Opinions of the Primary School Registration System
NonKiasuDad:
Not Singaporean, no chance? PRs can try for any phases although with 1 vote vs 2 votes for Singaporeans so why no chance?KSP:
[quote=\"NonKiasuDad\"]But how many within 1km will be Singaporeans Vs how many PRs? If you are Singaporean and live within 1km, should have a very good chance?
Any idea how many PRs tried last year in P2C? I see quite a number of ang moh kia going to RGPS in the afternoon. They cannot be Singaporeans right?
Non-Singaporeans and non-PRs can register in P3, if I am not wrong.
What I am saying is that if PR can get in last year when there was balloting for <1km, that means that there must be lots of PRs trying and less Singaporeans trying otherwise, how come PRs can get in??[/quote]oh, i got mixed up with non Singapore Citizens and PR...... :slapshead:
that is an ang moh area especially 6th ave..... -
ya lor, we are only 'xiao ren wu' (small fly), far away from an Education minister.
kekekekekek
:snuggles: :imcool:
but at times, i dread to think what kind of vacancies our grandchildren can possibly have 30 yrs later ? :?:
Parents want to play this game, pls obey the rule lo.
Nobody force us to select famous school .
Nobody force us not to select neighborhood school which have many balance vacancies .
We need foreigner to bring up our properties price and economic, this is the side effect we need to face. We are kiasu but foreigner even more kiasu cos they have spent million $ here.
Btw, I am also a Singaporean affected by this present situation. -
My ex-colleague, a Malaysian and PR (still one) has been living in S'pore for donkey years since his NUS days. His wife, also a PR and studied in NUS. They have a pair of sons. He once said that there is no need to become a S'porean
as he enjoys exactly the same benefits except the rights to buy a new flat and to vote. The first one is easy, as he could just buy a resale flat or pte condo and they didn't care to vote. Their kids entered a Methodist Pri Sch via Ph 2B, so no sweat at all
! The school fees is a bit higher but they can well afford it. The reason for keeping the M'sian citizenship? He hope to balik kampong one of these days. Recently, I've just heard a good news, one that our government would be glad to sing about... finally after having the foreign talents here for more that 2 decades, the reward is here.. the eldest son decided to become a Singapore and is serving Army now! This is so for Malaysian PR, but it is Not in many cases, such as China Chinese PR here who often take Singapore as a springboard where kids would proceed to a US/UK education after O levels here. These people do no deserve to be treated equally at Ph 2C. They should be in Ph 3. In this way, PRs will realise and appreciate the 'benefits' of being a citizen and convert to one before they fight with us for the limited vacancies! -
:goodpost:puff:
Too bad we r not the minister :rotflmao: :rotflmao:
Minister said SINGAPOREANS FIRST but cannot exclude foreigners.
PRs say they also pay tax...so should be entitled to fair benefits.
Honestly, Phase 1 and 2 should be PURELY for Singaporean born parents and kids. PRs are enjoying benefits like Singaporeans...just that they don't vote. Sad to say, if they are not happy here, they can just pack and go back to country of origin. -
Atan:
My ex-colleague, a Malaysian and PR (still one) has been living in S'pore for donkey years since his NUS days. His wife, also a PR and studied in NUS. They have a pair of sons. He once said that there is no need to become a S'porean
as he enjoys exactly the same benefits except the rights to buy a new flat and to vote. The first one is easy, as he could just buy a resale flat or pte condo and they didn't care to vote. Their kids entered a Methodist Pri Sch via Ph 2B, so no sweat at all
! The school fees is a bit higher but they can well afford it. The reason for keeping the M'sian citizenship? He hope to balik kampong one of these days. Recently, I've just heard a good news, one that our government would be glad to sing about... finally after having the foreign talents here for more that 2 decades, the reward is here.. the eldest son decided to become a Singapore and is serving Army now! This is so for Malaysian PR, but it is Not in many cases, such as China Chinese PR here who often take Singapore as a springboard where kids would proceed to a US/UK education after O levels here. These people do no deserve to be treated equally at Ph 2C. They should be in Ph 3. In this way, PRs will realise and appreciate the 'benefits' of being a citizen and convert to one before they fight with us for the limited vacancies!
likewise, malaysian pr friends' son will be doing his ns when he is 18. they are all for doing ns but take up spore citizen is a no no. -
Why serve NS and not take up citizenship :scratchhead: ? What's in for these kids for serving NS?
To me putting our citizens first before PR or foreigners is just like parents taking care of their own kids first before looking after their neighboursโs kids.
Atan:
Why serve NS and not take up citizenship :scratchhead: ? What's in for these kids for serving NS?
Under the law, 2nd generation PRs need to serve. No choice! -
Edureach:
What is the point of serving NS but in your heart u dun feel u belong hereAtan:
Under the law, 2nd generation PRs need to serve. No choice! -
Thanks for the info.. I didn't know it, so I may have misunderstood ans my ex-colleague's son may not have taken up citizenship then... :roll:
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.