All About Preparing For Primary One
I turned on the TV and CD (Barney/Sesame St) to keep my younger daughter entertained then. This way, she won't disturb me when I coach my younger one in his studies. My older one doesn't watch Barney..so he won't get distracted.sleepy:
[quote=\"MintyMin\"]If u have other younger kids, hw can you prevent the P1 kid from not getting distracted if the tv is switched on for the younger ones to watch. N if you decided that even the younger ones do not watch tv, den wat are they suppose to do. Esp if spouse dun really help and bother, or if not they travel too frequent for biz and you only have helper.
My kids do not have the habit to watch TV since young. There are plenty of activities to keep them occupied during the day. They can either read, do enrichment homework, play board games, do art & craft, doodle or play musical instrument.
I only switch on TV after they're in bed. Which means I don't get to watch TV during the day too. This is much tougher on me than them since I'm a TV addict, haha!
As for me, I am not a TV addict. I accompany my kids to sleep and after they have done so and I cannot sleep, I play Angry Birds. The TV programs are rather lousy.[/quote]
The prob is.. DS is a tv addict like DH.. :slapshead: So watever program.. he will wan to watch even if he noe it is not his kind of show.. :stupid:
I aws on the vcd in a room so tat DS won't be distracted.. but DD1 and DD2 will watch for a while n halfway thru come looking for me.. tatz y i nid to find a solution..
I m also not a tv addict.. i rather surf the net or slp.. :evil: -
sleepy:
Weekends are full of activities for them.. No time at all.. swimming, maths enrichment, soccer, church, etc..
Coach on weekends then, if weekdays evening is not possible. Otherwise probably got to outsource?MintyMin:
M a FTWM, so meaning I have to cater all time to them at the same time after dinner every day.. it is not ez to dedicate time for each of them, n if i were to b revising with my elder one, my 2 girls will come to the room n require my attention, n if i close the door, worst.. they will b knocking at the door..
If i haf everyone sit at the table to do revising, it will end up DD2 will b disturbing DS or DD1, or other ways.. it is NVR possible to do anyting.. :slapshead: -
what about your helper? Can she help in keeping DD2 occupied?
M a FTWM, so meaning I have to cater all time to them at the same time after dinner every day.. it is not ez to dedicate time for each of them, n if i were to b revising with my elder one, my 2 girls will come to the room n require my attention, n if i close the door, worst.. they will b knocking at the door..
If i haf everyone sit at the table to do revising, it will end up DD2 will b disturbing DS or DD1, or other ways.. it is NVR possible to do anyting.. :slapshead:
DD1 and DD2 are hopeless at studying together so I coach different subjects when I am teaching them and send them to the room to do their homework so that i can focus on teaching... -
I don’t think I will have time to coach them on weekdays… likely over the weekends…
I don't think I will have time to coach them on weekdays.. likely over the weekends...
find it easier to coach on weekdays.. work, come back work to coach DDs
come weekends, we can :rahrah: :rahrah: and their enrichments -
Think will be better if can coach during weekdays… will plan out something when P1 starts…
Now is still playtime for them… -
what about your helper? Can she help in keeping DD2 occupied?MintyMin:
If i haf everyone sit at the table to do revising, it will end up DD2 will b disturbing DS or DD1, or other ways.. it is NVR possible to do anyting.. :slapshead:
DD1 and DD2 are hopeless at studying together so I coach different subjects when I am teaching them and send them to the room to do their homework so that i can focus on teaching...
Kissgurami.. Tat one ah.. I GAVE UP HOPE.. now i m monitoring her on other tings also.. HEADACHES.. sigh.. -
Think will be better if can coach during weekdays.. will plan out something when P1 starts..
Now is still playtime for them..
I m starting to plan for DS liao.. bo bian leh.. ytd hor.. found out.. DD1's mandarin is better den his leh.. :faint:
N also found out DD2 is same like DS.. speak mandarin with english slang.. :slapshead: -
ya, when comes dec, will chart out something more routine based for them, it is playtime for me too nowThink will be better if can coach during weekdays.. will plan out something when P1 starts..
Now is still playtime for them..
sleepy:
As for me, I am not a TV addict. I accompany my kids to sleep and after they have done so and I cannot sleep, I play Angry Birds. The TV programs are rather lousy.
Not mediacorp programmes la. Very boring and usually prior season. I watch the lastest season online
You don't watch TV at all? Wow, that's a good habit!
Actually I know spending time chasing drama is a total waste of time but I can't help it. That's why it's called an addiction :evil:
For me, I only watch Korean drama. I am a fan of Korean drama, same for my dd1 who loves k-pop and she is also a tv addict.
As my dd1 will be going to P1 next yr, I will refrain her from watching tv around 8-9.30pm in order for her to finish her homework or revision on her spelling fr her enrichment classes. Prior to bedtime, I will only allow her to watch cartoon network for half an hour.
I really salute anyone who don't watch tv. Now I hv to switch on education vcd for my dd2 to be entertained while I bz with housework.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.