in the preceding six months. Right now, we're witnessing a deregistration drought.
So, in all likelihood, COE supply will either remain as scarce as it is now, or shrink even further. Hence, premiums could rise further. By the middle of next year, we could be looking at $65,000 for Cat A and $75,000 for Cat B.
From economic and environmental points of view, high COE prices can be considered either neutral or positive. Economically, the consumer most willing to pay for an item gets it.
And the annual COE revenue of around $2 billion, like all tax revenues, goes towards benefitting society at large.
Environmentally, the COE system helps control Singapore's vehicle population and, consequently, prevents road congestion as well as noise and air pollution.
But soaring COE rates also exert a hefty social cost - they serve to widen the gap between the haves and the have-nots. For example, upmarket marques are flourishing at the expense of mass-market brands because of the soaring COEs, as the sellers of premium cars simply have fatter margins to bid.
In the first five months of this year, the top five best-selling brands were BMW, Toyota, Mercedes-Benz, Volkswagen and Audi (in descending order). Three of those are luxury makes. If that's not enough, Porsche was among the 10 best-sellers. Imagine that!
Over time, this could lead to growing resentment among residents, especially if local wage earners are completely priced out of the car market, while wealthy immigrants continue snapping up flashy Bimmers and Porsches.
More insidiously, high vehicle prices contribute to inflation. Singapore's consumer price index has been creeping upwards in recent quarters, fuelled partly by the higher cost of cars.
Ironically, rising inflation will also have a direct impact in the form of public-transport fare increases. This inflationary pressure will be felt most keenly by lower-wage earners. Again, this will have an undesirable social fallout.
One way to defuse this would be to channel car-related taxes towards improving welfare for the masses. Right now, the vast majority of taxes and tariffs go into the country's Consolidated Fund, which is then disbursed for national spending. The link between COE revenue and investment in, say, a new MRT line is invisible to the masses.
It would help, perhaps, if car-related taxes could be used solely to improve public transport. The British government does this - it uses revenue raised through London's congestion pricing to beef up the city's public bus fleet.
Even if we do not actually institutionalise this practice, we can find innovative ways of communicating the link between tax collection and public spending.
For instance, we could put up signs on the hoardings of MRT construction sites that say: \"Brought to you with COE revenue collected from 2009 to 2010\".
The message is factual and light-hearted and, who knows, it might even warm the often-icy relationship between the Government and the governed. -
some rich people say buy smrt shares
how many to buy? how much ar?
people affected by fare increase can afford it?
fare increase benefit who? shareholders or those crammed inside buses and trains? -
Its actually a pretty good idea, IMO. Tax from private transport to subsidise public transport, works for me.
Ironically, rising inflation will also have a direct impact in the form of public-transport fare increases. This inflationary pressure will be felt most keenly by lower-wage earners. Again, this will have an undesirable social fallout.
One way to defuse this would be to channel car-related taxes towards improving welfare for the masses. Right now, the vast majority of taxes and tariffs go into the country's Consolidated Fund, which is then disbursed for national spending. The link between COE revenue and investment in, say, a new MRT line is invisible to the masses.
It would help, perhaps, if car-related taxes could be used solely to improve public transport. The British government does this - it uses revenue raised through London's congestion pricing to beef up the city's public bus fleet. -
Errr....I think that's your opinion only, not sure you can really speak for the majority of the public. When the company is loss making and tries to raise fares, just wait to see the crying and teeth-grinding.
I disagree. If the company posted zero profits or losses, surely the majority of the public would be agreeable to a fare hike. On the other hand, they might even welcomed a fare hike as it could lead to better quality of service. And snowman could bring in all his arguments and many pple would be interested to read.
And surely there will not be so much complaints.
Why do we have to wait fort eh company to be loss making before we take action. As I said, it only costs a family of 4 something between $60-$80 per month for the 'profits'. Is that an unreasonable price to pay to ensure a sustainable rail system? -
Basically for me, if the fares aren't increasing, I really won't bother to look at how much profit the co. is making. The fares increase, together with ev. else, yet salary not increasing, that becomes a problem.
Errr....I think that's your opinion only, not sure you can really speak for the majority of the public. When the company is loss making and tries to raise fares, just wait to see the crying and teeth-grinding.limlim:
I disagree. If the company posted zero profits or losses, surely the majority of the public would be agreeable to a fare hike. On the other hand, they might even welcomed a fare hike as it could lead to better quality of service. And snowman could bring in all his arguments and many pple would be interested to read.
And surely there will not be so much complaints.
Why do we have to wait fort eh company to be loss making before we take action. As I said, it only costs a family of 4 something between $60-$80 per month for the 'profits'. Is that an unreasonable price to pay to ensure a sustainable rail system?
I see new buses and I wonder if it is quality that is more important or quantity. I still have memories of private buses being allowed to run as public buses, and that helped during peak hours.
When TV mobile were installed, I fretted at their redundancy, and wondered whether that's the kind of 'improvement' talked about with the fare hikes.
And I wonder how many people who invest in the company actually use the public transport as their main means of transport. -
$60-$80 for family of four per month? I am a stay at home mum now.
I used to pay more than $80 per month for my transport and that was more than 4 years ago… -
blueblue:
$60-$80 towards profits, or $15-$20/month.$60-$80 for family of four per month? I am a stay at home mum now.
I used to pay more than $80 per month for my transport and that was more than 4 years ago...... -
Why not allow private companies to "support" conjested lines?
Kudos to snowman for his insights, I never would have gone into such technical details.
All the talk about profits, I had this sudden thought. Profit is a mathematical figure derived from revenue minus cost. That’s the easy part. the tough part is what goes into cost. If a company depreciates its vehicles over 10 years, vs another that depreciates over 5 years - the first one will report higher profits becos depreciation is lower but end up there may be other side effects - aging fleet, increasing maintenance. My very limited knowledge is that companies generally have some flexibility to determine what their policies are. So is profit really such a good ballpark? Money that has to be spent on buying new vehicles/equipment don’t go into cost - it’ll show up later under depreciation.
Costs are increasing, raw materials (steel, rubber, etc) price increase, oil price increase. All this is happening on a global scale. Staff in the transport co are also hoping for increment. If fares were to remain stagnant, but the public still clamour for more buses to be put on the road, more trains to be made available - what’s going to give? Are the operators going to be able to replace the aging fleet?
Of course, I will kena hit by the increased costs, and for that I won’t be happy. Just as I had to accept the recent electricity tariff hike, I guess I’ll have to suffer this also. But hopefully, govt will come up with something to ensure that the genuine poor is buffered against these increases.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.