[Choa Chu Kang] Primary Schools
Anna, you are a teacher ? You use to teach in YTPS ? Maybe I have met you before..
honeybeel : Sam Wong is a very dynamic principal. He speaks well and he seems very warm & kind. It was rumoured that MOE sent him to Kranji to up the enrollment. The lady VP is also very nice. I don't know about the new principal though. Kranji has vacancies in phase 3 so the school has many(more than the other schools) pupils from China, Korea, Phillipines. If you look on the positive side, it has a multi-cultural feel and fewer classes so your child has more opportunities for different experiences.eg. participate in concerts, show&tell, selected as pupil leader/prefect. On a negative note, teachers MAY need to go slower as most of these children need more attention & help with our syllabus. After all, they are not prepped by the local kindys and enrichment classes. P1->P2 is enbloc promotion, P2->P3 they are put into classes according to results. Hence, at P3, the child will be in a similar ability class (banded class) or a mixed ability class. I'll suggest you monitor your child's progess in P1 and take appropriate actions. There are reasons why this school is not so popular but there are also children who did well and achieved their potentials. There is also an element of luck - depends on what kind of classmates and teachers she gets.
Btw, I am new to this forum. My child is in SV..upper primary liao. I went through all these years ago.
Hope this helps. -
cafelatte:
Yes, indeed it helps. I am quite uncertain of the school as not much discussion in the forum and information on the website.Anna, you are a teacher ? You use to teach in YTPS ? Maybe I have met you before..
honeybeel : Sam Wong is a very dynamic principal. He speaks well and he seems very warm & kind. It was rumoured that MOE sent him to Kranji to up the enrollment. The lady VP is also very nice. I don't know about the new principal though. Kranji has vacancies in phase 3 so the school has many(more than the other schools) pupils from China, Korea, Phillipines. If you look on the positive side, it has a multi-cultural feel and fewer classes so your child has more opportunities for different experiences.eg. participate in concerts, show&tell, selected as pupil leader/prefect. On a negative note, teachers MAY need to go slower as most of these children need more attention & help with our syllabus. After all, they are not prepped by the local kindys and enrichment classes. P1->P2 is enbloc promotion, P2->P3 they are put into classes according to results. Hence, at P3, the child will be in a similar ability class (banded class) or a mixed ability class. I'll suggest you monitor your child's progess in P1 and take appropriate actions. There are reasons why this school is not so popular but there are also children who did well and achieved their potentials. There is also an element of luck - depends on what kind of classmates and teachers she gets.
Btw, I am new to this forum. My child is in SV..upper primary liao. I went through all these years ago.
Hope this helps.
But anyway, it is fated, and perhaps she can get good teachers and buddies there.
Today, my girl also ask me whether the school is good. I was \"huh!\" :shock: . she also have a discussion among her classmates (just like us kiasu parents...). Then I ask her how to you think about the school. Her answer was: I think the school is good because the building is very colourful.
Thankfully, she is positive about the school.. :rahrah: -
All CCK mums can actually join the Wild Wild West Club for discussion on non-P1 related stuff here:
http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2724&start=330 -
Dear Ramya:
I am also not clear about the education system here, that's why i join this Kiasu Parent.com and definitely this is the right place to get the “formal” & “informal” information, besides that can chit chat also. Not only about the education, also “weight management”.
Dear Cafelattle:
Thanks for your comments of the Kranji PS, and so far I think not much discussion about this school & I believe that the info helps lots of parents who register their kid in yr09 or in future.
I not a full time teacher in YT, just a relief teacher when I was doing my master in NUS 8 years ago. To be frank, cannot really remember my colleagues already. :lol: :lol:
Dear Honeybeel:
I think most importantly you should not “show” that you are very disappointed of Kranji PS as this may cos negative impacts to your girl. Since you have to accept this reality, just think positively and as what cafelattle said “monitor your child’s progress”. I believe your girl will be doing well; she is very mature compare with my boy. -
Anna Ng:
Yes, I am very clear we parent really play a very important part on how we may influence them and the children are very smart and they really can pick-up what's in your mind.....Dear Ramya:
I am also not clear about the education system here, that's why i join this Kiasu Parent.com and definitely this is the right place to get the “formal” & “informal” information, besides that can chit chat also. Not only about the education, also “weight management”.
Dear Cafelattle:
Thanks for your comments of the Kranji PS, and so far I think not much discussion about this school & I believe that the info helps lots of parents who register their kid in yr09 or in future.
I not a full time teacher in YT, just a relief teacher when I was doing my master in NUS 8 years ago. To be frank, cannot really remember my colleagues already. :lol: :lol:
Dear Honeybeel:
I think most importantly you should not “show” that you are very disappointed of Kranji PS as this may cos negative impacts to your girl. Since you have to accept this reality, just think positively and as what cafelattle said “monitor your child’s progress”. I believe your girl will be doing well; she is very mature compare with my boy.
I am going to Kranji PS for P1 registration later in the afternoon. Will also bring my girl along. -
Honeybeel, Good Luck to you & your girl for registration at 2c supp today! :rahrah:
Hi Honeybeel, all the best to you and your little DD.
Btw, I’m not sure whether you’ve put your DD on waitlist at other schools. If not actually you can consider to fill up the wait list form at Unity, Yew Tee and DLS. At the same time, you can monitor her progress when she study at KPS. This is what I’ve heard from my colleague that one of her friend didn’t get into her 1st choice of school and so she told the principal to put her child on wait list finally got a place there months later. I think there is no harm to wait list even if you DD already study P1 at KPS, you can monitor her progress and then decide later. I’m not sure whether these schools allow to wait list but my gal school’s principal announced to those parents who got balloted out to fill up the wait list form and they will give them priority when there is a vacancy. -
Hi Tri-mum, I think Honeybeel has put her dd into all 3 schools
waiting list on 11th Aug itself if I am not wrong....
Honeybeel, what tri-mum said is true. You can monitor
the progress of your dd's performance & then decide on the
switch of school when opportunity arises......this will also
give your 2nd child better opportunity in the school of your choice
ultimately.
BTW Tri-mum, did u already mention how u will be settling
for your dd's transport to school at St Margaret? Sorry if I
hv lost track..... :salute: -
Tri-mum:
Yes, I did....here it is. :celebrate: so next year, I'll be the first to report work liao.....my boss shld nominate me for Best Employee of the year :lol:
Fortunately, the school starts lesson at 8am and assembly at 7.40am so we plan to drive her to school at 7am before we goes to work (both of us work in central) so it is on the way. Anyway, we shall see the school bus arrangement as well. I've checked with their school bus operator and they told me they cater a direct bus from CCK to the school and currently there are about 8-9 students fm CCK and pick up is around 6.20am from my block but shall see what is the route arrangement next year and then decide we will drive her or she can take school bus.baby2momma:
:congrats: tri-mum.....
so now ur dd is successful in St Marge, how u going to handle the distance? will u think of shifting??
Yes, we thought of shifting to central area eventually since her Sec school is at Farrer Road (will be convenient next time when she travel to school) since no school bus will be provided for most Sec school lor.
Anna, St Mar Primary is at Wilkie Road near to Dhoby Ghuat. -
If u got time read this http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?t=1732&start=1065&postdays=0&postorder=asc&highlight= something about ST Margaret. PS. Not sure whether trim-mum got the similar experience or not?
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.