Opinions of the Primary School Registration System
Who say govt sch dun have political leaning?? Its subjective.
GRL will definitely disagree with you as they would feel that they are contributing to the community and country.
And if it a contribution, then why does it need to be compensated for by priority P1 registration? -
GRL will definitely disagree with you as they would feel that they are contributing to the community and country.
In that case they should get priority for everything since they are contributing to the country. Priority in HDB flats, priority in medical care etc. :scared: :yikes: :slapshead: -
smurf:
Who say govt sch dun have political leaning?? Its subjective.
eg the so-called 'national education'.......better don't touch politics in ksp forum -
In that case, GRL should have priority in HDB queues, medical care... -
someone once told me her not proven theory
Schools like PV. Parents who are concerned enough about their children education and willing to invest hours of their time to get into the school, will most likely be willing spend a lot more time teaching & guiding their children. such children will generally do better in their studies and make the school looks good.
furthermore, such parents are more likely than others to continue to volunteer while their children are studying there. -
Everybody will want to "keep" their status eg. if you’re GRL, of course you don’t want your privilege to be removed or if your church has affiliated schools then of course you will want the privilege too. So there isn’t one system that will please all.
The PV system allows normal folks like me to have some sort of privilege to get my child into a school of my choice. I don’t have the money to buy a home near the school. I don’t have a religion and I don’t wish to be a GRL as I don’t support the current government (but that’s just me) so I prefer to volunteer in the school of my choice, it allows me to get to know the culture of the school at the same time as well.
Most parents go into PV KNOWING that it’s not a guaranteed slot in the school so when that actually happens, they complained that they have wasted their time. Some complain that they have to to take time off their busy work etc. etc. (eg. making money and contributing to the country, more like their own pockets) so it’s an unfair system, blah blah blah.
What I like to say is, don’t PV if you are so busy earning money. Send your child to a less popular school. It’s NO BIG DEAL! But there are parents like me who would waste time PV just to get a shot at the popular schools so don’t discount us just cause you don’t have the time or are not willing to do so.
Schools need free labour and parents who want to get their kids in are happy to provide such free labour so why not??? Win-win what.
The thing is, know what you sign up for and don’t complain when the "bad luck" part catches up with you. -
pinky:
is it true that parents who volunteer in the RC have to work for 2 years before they are placed in 2B category..? or is it 2C?
GRL falls into Phase 2B.
There is a need to first be Observer and then be confirmed etc etc...Check out this thread for more details.http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?f=5&t=420 -
feels the whole system sucks…everyone should be given a fair chance … it is unfair for ppl with no religion, working and cant volunteer…didnt even know got such a scheme until someone told me recently… not an alumni or the school dont have any siblings… open it up for every one to register and then ballot… fair and square… why stress parents to such an extent that have to move to that location… must donate money only can get in… verfy ridiculous…
I thought GRL already has priority in choosing HDB flats?tankee:
In that case, GRL should have priority in HDB queues, medical care...
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.