Opinions of the Primary School Registration System

2.2k Posts 485 Posters 1.0m Views 1 Watching
      MumandMe

In that case, GRL should have priority in HDB queues, medical care…[/quote]

I thought GRL already has priority in choosing HDB flats?[/quote]

And healthcare right? Didn’t some minister pay just $8 for his heart-bypass surgery?[/quote]

Gosh! That’s not because he’s a minister. But becos he bought medical insurance using MediShield. You and I can buy the same using our Medishield too. Do get the facts right before posting or others might be misled.

NonKiasuDad

NonKiasuDad:

That's because the figure includes PRs. There are soooo..... many PRs living within 1 km of brand name schools in B Timah. This is going too far. I think give them 1/2 chance also not fair to us citizens.

If they really want good schools, then become citizens lah!

how do you know there are so many PRs ? and around NYPS is mostly landed housing, and many of them are already under Phase 1 due to siblings .... but for first time registration got so many ? how many are not staying there ? that is what I am trying to ask !!

Because I went to RGPS and saw lots of Indians with Indian accent and some even ask for PR reg. Also ang moh.

You ask yourself, Singaporeans where got so many children ... especially the rich Singaporeans? Rich Singaporeans usually have less or no children so the supply must come from rich foreigners who have better fertility rates in their countries, namely, India and China. Even if we Singaporeans get 2 chances, it is not good enough. Some of us will be deprived of a place and some PRs will surely get in.

MOE must look into this matter otherwise Singaporeans will be marginalised in no time. Our gahmen of course hope these PRs will become citizens but you talk to these PRs and you know that's a pipe dream.

MumandMe

smurf:
          Wanted to say this, but I think may be 'stoned' by others.

All these priority phases should not be given to PRs. If you are really sure you want your child to study in the primary schs for six years, then you should change your citizenship.

Actually, the best is to allocate the child to the sch based on proximity. Doesn't matter if flats around the sch shoot up in prices, if you are staying in the area for many yrs, you shouldn't be worried. If you want to send your child to that sch just because you want to, then you should be prepared to fork out more.

Anyway, flats around the popular schs are already very expensive (think pei haw, Henry park, nanyang, taonan, mgs, schs) So does it matter anymore?
          If there is no limitation to resources, all is well. Any school that any and all parents want to enrol their children into will be accepted. The tricky part is because resources are scarce while wants are unlimited. And an allocation process is needed to distribute these scarce resources among the unlimited wants.

Bottomline: What happens if the number of places in schools < number of applicants (all stay at nearby houses/flats).

smurf

You see,the point is to minimize such things from happening. There is no phase 2 and 3, then the seats should be enough. If not enough, then go by balloting. The point is to minimize the sch being more than 50% occupied even before it reaches phase 2b.

3boys proposal is quite good.

Busymom

NonKiasuDad:

That's because the figure includes PRs. There are soooo..... many PRs living within 1 km of brand name schools in B Timah. This is going too far. I think give them 1/2 chance also not fair to us citizens.

If they really want good schools, then become citizens lah!

how do you know there are so many PRs ? and around NYPS is mostly landed housing, and many of them are already under Phase 1 due to siblings .... but for first time registration got so many ? how many are not staying there ? that is what I am trying to ask !!

Maybe they are genuinely staying there, but rented. Once the lease is up, they could move elsewhere. The same address would be rented out again to parents who want to be within 1km of the school for the purpose of registration.

If you ever look at the breakdown of children registering in phase 1, you will be amazed with the number that is outside 1km.

So what does that imply?

Busymom:
                Maybe they are genuinely staying there, but rented. Once the lease is up, they could move elsewhere. The same address would be rented out again to parents who want to be within 1km of the school for the purpose of registration.

If you ever look at the breakdown of children registering in phase 1, you will be amazed with the number that is outside 1km.

So what does that imply?
                so you and I are asking the same question!

you even see school bus from JB bringing students to NYPS .... of course not the full busload lah

perhaps they should have a formula combining the distance and duration of occupancy to give a score points to prevent abuse of proximity criteria

Laughing

I was a PV and went through the ballot process in last year too. The school tried to limit a number of PV so that success rate for PV will be high. But the problem is that the school can’t predict the number of clan member who will apply under 2B which resulted ballot for everyone within 1km… So is there really a guideline for clan member to be at least 2 years before they can register under Phase 2B?

The problem is with the increasing flood of applicants at Phase 2A (children of alumni).

I am not sure where you get the info from but statistically in our school, the majority that takes up the vacancies are the siblings group, not the alumni.

I found another statistics for Pei Hwa here reflecting siblings take up most of the seats: http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?f=38&t=4407&start=12930

I would rather give credit to the gahmen for a successful 'procreation' incentive to increase the population so much so that many people are having multiple children.

• JGMumJ Offline
                      JGMum

sleepy:

[quote=\"smurf\"]Proximity is not only fairer, but it's also better for the child in the long run. Six years is not a short period. If the sch is very far, or even if 10 mins drive (public takes longer), the child is going to burn out very fast, after p3 with added CCA, this is going to be a burden.

I wonder how to implement? within 50m, 50-100m, 100-200m?

Area like bukit timah less densely populated so first 500m probably all get in. Densely populated areas like tampines then every meter matters

high density areas will have to count the vertical distance too

don't laugh ! ground floor units for HDB flats will be more in demand now.....haven't we heard enough people rejected 2nd floor units from HDB ?

certainly 2nd floor unit is nearer to the school than 25th floor[/quote] :rotflmao:

lostlostmom

there is NO guideline, though when you enquire, they would advise you that minimum 2 yrs. but in actual practice …

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 68 / 218