Mind Research Consultant (MRC) - Discussion

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Brain Training & Thinking Skills
    15 Posts 6 Posters 5.1k Views 1 Watching
    • Y Offline
      yeomaylin

This centre offers nursery & kindergarten classes. Anybody has any comment to share on this centre? All comments are welcomed.

adafew

I have signed up a trial on mandarin for my DS1…will let u kw his feedback after tat.

My friend enrolled both her kids at Katong branch. Her comments, good. Her son able to read after 3 months into lesson

• Y Offline
          yeomaylin

Tks a lot! Will wait for your reply.

adafew

Hi Maylin,

My DS1 did his trial on Friday last week. I did not visit the classroom and teacher, my DH did. His first comment after sending my boy is ‘I don’t think he’s going to enjoy’…I asked him why and he said the teacher dont seems ‘interesting’…men you know…

What surprise him is when he pickup my DS1 and he actually said he enjoyed the class and wanted to return again! I asked my DS1 what he likes. He cant seems to be able to describe well but mentioned they learned many words on vegetables. They also did some art and craft (did a flag).

I was tempted to sign…but I actually enrolled him for Tian Hsia’s trial at Simei Eastpoint Mall as well. So thought will decide on either center after that trial.

End result, we finally decided to enrol him to Tian Hsia due to following consideration

1) environment seems better
            2) center only focus on mandarin teaching
            3) Good mix in area of learning (word recognition, hanyu pinyin, composition, comprehension etc)
            4) allows makeup lesson

Frankly, I am still thinking if I should sign him for this MRC still (just dont want to give him too much stress)

• Y Offline
              yeomaylin

Hi Adafew,

Tks 4 d feedback. How old is your DS1? Sound to me he is quite a smart chap 😄 . I'm still looking where 2 register my son 4 nursery class next yr.
              Believe it or not, I'm still searching & it is Aug now 😓 ! My concern is tat I felt my son is a bit 'slow'. He dun seem 2 understand instruction or make sentences-conversation. Hence, I'm looking 4 nursery where d patient teachers can teach him to express himself.

I understand tat 3Q MRC Junior @ Tampines Blk 201E is more academic based. There are lots of worksheets & studies. I dunno whether my son can catch up or even understand d teachers... sigh... 😞

I'm oso looking at Soka Association Nursery & Kindergarten as well as The Learning Curve @ Tampines Mart.

Your feedback is so much appreciated. Tks a lot sincerely 😄 .

amylqf

nope. I don’t have good experience when I attend the trial with my girl. at that time, my girl is still young, need warm up for the new environment. they are so unfriendly and unflexible and insist to chase me out from classroom. I mean what’s to hide? that’s the whole purpose of the trial class to let the parents see how center conduct the class, isn’t it?

adafew

yeomaylin:
                  Hi Adafew,

Tks 4 d feedback. How old is your DS1? Sound to me he is quite a smart chap 😄 . I'm still looking where 2 register my son 4 nursery class next yr.
                  Believe it or not, I'm still searching & it is Aug now 😓 ! My concern is tat I felt my son is a bit 'slow'. He dun seem 2 understand instruction or make sentences-conversation. Hence, I'm looking 4 nursery where d patient teachers can teach him to express himself.

I understand tat 3Q MRC Junior @ Tampines Blk 201E is more academic based. There are lots of worksheets & studies. I dunno whether my son can catch up or even understand d teachers... sigh... 😞

I'm oso looking at Soka Association Nursery & Kindergarten as well as The Learning Curve @ Tampines Mart.

Your feedback is so much appreciated. Tks a lot sincerely 😄 .

Hi Maylin,

I dont know where you live but my two DSs are up at Kinderland at Upper Changi (opps SIA training center) my DS2 (pre-nursery) seems to enjoy it very much. I have heard Zoo-phonics at Tampines Mart (I think they do have nursery class) and Orange tree (at Simei Eastpoint point) seems good. You might like to check those out.

adafew

amylqf:
                    nope. I don't have good experience when I attend the trial with my girl. at that time, my girl is still young, need warm up for the new environment. they are so unfriendly and unflexible and insist to chase me out from classroom. I mean what's to hide? that's the whole purpose of the trial class to let the parents see how center conduct the class, isn't it?

Hi Amy,
                    Maybe its like what my DH 'felt' in the beginning? but that experience of yours certainly sounds unacceptable. They should really make you feel more welcoming then pushing you 'away'? When I first discussed with the 'principal', he seems very approachable and even suggested that we try out the chinese then abacus (another interest area for us) since that (abacus) may bored the kids out....

• Y Offline
                      yeomaylin

Tks, Adafew. Will check out the places you have mentioned. I’m putting up at Tampines St 32. The 2 places you’ve mentioned are near to my house. Keep in touch.

adafew

yeomaylin:
                        Tks, Adafew. Will check out the places you have mentioned. I'm putting up at Tampines St 32. The 2 places you've mentioned are near to my house. Keep in touch.

Hi Maylin, all the best to your enrolment then...I can understand the consideration parents have to go ghru' just for our kids...

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 1 / 2

iworkI
                        iwork