Opinions of the Primary School Registration System
mickeyhmh:
the colour is correct : yellow / orange .... I assumed is Bas Kilang ....my bad, I gila liao
Should be Orange 'Bas Sekolah' - school bus lah. 'Bas Kilang' - factory bus - are normally blue in colour. :boogie:verykiasu2010:
they come in the yellow 'Bas Kilang', JB number plate..... -
Heard of JB kids traveling by sch bus to St Magaret's Girls too..even further than the mentioned schools above.hmm .... interesting discovery! something new ...
thot JB kids only go Siling or Marsling schools, bec located in Woodlands, nearer to JB.
then, how about other schools like Henry Park, Pei Hwa, MGS, RGPS ?
also got school bus ferry JB kids all the way into SG study at these schools everyday ?
JB kids have been traveling to Singapore (as far as Bt Timh) to study since many yrs ago...
When I was in Sec sch in Bukit Timah area, there were around 5 classmates fm JB who travelled to and fro everyday fm JB to Bt Timah! As far as I know, two are in the US now, one in UK, another in Aust, one in M'sia ... none stay in Singapore. -
Was just thinking... hmmm... :idea: Perhaps if PV candidates can be
allowed a guarantee with the hours they have clocked? :scratchhead:
Instead of getting everyone to register the phases one after another..
Since the first two phases are based on siblings, then alumni.. staff..
clan association.. other affiliation and so on.. why not do those two
phases earlier?
Upon release of the results of the first two phases.. parents can then
see clearer vacancies available on the schools they have shortlisted..
They then decide where to PV depending on the quota of PV of the
school of choice. The remainder then goes for P2C and supp..
This means though those who fall in the first two phases will need to
register two years earlier. :shock: you know... to fulfill PV duties and
those from clan and grassroot avenue can also fulfill theirs?
Just thinking aloud..
:siam: -
actually I feel that if any changes to be made…they should look at phrase 1 and 2a places taken by the PRs…
I think it is unfair that they are able to get places automatically in these 2 phrases whereby most singaporeans do not have the chance to be in the mentioned phrases… -
Not possible to register 2 yrs earlier i think. But do think that since the no. of places left after 2A is known and school will after the PV how many extra spaces are left to be taken by grassroot n clan. The clan should not be recommending \"more than required\" cos this will deprive PV who are staying out of 2km the place and end up ballot .. or maybe clan should be given lower priority vs PV (since they just only sign up for membership in clan and doing nothing)

buds,
Interesting idea. -
Dear fellow KSP members
I will be merging this thread with \"Opinions of the Primary School Registration System\"
http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?f=5&t=18535
later today as discussions in both threads are similar & related.
I think this is a good idea. It starts the registration process earlier, but I think that MOE and schools would be able to handle the additional admin. It would also get parents to start thinking about P1 enrollment (2 years) earlier, and make the necessary arrangements to improve their chances like moving house within 1 km, do PV, etc. and not wait until last minute, then realise that we have missed the deadline for PV application for example.Was just thinking... hmmm... :idea: Perhaps if PV candidates can be
allowed a guarantee with the hours they have clocked? :scratchhead:
Instead of getting everyone to register the phases one after another..
Since the first two phases are based on siblings, then alumni.. staff..
clan association.. other affiliation and so on.. why not do those two
phases earlier?
Upon release of the results of the first two phases.. parents can then
see clearer vacancies available on the schools they have shortlisted..
They then decide where to PV depending on the quota of PV of the
school of choice. The remainder then goes for P2C and supp..
This means though those who fall in the first two phases will need to
register two years earlier. :shock: you know... to fulfill PV duties and
those from clan and grassroot avenue can also fulfill theirs?
Just thinking aloud..
:siam: -
Thoughts I have:
PR has more choice, they can either go Singapore schools or international schools whereas citizen like us need to seek MOE approval to enter international schools.
Obviously the intake this year is reduced as quite a few schools reduce their number. Hence the intense competition, ballot in neighborhood schools which never used to have. Is MOE aware?
Every year for over decade or more, the highly popular schools are the usual lots, why didn’t MOE encourage best practice sharing or principals/schools rotation or buddy systems so other schools can learn their process which supposedly worked to churn good academic students -
MumandMe:
I support the idea to remove PV totally. If the school needs volunteers, do ask from parents whose children are already studying in the school. Where \"free labour\" (such as washing of sweet potatoes, sweeping the classrooms, lollipop man etc) is what the school needs, then the school should hire help to do the chore.
It's really ridiculous to have to do all this kind of stuff.
My idea of doing PV is to understand the school culture better. I'm sure MOE has contracts with cleaning companies to clean windows/sweep floors in schools. As for lollipop man, there are security guards who can do a better job.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.