Opinions of the Primary School Registration System
Do you think that being nearer to a good sch is the main priority in choosing a flat? I think many people buy flat to be near parents, to be near town, etc. Being near to a good sch or popular sch may be a factor, but I dun think that is the MAIN priority in peoples choice.
smurf:
Of course the nearest ones will get a seat.
then some people may start complaining that popular schools are driving up property prices, and other parents may complain that it is unfair as this favour the rich who can afford to such properties. -
sleepy:
high density areas will have to count the vertical distance toosmurf:
Proximity is not only fairer, but it's also better for the child in the long run. Six years is not a short period. If the sch is very far, or even if 10 mins drive (public takes longer), the child is going to burn out very fast, after p3 with added CCA, this is going to be a burden.
I wonder how to implement? within 50m, 50-100m, 100-200m?
Area like bukit timah less densely populated so first 500m probably all get in. Densely populated areas like tampines then every meter matters
don't laugh ! ground floor units for HDB flats will be more in demand now.....haven't we heard enough people rejected 2nd floor units from HDB ?
certainly 2nd floor unit is nearer to the school than 25th floor -
yes yes yessmurf:
Of course the nearest ones will get a seat.
then some people may start complaining that popular schools are driving up property prices, and other parents may complain that it is unfair as this favour the rich who can afford to such properties.
and this will go back to square #1 again again
moving house to a popular school is universal
孟母三迁! -
high density areas will have to count the vertical distance toosleepy:
[quote=\"smurf\"]Proximity is not only fairer, but it's also better for the child in the long run. Six years is not a short period. If the sch is very far, or even if 10 mins drive (public takes longer), the child is going to burn out very fast, after p3 with added CCA, this is going to be a burden.
I wonder how to implement? within 50m, 50-100m, 100-200m?
Area like bukit timah less densely populated so first 500m probably all get in. Densely populated areas like tampines then every meter matters
don't laugh ! ground floor units for HDB flats will be more in demand now.....haven't we heard enough people rejected 2nd floor units from HDB ?
certainly 2nd floor unit is nearer to the school than 25th floor[/quote]
:laugh:
Exactly my point! No one system can please everyone!
People who are complaining are the ones caught out by the system.
I rest my case. -
In fact just the opposite in LA. I have heard of American parents in CAL who move out of the neighbourhood as the school is \"very good\" ie too competitive and this they feels puts the kids under intense stress.
And people there move house to be near good schools. :scared:
Needless to say that these areas are in hot demand by the Asian community
Sun_2010:
Sun_2010:
the Asian kiasu community
In fact just the opposite in LA. I have heard of American parents in CAL who move out of the neighbourhood as the school is \"very good\" ie too competitive and this they feels puts the kids under intense stress.jtoh:
and, however, they will not move out of the California state boundary because being 'Californians' they have preferential school fees when entering those elite uni in CA -
Sun_2010:
Being chased out of their own neighbourhood by Asians. hhmmm...
In fact just the opposite in LA. I have heard of American parents in CAL who move out of the neighbourhood as the school is \"very good\" ie too competitive and this they feels puts the kids under intense stress.jtoh:
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.